CHC Trial Matters Part 2

I know some CHC members who despite the adverse publicity, accusations and evidence being presented daily in the media who still have faith in KH and the team. Keep on saying he's not like this, church trying to evangelise, it's the Church's money so they reserve the right to use it as they deem fit etc.

In short, I believe it's blind faith on their part which is something really hard to explain. In fact, religion is like that right? Faith doesn't need evidence per se. That's why IMO, CHC will continue to survive irregardless of the verdict of the trial.

For me, I think it is blind faith to a MAN, a messenger. It is not faith to the religion. Faith in religion is believing in its teachings not the teacher who taught it...

Believing in "teacher" is not faith...

I wonder if Serina will stand with Kong when she takes to the stand today or will she like, Chew, also point an accusing finger at Kong.

She'll probably stand by Kong's side. Who wants to be the lone ranger ?

For me, I think it is blind faith to a MAN, a messenger. It is not faith to the religion. Faith in religion is believing in its teachings not the teacher who taught it...

Believing in "teacher" is not faith...

Well said!! I also agree that one should be faithful to a religion and not a person. Unfortunately, in CHC case; don't know what power he has but most of his congregation believes/has faith in him!! In fact thinks he's infallible (my words though)

Powerful attack by chew. Wonder all these accusations in court, KH's lawyer never object him from continuing, all did they just shake head and sigh.

http://news.asiaone.com/news/singapore/kong-defrauded-donors

You defrauded donors by hiding hundreds and thousands of dollars your wife took from the donations as her music royalties, bonuses and salaries.

This was one of many accusations that former City Harvest treasurer Chew Eng Han threw at church founder Kong Hee in court yesterday.

The two former associates have known each other for more than a decade.

Now, Chew is trying to show that Kong was a liar and more deeply involved than he let on about the alleged misuse of around $50 million of the church's money, and someone more interested in personal gain than City Harvest's interests.

While cross-examining Kong, who was taking the stand, Chew told the court about a church account which donors, including himself, had contributed to.

The account was set up in 2006 to support Kong and his wife Ho Yeow Sun when they went off the church's payroll to do mission work, and to pay for expenses in the church's Crossover Project, which uses Ms Ho's music to evangelise.

But the couple took out about $450,000 to $500,000 each year between 2007 and 2009 as Ms Ho's music artiste salary, bonuses and royalties.

A year after this led to a deficit of slightly more than $500,000 in 2009, Kong called a meeting of the donors. He told them how much more they could donate to make up for the shortfall.

"We were quite troubled that our giving was not enough to support your ministry, so we decided to give more," Chew, 54, told Kong.

"But there was never actually a deficit in 2009. The deficit came after you stripped out royalties and salaries and bonuses that went to Sun."

Chew claimed that Kong never revealed to donors that hundreds and thousands of dollars were going to pay his wife.

When he asked Kong why, the 49-year-old pastor seemed emotionally drained when he replied: "I didn't have the chance to check with my wife if she wants to reveal her salaries and royalties, and we have a culture in City Harvest Church, as in many companies, of keeping our income as confidential as possible."

Chew said flatly in return: "These are the givers that are closest to you, your greatest supporters...

"One of the reasons I left the church is that when I look at this, I realised that you deceived the people closest to you."

He added that this was just one of several "lies" by his former spiritual mentor.

Chew claimed that attendance figures for City Harvest services had been "falsified" and "grossly exaggerated". He pointed to BlackBerry messages by church members that suggested the actual attendance was around 12,000 a week, not 28,000 as Kong had claimed.

Kong denied this, saying that the 12,000 figure referred to the tally of cell-group church members and not the total attendance.

"Cell-group figures are usually about 60 per cent or even lesser of the church's final attendance, if you include walk-ins and visitors," said Kong.

But Chew hit back, saying incredulously: "Are you saying that every week about 40 per cent of the attendees are new walk-ins that are not related to the cell-group members?"

Chew summed up his cross-examination of Kong yesterday by pointing out 10 ways the senior pastor had apparently failed the church, adding: "You do not love the church, as in its people, and you are not that concerned about the church suffering losses."

[email protected]

- See more at: http://news.asiaone.com/news/singapore/kong-defrauded-donors#sthash.iXCIsuJh.dpuf

I think Chew defense is he is also a victim kenna deceived by KH.

Edited by Ender

Well said!! I also agree that one should be faithful to a religion and not a person. Unfortunately, in CHC case; don't know what power he has but most of his congregation believes/has faith in him!! In fact thinks he's infallible (my words though)

He's good in human behaviour combining peer pressure and vanity...

The congregation had high profiles members, highlighting them creates the fake sense that the "normal" members can achieve more by mixing around and sharing with these high profiles members - simply put as Vanity (which is already against the teachings)

The "normal" members are so proud to have a common ground (CHC) with high profiles members start to pull, push, pressure, confuse, convince whatever to their closest friends, family members, relatives etc... they will be obliged to join the "service"...

And there you have it... He doesn't have special powers but only good contacts and convincing talks. Similar to how MLM works...

$500K salary ... ni na bei ...

horse face simi qualification ... got degree bo ... muahahahaha?

But the couple took out about $450,000 to $500,000 each year between 2007 and 2009 as Ms Ho's music artiste salary, bonuses and royalties.

Quite funny how people always get into trouble because of horse.

Earlier, a religious leader got into trouble with the law owned a horse in Australia.

This time round, all members got into trouble with the law because of nobody but the HORSE.

The only qualified religious person to own a horse is 唐僧.

Others, please refrain.

You know one horse win one race at SIA Cup win how much anot? [laugh]

Powerful attack by chew. Wonder all these accusations in court, KH's lawyer never object him from continuing, all did they just shake head and sigh.

http://news.asiaone.com/news/singapore/kong-defrauded-donors

I think Chew defense is he is also a victim kenna deceived by KH.

A year after this led to a deficit of slightly more than $500,000 in 2009, Kong called a meeting of the donors. He told them how much more they could donate to make up for the shortfall.

"We were quite troubled that our giving was not enough to support your ministry, so we decided to give more," Chew, 54, told Kong.

"But there was never actually a deficit in 2009. The deficit came after you stripped out royalties and salaries and bonuses that went to Sun."

The way they draw their half-million dollar salaries, sounds like raiding reserves wor.

how did Chew find out how much horse was getting ah? issit coz CAD raided n got it?

idk if this has been asked but is it compulsory for ALL Christians (regardless working adults or students) to contribute 10% of their income / allowance or is it only for CHC followers?

chew was CHC ex-treasurer ... the money man ... bookeper

if this guy flip and air all dirty laundry ... ho say liao [thumbsup]

how did Chew find out how much horse was getting ah? issit coz CAD raided n got it?

idk if this has been asked but is it compulsory for ALL Christians (regardless working adults or students) to contribute 10% of their income / allowance or is it only for CHC followers?

it is not compulsory.

I think Chew also exaggerated in his bid to show he is completely hoodwinked by Kong. He is the treasurer, how could he not know things were getting dodgy and suspicious? I think he knew about the wrong doings all along but probably din try to do anything about it. Cannot totally feign ignorance

if this guy flip and air all dirty laundry ... ho say liao [thumbsup]

but frm the article KH didnt reveal how much horse was getting paid... blur liao..

Edited by Duckduck

worst is ... he sibei dulan ... because after doing so many things there is no "big return" just like in 黑社会 movie

the bookeper see all the money in & out and he got nothing ...

I think Chew also exaggerated in his bid to show he is completely hoodwinked by Kong. He is the treasurer, how could he not know things were getting dodgy and suspicious? I think he knew about the wrong doings all along but probably din try to do anything about it. Cannot totally feign ignorance