Alan9711 Neutral Newbie August 12, 2012 Share August 12, 2012 Friday night fridge very noisy and saturday morning, water dripping and fridge conk out. Call samzung and on third tries, some picked up and inform that someone from service dept will call me before 2pm. Received the call at 11 and was told that they will come on monday and service charges will be at 69 plus exculding part. Told them couldn't wait. Look up classified ad and thet will come within 2 hrs and service charge is 20 excluding part. They came and told fan motor spoilt and repair bill is 125 for the motor and labour is 60. Total bill is 185 which i felt is expensive. Fridge is about 3.5 years. Anyone with cheaper source? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged August 12, 2012 Share August 12, 2012 Just do and forget about it. Its 185 not 1850 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic August 12, 2012 Share August 12, 2012 Friday night fridge very noisy and saturday morning, water dripping and fridge conk out. Call samzung and on third tries, some picked up and inform that someone from service dept will call me before 2pm. Received the call at 11 and was told that they will come on monday and service charges will be at 69 plus exculding part. Told them couldn't wait. Look up classified ad and thet will come within 2 hrs and service charge is 20 excluding part. They came and told fan motor spoilt and repair bill is 125 for the motor and labour is 60. Total bill is 185 which i felt is expensive. Fridge is about 3.5 years. Anyone with cheaper source? mine same problem, except that its slightly over 2 years old. 185 is ok liao. the whole motor was frozen, the fan cannot turn due to ice. stupid samsung, will never buy another samsung fridge again. its a french door fridge. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dinosaka 1st Gear August 12, 2012 Share August 12, 2012 mine same problem, except that its slightly over 2 years old. 185 is ok liao. the whole motor was frozen, the fan cannot turn due to ice. stupid samsung, will never buy another samsung fridge again. its a french door fridge. Mine LG....7yrs still going strong.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Old-driver 5th Gear August 12, 2012 Share August 12, 2012 Mine is 12 years old and repaired once for i think, 150 bucks... just do it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic August 12, 2012 Share August 12, 2012 Never trusted Samsung. Next time get a toshiba. Mine 6 yrs still as good as new Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genes 6th Gear August 12, 2012 Share August 12, 2012 Never trusted Samsung. Next time get a toshiba. Mine 6 yrs still as good as new Nowadays they give 10 yrs warranty sia.. but I think its on the motor only? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic August 12, 2012 Share August 12, 2012 Nowadays they give 10 yrs warranty sia.. but I think its on the motor only? Don't think have that warranty when I bought the fridge but my toshiba washing machine has 5 yrs on the motor. Expire liao but it's still working fine. Made in jeepoon and made in kimchiland got big difference. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porche 5th Gear August 12, 2012 Share August 12, 2012 my mitsubishi fridge going strong, 11 years ago....Jipon brand still more reliable, my national washing machine kaput this year. All my jipon Box TVs still going strong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aimnfire 4th Gear August 12, 2012 Share August 12, 2012 yes i regret getting samsung fridge to replace my lg lg broke down twice in 8 years the second time it broke down i replace with samsung which in a month leak a few times call their tech and repair said i never close door properly lah this lah after repair 2 months later leak again yup no more samsung product for me unless its free Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redstorm 1st Gear August 12, 2012 Share August 12, 2012 I also have a samsung twin doors type of fridge and it gave me problem twice within the 2 years warranty period. Fortunately, it was covered by the warranty. The main problem is the chiller where the blower fan stopped working due to ice that formed up. The first two times, they got rid of the ice and it worked again. Then, the problem surfaced again for the third time after the warranty expired. This time, the same technician from Samsung who attended to me before, recognised my addresse and spoke with his boss to waive the charges for the workmanship and replacement of a new fan. After that, it happened again and this time, after seeing how he fixed the problem, I decided to DIY to get rid of the ice that built up on the fan. Now, it is working fine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AnimalFarm Neutral Newbie August 12, 2012 Share August 12, 2012 my mitsubishi fridge going strong, 11 years ago....Jipon brand still more reliable, my national washing machine kaput this year. All my jipon Box TVs still going strong national now under panasonic brand,my national washing machine(made in jp) just crossed it's 14yrs and still working without a single repair before. but now almost all jp brands are imported in from thai or msia,i doubt their quality are as good as those from jp in yesteryear. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged August 12, 2012 Share August 12, 2012 Friday night fridge very noisy and saturday morning, water dripping and fridge conk out. Call samzung and on third tries, some picked up and inform that someone from service dept will call me before 2pm. Received the call at 11 and was told that they will come on monday and service charges will be at 69 plus exculding part. Told them couldn't wait. Look up classified ad and thet will come within 2 hrs and service charge is 20 excluding part. They came and told fan motor spoilt and repair bill is 125 for the motor and labour is 60. Total bill is 185 which i felt is expensive. Fridge is about 3.5 years. Anyone with cheaper source? How much did you pay for the fridge? If the repair bill is a large fraction of the fridge price, may be better to buy a new one with a new warranty. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic August 12, 2012 Share August 12, 2012 I also have a samsung twin doors type of fridge and it gave me problem twice within the 2 years warranty period. Fortunately, it was covered by the warranty. The main problem is the chiller where the blower fan stopped working due to ice that formed up. The first two times, they got rid of the ice and it worked again. Then, the problem surfaced again for the third time after the warranty expired. This time, the same technician from Samsung who attended to me before, recognised my addresse and spoke with his boss to waive the charges for the workmanship and replacement of a new fan. After that, it happened again and this time, after seeing how he fixed the problem, I decided to DIY to get rid of the ice that built up on the fan. Now, it is working fine. I had the same experience with maytag, side-by-side door type. It worked for years and suddenly the fridge is not cold anymore. The repairman came and I paid $180 for him to replace a heater. The heater had gone bad. Shortly after, again, fridge not cold. This time I know where to look and it was the same heater assembly. This time, the thermal switch was defective. I had kept the old one and able to swap it out myself. So the fridge is back to normal. Side-by-side fridge works with a fan pushing cold air over to the fridge side. When the heater is spoilt, frost builds up on the coil and ice is frozen all over. No cold air can be circulated and thus the fridge side is not cold. The problem is the auto-defrost cycle using heater. When the heater breaks down, ice formed. Now, I augment the fridge by putting it on a timer which powers off during certain hours, just like a manual defrost and also save some electricity. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turret Clutched August 12, 2012 Share August 12, 2012 Never trusted Samsung. Next time get a toshiba. Mine 6 yrs still as good as new or go for mitshibushi - they are really good. have 2 fridges at 2 places - no problems... for the last 5 and 10 years so far.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged August 12, 2012 Share August 12, 2012 Friday night fridge very noisy and saturday morning, water dripping and fridge conk out. Call samzung and on third tries, some picked up and inform that someone from service dept will call me before 2pm. Received the call at 11 and was told that they will come on monday and service charges will be at 69 plus exculding part. Told them couldn't wait. Look up classified ad and thet will come within 2 hrs and service charge is 20 excluding part. They came and told fan motor spoilt and repair bill is 125 for the motor and labour is 60. Total bill is 185 which i felt is expensive. Fridge is about 3.5 years. Anyone with cheaper source? If u r willing to buy new one, it's a better option than repair. Did the repairman offer warranty for the repair? If u r buying new one, I recommend fisher and pakyal Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alan9711 Neutral Newbie August 12, 2012 Author Share August 12, 2012 Yes, 2 months warranty and the repair man said fridge is still quite new and worth to repair Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear August 12, 2012 Share August 12, 2012 Friday night fridge very noisy and saturday morning, water dripping and fridge conk out. Call samzung and on third tries, some picked up and inform that someone from service dept will call me before 2pm. Received the call at 11 and was told that they will come on monday and service charges will be at 69 plus exculding part. Told them couldn't wait. Look up classified ad and thet will come within 2 hrs and service charge is 20 excluding part. They came and told fan motor spoilt and repair bill is 125 for the motor and labour is 60. Total bill is 185 which i felt is expensive. Fridge is about 3.5 years. Anyone with cheaper source? Fridge compressor normally 5 yr warranty isn't it? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...