Steptronic Supercharged September 23, 2012 Share September 23, 2012 Yes great. Next do two cylinders and charge same price for the car. Make the 4 cylinder high end cars feel like they waste money. I agree with you from costing point of view. This is because of PML / BMW-Asia take it granted to price their cars. They should feel the heat soon. By the way, Jag is going to do the same - reduce to 2.2. Customers in countries (like US) with longer roads and not much difference in terms of road tax start liking the smaller engines. If Singaporeans like smaller engines in hogged up roads and high road taxes atmosphere, I would not say it is an insensible decision. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic September 23, 2012 Share September 23, 2012 The Lotus Europa S. Will definitely trounce the 5-er re handling. 2L IL-4 TC engine. http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lotus_Europa_S I think even the Mini Cooper-S will match, if not better the 5-er re handling, by virtue of it's SWB. 1.6 IL-4 TC engine. Enuf said! You are not having a apple to apple comparation lah . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timbuktu Clutched September 23, 2012 Share September 23, 2012 Is there any limit to compare apple with any other fruit? 5 series is a Luxury sedan and you people start comparing it with sports and other type of cars. Can I conclude my discussion saying that Ferrari handles better than any car you and I listed here?! We merely answered your question: "You recommend me one 4 potter turbo that can atleast meet the BMW 5er's handling". There is nothing wrong with our retorts. There are MANY 4-potter turbo cars that can out-handle the 5-er. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steptronic Supercharged September 23, 2012 Share September 23, 2012 We merely answered your question: "You recommend me one 4 potter turbo that can atleast meet the BMW 5er's handling". There is nothing wrong with our retorts. There are MANY 4-potter turbo cars that can out-handle the 5-er. Fair enough. As I said we leave this at least here and I do not have energy to justify apple to any other type of fruit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arowana1 1st Gear September 23, 2012 Share September 23, 2012 We merely answered your question: "You recommend me one 4 potter turbo that can atleast meet the BMW 5er's handling". There is nothing wrong with our retorts. There are MANY 4-potter turbo cars that can out-handle the 5-er. only an idiot will answer without taking into account the context when a question is posed ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic September 23, 2012 Share September 23, 2012 And Golf GTI, EVO and STI. Wow, 528 far far away. BMW 528i is long distance cruiser,the above mention cars are all junior sports cars,go long distance driving,very tiring. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timbuktu Clutched September 23, 2012 Share September 23, 2012 It doesn't matter. His position has been neutralized. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timbuktu Clutched September 23, 2012 Share September 23, 2012 BMW 528i is long distance cruiser,the above mention cars are all junior sports cars,go long distance driving,very tiring. For long distance, I'd take a large cc V6 NA, or V8 NA, anytime over a puny, asmhatic 2L IL4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyklon 5th Gear September 23, 2012 Share September 23, 2012 At a sensible 120km/hr cruise in a f10, one will really struggle to tell if the car has a N20, N52 or N55. Wind noise and road noise is probably a bigger concern. Laugh at inline 4 for all you want, but this n20 from bmw is really smooth and has very good power delivery for urban driving. It is no inline 6, but will match or even better any v6 in refinement and power delivery. It just looks tiny in the engine bay and sounds like a taxi when you are standing outside and the engine is cold. Then again, nobody ever drives his car sitted outside. You will be disappointed with the f10 if v8 roar or exhaust noise is your thing. It doesn't matter if it is a n20, n52 or n55. The cabin is too muted. You will be better off with a lexus gs or budget straining xf-r. There is a N63 v8 option for the f10, but I have never been in one, so cannot comment on it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Longg8 Clutched September 23, 2012 Share September 23, 2012 is it? I drove thousands of km in a 2L puny turbo-charged engine... dun rilly feel the fatigue...guess im still young! haha!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timbuktu Clutched September 23, 2012 Share September 23, 2012 At a sensible 120km/hr cruise in a f10, one will really struggle to tell if the car has a N20, N52 or N55. Wind noise and road noise is probably a bigger concern. Laugh at inline 4 for all you want, but this n20 from bmw is really smooth and has very good power delivery for urban driving. It is no inline 6, but will match or even better any v6 in refinement and power delivery. It just looks tiny in the engine bay and sounds like a taxi when you are standing outside and the engine is cold. Then again, nobody ever drives his car sitted outside. You will be disappointed with the f10 if v8 roar or exhaust noise is your thing. It doesn't matter if it is a n20, n52 or n55. The cabin is too muted. You will be better off with a lexus gs or budget straining xf-r. There is a N63 v8 option for the f10, but I have never been in one, so cannot comment on it. Hehe ... the intrusive wind and road/tyre noise are sure irritating current F10, F20 and F30 owners, with no clear solutions from PML / BMW AG. Read some DIY jobs using fish tank hoses though, in bmwsg.com! I'd be quite happy doing long hauls on my not-large 3L V6. Won't touch a 2L IL4 TC though, for a grand tourismo - just a personal thingy. But give me an C63AMG, or the M5 on N63V8 and I would take them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VellfireS 4th Gear September 23, 2012 Share September 23, 2012 Owners especially MB owners like to retain their plates. Most of the MBs (E and above) have nice bidded numbers. Haha.. I saw a few C-Class with double digit plates also.. One I saw.. Very memorable.. Got two "antenna" at the back. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VellfireS 4th Gear September 23, 2012 Share September 23, 2012 Hahaha yeah lah.... second hand car on new plate.... some more you see the driver, confirm sure is drive until like very "sek chui" like that.... people first time buy conti car mah.... they think other people dunno they actually driving old second or third hand conti car... Haha. This SK series.. Does not sound very nice le.. That's why even my dad chose to retain his SGL no. plate for the Vellfire.. We got a SKD but decided to reject it.. Well.. True.. Love to wayang one.. Bro.. You really read my mind bro.. Inside my heart , I'll be like.. Knn.. drive used conti want to wayang so much.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear September 23, 2012 Share September 23, 2012 But give me an C63AMG, or the M5 on N63V8 and I would take them. Wah old man..... you really talk kock... who wouldn't? Maybe Throttle2 wouldn't.... cos he is richer than you are and already moved up to Porsche. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear September 23, 2012 Share September 23, 2012 Well.. True.. Love to wayang one.. Bro.. You really read my mind bro.. Inside my heart , I'll be like.. Knn.. drive used conti want to wayang so much.. Bro, in Singapore ah..... it's all about wayang...... Last time in one of my first few jobs, I knew a few bankers who lived in HDB and drove to the office.... they were so self-conscious of their "HDB status" that they would hide their HDB discs after parking their cars at the office car park... these are the people who really wayang until they dunno who they are..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic September 23, 2012 Share September 23, 2012 Wah old man..... you really talk kock... who wouldn't? Maybe Throttle2 wouldn't.... cos he is richer than you are and already moved up to Porsche. Dont like that say Viceroy..... I know Timbuktu from his postings, he is not the senseless kind. Maybe got off days, everybody has. Btw, my secondhand 911 also got brandnew plate becos owner retain original beautiful number. What to do? Not becos i want to haolian for sure..... Becos old car and new plate is 100% telltale that it is secondhand. Haha. Another year another F1 ...... Life is short ...... Be happy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fattytey 1st Gear September 23, 2012 Share September 23, 2012 I'm from the LIN LAU PEH car trading... HAPPY???? for all I had owned or driven.... 5 series really sucks... after sales service also sucks... Service centre really no word say... Just my 2 cents worth... PML is just second to VW centre for service centre troubles... but if you really like the brand... what PPL tell you is not suppose to change your mind... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VellfireS 4th Gear September 23, 2012 Share September 23, 2012 Bro, in Singapore ah..... it's all about wayang...... Last time in one of my first few jobs, I knew a few bankers who lived in HDB and drove to the office.... they were so self-conscious of their "HDB status" that they would hide their HDB discs after parking their cars at the office car park... these are the people who really wayang until they dunno who they are..... Wow.. Knn... so egoistic one ah? Sigh.. Got house already big thing.. Still want to like that. [shakehead] ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...