Mockngbrd Supersonic August 19, 2014 Share August 19, 2014 After that they started asking if i am interested in going out with them on sat for a church service, back then it was at some paya lebar old cinema areas. To be honest, the first sermon given by KH was all about giving more and getting more from God. sama sama, went to paya lebar cinema, all very frenly frenly kawan kawan. I didn't remember the sermon i heard tho. that was when i heard from KH saying that god is not a waiter...u dont tip him. That's quite knn... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged August 19, 2014 Share August 19, 2014 I wonder how was kh brought up as a child. Came from a money-minded family? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator August 19, 2014 Share August 19, 2014 (edited) went to CHC for a couple of months back when i was in NUS freshman year..... during my first day in matriculation - a bunch of really really friendly people approached me at the sports hall (NUS). At that time, i was thinking "WOW - NUS guys/gals are so friendly"....they brought me here and there - checking on you and making sure that u are well adjusted. I have to give them credit - it really gave me a great impression. After that they started asking if i am interested in going out with them on sat for a church service, back then it was at some paya lebar old cinema areas. To be honest, the first sermon given by KH was all about giving more and getting more from God. Apart from weekly church srevices, they also have this cell group stuffs, which a bunch of guys will gather in someone house to read the bible and stuffs. there is a constant pressure that u need to go and they started calling you when u skip a service or two... after a while, it really becomes a nuisance - it's the constant pressure to attend this meeting, that service....and quite honestly the sermon services are way too "MONEY-MINDED"...it's all about giving more and god will provide mircales. The last straw that broke the camel back - was during one of the sermon given by KH on a sunday - was pressured to attend by all the guys (calling u non stop) - during that day i had only 10 bucks in my pocket - bot a pack of ciggies and a drink and was left with only $1.5...so during the tithe time, i gave all my $$ (in coins) .... that was when i heard from KH saying that god is not a waiter...u dont tip him. That was really it for me.... The last time i heard - these guys were giving tuition to gather more money to raise funds to build the church. bro dun start on this, the previous thread was locked due to too many 'shooting' of the church. The matter is about the wrong doing of a few people from that church, we may make fun of those few or admire the beauty, but not the detail of the dealing and experience. Edited August 19, 2014 by Jman888 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Estrangable 5th Gear August 19, 2014 Share August 19, 2014 bro dun start on this, the previous thread was locked due to too many 'shooting' of the church. The matter is about the wrong doing of a few people from that church, we make make fun of them or admire them, but not the detail of the dealing and experience. oops... will not start on this then! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged August 19, 2014 Share August 19, 2014 sama sama, went to paya lebar cinema, all very frenly frenly kawan kawan. I didn't remember the sermon i heard tho. Last time Paya Lebar got cinema meh ? Where wor ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged August 19, 2014 Share August 19, 2014 You mean any lawyers that Chew would have engaged would somehow be under KH's control? Didn't realise the magnitude of KH's influence... Plot within a plot.. I never say every, but the possibility only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic August 19, 2014 Share August 19, 2014 (edited) Ok back to our regular programme Oh full article is up SINGAPORE - The music success of City Harvest pastor-singer Ho Yeow Sun had been grossly exaggerated, former church treasurer Chew Eng Han said in court on Monday. Her success was a result of church members spending hundreds of thousands of dollars to buy her CDs as well as lies about her achievements and awards, said Chew. Pointing to a raft of e-mail and other documents, Chew said that, contrary to the church's website and Ms Ho's own blog, she had not sung the theme song for the 2007 Special Olympics in Shanghai. Referring to another example, Chew said that while Ms Ho, whose stage name is Sun Ho, was supposedly honoured for being the first foreign celebrity to be featured on a special China stamp series, "those stamps are nothing more than personalised stamps that anybody can go to the post office to pay for", Chew said. He called the supposed honour "a scam" and produced copies of Ms Ho's stamps and others in the China series to show the difference. Chew said the deception had been to boost confidence in Ms Ho's planned debut American album, which was part of a church-approved Crossover Project to evangelise using her secular music. Chew, City Harvest founder Kong Hee and four others face various charges for their part in the alleged misuse of some $50 million of church funds to boost Ms Ho's pop music career and then to cover up the deed. "After a series of discoveries since 2013, I discovered the Crossover was not what it was supposed to be... Many members of City Harvest Church that trusted the leadership took what was told to us at face value. I was one of them," Chew said. Representing himself, Chew put to Kong, who was taking the stand for the second week: "The real reason the US album was constantly delayed year after year was because you secretly knew Sun's success was not real... You consciously kept all relevant information from me to use me to help you arrange the necessary financing." Kong strenuously denied the claims. He said he believed that Ms Ho's stamp honour was genuine because there had been a ceremony attended by officials. He added that while he had not attended the 2007 Special Olympics, he knew Ms Ho had recorded a song, "and there could be more than one theme song". "I know that Sun recorded a song that was used by the Special Olympics," he said. As for the claim that members had bought Ms Ho's CDs to boost sales, Kong said some of the purchases were "just to stimulate momentum" and "a norm in the industry". Other purchases had been paid for by church members who wanted to support Ms Ho. "They gave us the money and we used it for the buying (of) CDs. We didn't buy the CDs as something fake, for every CD we bought, there was an intended recipient," Kong said.- See more at: http://www.straitstimes.com/news/singapore/courts-crime/story/city-harvest-trial-former-church-treasurer-says-sun-hos-music-succ#sthash.xpkHd1NB.dpuf Edited August 19, 2014 by Mockngbrd 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Hypersonic August 19, 2014 Share August 19, 2014 (edited) what Chew is trying to say what is NOT REAL ... Edited August 19, 2014 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rncw 5th Gear August 19, 2014 Share August 19, 2014 KH must have loved his wifey very deep deep to pushed her to "stardom"...... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator August 19, 2014 Share August 19, 2014 SINGAPORE - The music success of City Harvest pastor-singer Ho Yeow Sun had been grossly exaggerated, former church treasurer Chew Eng Han said in court on Monday. Her success was a result of church members spending hundreds of thousands of dollars to buy her CDs as well as lies about her achievements and awards, said Chew. Pointing to a raft of e-mail and other documents, Chew said that, contrary to the church's website and Ms Ho's own blog, she had not sung the theme song for the 2007 Special Olympics in Shanghai. Referring to another example, Chew said that while Ms Ho, whose stage name is Sun Ho, was supposedly honoured for being the first foreign celebrity to be featured on a special China stamp series, "those stamps are nothing more than personalised stamps that anybody can go to the post office to pay for", Chew said. He called the supposed honour "a scam" and produced copies of Ms Ho's stamps and others in the China series to show the difference. Chew said the deception had been to boost confidence in Ms Ho's planned debut American album, which was part of a church-approved Crossover Project to evangelise using her secular music. Chew, City Harvest founder Kong Hee and four others face various charges for their part in the alleged misuse of some $50 million of church funds to boost Ms Ho's pop music career and then to cover up the deed. "After a series of discoveries since 2013, I discovered the Crossover was not what it was supposed to be... Many members of City Harvest Church that trusted the leadership took what was told to us at face value. I was one of them," Chew said. Representing himself, Chew put to Kong, who was taking the stand for the second week: "The real reason the US album was constantly delayed year after year was because you secretly knew Sun's success was not real... You consciously kept all relevant information from me to use me to help you arrange the necessary financing." Kong strenuously denied the claims. He said he believed that Ms Ho's stamp honour was genuine because there had been a ceremony attended by officials. He added that while he had not attended the 2007 Special Olympics, he knew Ms Ho had recorded a song, "and there could be more than one theme song". "I know that Sun recorded a song that was used by the Special Olympics," he said. As for the claim that members had bought Ms Ho's CDs to boost sales, Kong said some of the purchases were "just to stimulate momentum" and "a norm in the industry". Other purchases had been paid for by church members who wanted to support Ms Ho. "They gave us the money and we used it for the buying (of) CDs. We didn't buy the CDs as something fake, for every CD we bought, there was an intended recipient," Kong said. - See more at: http://www.straitstimes.com/news/singapore/courts-crime/story/city-harvest-trial-former-church-treasurer-says-sun-hos-music-succ#sthash.xpkHd1NB.dpuf how come the prosecutor is not questioning KH or it was Chew's turn to do his part of defend? KH is clever to address the accusation one by one that it has nothing wrong doing in it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenfarm Turbocharged August 19, 2014 Share August 19, 2014 how come the prosecutor is not questioning KH or it was Chew's turn to do his part of defend? KH is clever to address the accusation one by one that it has nothing wrong doing in it. Prosecution questioning finit liao. Now every accused / their rep has a chance to "examine" him. Same goes with every other accused that follows. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Supersonic August 19, 2014 Share August 19, 2014 just spare a thought to those waiting to on trial and those on going trail very stressful worse when after the trail proven innocent already reputation destroyed i just wondered how many innocent people get sent to jail or worse hang when prosecution team too hyperactive or they got lousy lawyer i have met a couple of people who were wrongly accused because at the wrong place and at the wrong time they literally lost weight, can't sleep and their lives turned upside down i learnt the hard way when i was very young a police man riding bicycle knock me and cause a cut on my forehead instead of helping he rode away got home told my dad he did not believe me he never believe a police man can do such thing now i have my own children i nearly always give them the benefit of doubt i don't know about CHC and their leaders whether they are right or wrong but i know that just as many they save they must also destroy a few families there is nothing perfect in this world we have to accept that have a good week ahead bros n sis Very true. .. like the tt durai case. .years back some Church goers already spoke about financial concerns. They got sued by the church and silenced. Till now they have not been given justice hor KH must have loved his wifey very deep deep to pushed her to "stardom"...... It depends on whether the organization is more a social, networking, MLM or fan club. Cos it's hard to reconcile the happenings with what people traditionally call religious worship. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic August 19, 2014 Share August 19, 2014 instead of standing together as 1 defender to def their cause that they are right. now its dog bite dog , every man for himself, looking for scrapgoat, hoping that ownself can get off the hook. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklim Supercharged August 19, 2014 Share August 19, 2014 KH must have loved his wifey very deep deep to pushed her to "stardom"...... Maybe hoped to eventually list her in IPO and get more $$$$. now its dog bite dog , every man for himself, looking for scrapgoat, hoping that ownself can get off the hook. Nobody bite the horse yet! Matter of time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenfarm Turbocharged August 19, 2014 Share August 19, 2014 If I is not wrong, sometime back somebody say he heard God told him that he has to walk this journey alone or something liddat. He is doing just that...by implicating others and he walk out of the courtroom alone. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic August 19, 2014 Share August 19, 2014 Maybe hoped to eventually list her in IPO and get more $$$$. Nobody bite the horse yet! Matter of time. i dun think she will kenna, instead if really desprate she can protrait herself as victim being make use of by the company to laundar money etc etc. so many month into the case, i never read any statement make by her??( or i miss it) most of the talking statement is made by hk only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic August 19, 2014 Share August 19, 2014 Prosecution questioning finit liao. Now every accused / their rep has a chance to "examine" him. Same goes with every other accused that follows. sounds like Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator August 19, 2014 Share August 19, 2014 If I is not wrong, sometime back somebody say he heard God told him that he has to walk this journey alone or something liddat. He is doing just that...by implicating others and he walk out of the courtroom alone. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...