RadX Moderator September 2, 2012 Share September 2, 2012 Changing camp again? No Cat, No dog this time too? dun u think your 520 a tad noisier??? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steptronic Supercharged September 2, 2012 Share September 2, 2012 Erm, 523i has 204bhp and 520i has 184bhp and you say 520i is more powerful than the previous 523i? I think you meant faster. 523i 0-100kph 8.6s, 520i 0-100kph 8.1s. Precisely because it's not cheap in the first place. List Prices quoted from sgcarmart: 520i $261,800 528i $287,800 (difference of $26k) 535i $341,800 (difference of $54k) So most will top up the difference and get the 528i (number nicer than 520i) instead of 520i. Of course, there are still a few 520i sighted on the roads. They probably don't need 245bhp. 184bhp for them good enough already. Then again, these 5-series drivers will probably upgrade to the new facelift 7-Series when it arrives. But that's another thing altogether. Powerful car does not mean that it should produce bhps in number. You go and test drive 520 and you will feel the power (turbo boost) at any speed of the car. The price difference I quoted is from horse's mouth. Last, but not the least, highest selling in 5 series have been the low end (your so called cheap models like 523 and 520). People buy them for some obvious reason and 15k is just marginal from the step they are in and mind that all are not stupid. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steptronic Supercharged September 2, 2012 Share September 2, 2012 dun u think your 520 a tad noisier??? Yes it is noisier comparing to 523 and I overcome that noise with loud music and runflat tyres . I do not conflict that BM's IL-6 is gem of a engine. I wanted power this time and I never owned a turbo one earlier, that is why decided to change 523. Was eying Cat this time too, but interior and 3L engine are not to my liking (2.2 diesel is noisier too). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Minikong 1st Gear September 2, 2012 Author Share September 2, 2012 Sounds like you recently tio bay pio? no la, oc needed a bigger car, that why thinking of upgradin my mini cooper lol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Minikong 1st Gear September 2, 2012 Author Share September 2, 2012 make sure that i get to drive it for road trips hor............ when go lol, tomorrow i go pay down payment, when i clear my oc here, waited for long to change car, got promoted that why got excuse lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VellfireS 4th Gear September 3, 2012 Share September 3, 2012 y not Activehybrid 5???? between 535 to Activehybrid 5, the latter for me anytime. Well.. Didn't really research on the Active Hybrid5 model.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear September 3, 2012 Share September 3, 2012 Powerful car does not mean that it should produce bhps in number. You go and test drive 520 and you will feel the power (turbo boost) at any speed of the car. The price difference I quoted is from horse's mouth. Last, but not the least, highest selling in 5 series have been the low end (your so called cheap models like 523 and 520). People buy them for some obvious reason and 15k is just marginal from the step they are in and mind that all are not stupid. After reading through his replies, you should know by now that he is a paper general. Everything he says and appears to be so "knowledgeable" about comes straight from the internet and magazines. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear September 3, 2012 Share September 3, 2012 I think most of the remaining of these units have been deregistered from our roads already =( The next best is to head up North across the causeway. I still see a few there plying the roads! Wow.... really???? When the E39 came out, were you still playing marbles? Hairless marbles at that? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear September 3, 2012 Share September 3, 2012 Thank you. An ardent BMW fan. Wowee.... practising your fellating skill i see Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear September 3, 2012 Share September 3, 2012 Powerful car does not mean that it should produce bhps in number. You go and test drive 520 and you will feel the power (turbo boost) at any speed of the car. The price difference I quoted is from horse's mouth. Last, but not the least, highest selling in 5 series have been the low end (your so called cheap models like 523 and 520). People buy them for some obvious reason and 15k is just marginal from the step they are in and mind that all are not stupid. actually if 528 is just 15k more expensive than 520, why not buy the 528? why do more people buy the 520? for a 200k++ car, 15K is just a very small %. if someone is considering a 60k vs a 75k car, yes, the difference is quite significant.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steptronic Supercharged September 3, 2012 Share September 3, 2012 actually if 528 is just 15k more expensive than 520, why not buy the 528? why do more people buy the 520? for a 200k++ car, 15K is just a very small %. if someone is considering a 60k vs a 75k car, yes, the difference is quite significant.. True. But, I felt 520 power is enough for our roads. I do not even use the sport mode most of the time. Just on comfort mode. If some one needs extra power, can always buy 528! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear September 3, 2012 Share September 3, 2012 True. But, I felt 520 power is enough for our roads. I do not even use the sport mode most of the time. Just on comfort mode. If some one needs extra power, can always buy 528! but the 0-100 is remarkably signifcant between 520 and 528. just for 15k more is not a lot when the car is over 230k. Less than 10% difference. before you told me the difference is 15k, I thot the difference would have been at least 25-30k. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Minikong 1st Gear September 3, 2012 Author Share September 3, 2012 but the 0-100 is remarkably signifcant between 520 and 528. just for 15k more is not a lot when the car is over 230k. Less than 10% difference. before you told me the difference is 15k, I thot the difference would have been at least 25-30k. that why i buying the 528, as i meantility already think, fck pay so much liao might as well pay a little more Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steptronic Supercharged September 4, 2012 Share September 4, 2012 but the 0-100 is remarkably signifcant between 520 and 528. just for 15k more is not a lot when the car is over 230k. Less than 10% difference. before you told me the difference is 15k, I thot the difference would have been at least 25-30k. Commecially, it would not make much difference even 528 is more by 25k. Somehow I felt 520 was more than enough (I felt this way after driving 523 for a while). If you insist so much, I will change to 528 next time lah. This is only for you bro . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic September 4, 2012 Share September 4, 2012 Wowee.... practising your fellating skill i see wah lau viceroy, why you so crude one, always muff muff , fellatio etc... This one is haolian thread, cant you see? PLse keep haolian to cars only not other topics... muayhahah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brendon1980 Neutral Newbie September 4, 2012 Share September 4, 2012 (edited) I am also considering the 520i. Test driven the car and also the 523i. To me not much difference as I did not rev the car just took a short spin. Still cannot make up my mind as with the current sky high coe prices, how bad is the depreciation if I were to sell off after 3 years cause usually my cars will be let off after serving me for 3years or so. Perhaps mercs will do better in cushioning the depreciation as the demand is much higher. Also can any bros advise if trade in the existing ride, will PML give a better value for the existing car? Havent talk much to the SE yet. Thanks. Edited September 4, 2012 by Brendon1980 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear September 4, 2012 Share September 4, 2012 Commecially, it would not make much difference even 528 is more by 25k. Somehow I felt 520 was more than enough (I felt this way after driving 523 for a while). If you insist so much, I will change to 528 next time lah. This is only for you bro . true. even by 25k is still within a reasonable %. Of cos for singapore roads, the 520 is always enough. but people won't 'hiam' the additional power mah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Twinturbo Neutral Newbie September 4, 2012 Share September 4, 2012 520 sells more than 528 3 series sells more than 5 series Money plays a part. Paying 25k more not money? What about higher road tax and insurance? This is true to most, like it or not. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...