Viceroymenthol 6th Gear September 2, 2012 Share September 2, 2012 Is the engine sound so impt? It is important to him because the closest he can ever get to driving a BMW is by listening to it when it goes past. Not sure if he even has a license, nor can he even afford the road tax and weekly petrol bills. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steptronic Supercharged September 2, 2012 Share September 2, 2012 535i Active Hybrid?? If you don't step on the accelerator, it obviously won't accelerate from 0-100kph in 5.5s. You can drive it leisurely too. Good fuel economy with IL6 engine =D But the entry level 520i spoils the image luh. WHat do you mean by this? what way it spoils the image? For your info, it is more powerful than previous 523 IL-6 It is not cheap also leh. About 15k difference from 528 after discount. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear September 2, 2012 Share September 2, 2012 Is the engine sound so impt? That's the only thing you can enjoy from an IL6 from occasional revs. The current IL4 engines sound not shiok anymore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear September 2, 2012 Share September 2, 2012 I see that you are back to talk kok. "power is one thing, how the engine sounds etc etc" classic LJ kok bull sh1t from you. Btw, make sure you yourself can afford one set of the run flat tyres first before you come and tell people to top up to 535. Talk is cheap, boy. That's the reason why the Lexus GS350 ain't popular, and thus the existence of GS250 now. But even then, it's still not popular. Singaporeans want low cc big body. The next F30 318i with 1.6T 136bhp engine will do well here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear September 2, 2012 Share September 2, 2012 (edited) It is important to him because the closest he can ever get to driving a BMW is by listening to it when it goes past. Not sure if he even has a license, nor can he even afford the road tax and weekly petrol bills. Dude. You contradict yourself blatantly, and wanna accuse people? Show me how "the closest he can ever get to driving a BMW is by listening to it when it goes past" is done. I don't mind being a copy cat. I think you probably meant "the closest he can ever get near a BMW is by listening to it when it goes past". You fail english, don't come here talk big. And even so, the closest BMW I can ever get is the F02 740Li at any carparks. I don't need it to drive past me. Edited September 2, 2012 by Proton_neutron Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear September 2, 2012 Share September 2, 2012 WHat do you mean by this? what way it spoils the image? For your info, it is more powerful than previous 523 IL-6 It is not cheap also leh. About 15k difference from 528 after discount. Erm, 523i has 204bhp and 520i has 184bhp and you say 520i is more powerful than the previous 523i? I think you meant faster. 523i 0-100kph 8.6s, 520i 0-100kph 8.1s. Precisely because it's not cheap in the first place. List Prices quoted from sgcarmart: 520i $261,800 528i $287,800 (difference of $26k) 535i $341,800 (difference of $54k) So most will top up the difference and get the 528i (number nicer than 520i) instead of 520i. Of course, there are still a few 520i sighted on the roads. They probably don't need 245bhp. 184bhp for them good enough already. Then again, these 5-series drivers will probably upgrade to the new facelift 7-Series when it arrives. But that's another thing altogether. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyklon 5th Gear September 2, 2012 Share September 2, 2012 That's the reason why the Lexus GS350 ain't popular, and thus the existence of GS250 now. But even then, it's still not popular. Singaporeans want low cc big body. The next F30 318i with 1.6T 136bhp engine will do well here. Road tax and driving condition here. gs350 road tax is almost 2k more than a 2.0l engine. In singapore road, even a 1.6t in a 5er might be more than sufficient. Even with the tiny n20 4 potter, one can hardly put his feet on the accelerator without crashing into someone else. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator September 2, 2012 Share September 2, 2012 It has to be teh 523 IL-6 for me....negotiating one right now....wohooooo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear September 2, 2012 Share September 2, 2012 (edited) Road tax and driving condition here. gs350 road tax is almost 2k more than a 2.0l engine. In singapore road, even a 1.6t in a 5er might be more than sufficient. Even with the tiny n20 4 potter, one can hardly put his feet on the accelerator without crashing into someone else. In the coming years, CO2 emissions will play a part too. Generally, the higher the engine cc, the more CO2 produced. If you can crash into something else while you fully depress the accelerator of the 2.0 184bhp (for even less than 5s), you're really something. Haha. In any case, to support your point on engine downsizing for luxury cars, there are 3 examples -> Mercedes S250CDI 2.1TurboDiesel 204bhp -> Audi A8 Hybrid 2.0TFSI 211bhp -> Jaguar XJL 2.0EcoBoost 240bhp So yes, you're right. Perhaps a 518i 1.6T 136bhp will be enough for our roads, should BMW ever make one. Edited September 2, 2012 by Proton_neutron Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear September 2, 2012 Share September 2, 2012 It has to be teh 523 IL-6 for me....negotiating one right now....wohooooo Thank you. An ardent BMW fan. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator September 2, 2012 Share September 2, 2012 you only appreciate the IL-6 at higher revs, when the sound is sweeeeeeeeeet...my Prev 5 was just that...impeccable engine, the N54... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear September 2, 2012 Share September 2, 2012 you only appreciate the IL-6 at higher revs, when the sound is sweeeeeeeeeet...my Prev 5 was just that...impeccable engine, the N54... Unfortunately, some people cannot accept the fact that IL6 sounds better than IL4. There has to be a reason why BMW decided to put their IL6 engine even on their motorbikes -> BMW K1600GT. And it's not impossible to enjoy the engine at higher revs despite the huge number of cars we have on our tiny island. Periodic flooring of the accelerator is still possible without exceeding the speed limits. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyklon 5th Gear September 2, 2012 Share September 2, 2012 In the coming years, CO2 emissions will play a part too. Generally, the higher the engine cc, the more CO2 produced. If you can crash into something else while you fully depress the accelerator of the 2.0 184bhp (for even less than 5s), you're really something. Haha. Are you a just a poor student keyboard warrior or you drive a really slow car? Your post really shows you are quite noob, please don't further disgrace yourself lah. Just try going home at 6pm peak hour on any expressway. You will not even be able to put your feet down on the accelerator for more than 5 seconds in any car. If you can, it probably means your car is really really slow or it is chinese new year and nobody is working. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator September 2, 2012 Share September 2, 2012 Are you a just a poor student keyboard warrior or you drive a really slow car? Your post really shows you are quite noob, please don't further disgrace yourself lah. Just try going home at 6pm peak hour on any expressway. You will not even be able to put your feet down on the accelerator for more than 5 seconds in any car. If you can, it probably means your car is really really slow or it is chinese new year and nobody is working. or like me...going agst traffic Friend, i manage 90km/h both ways of my work journey...only cos i work in an ulu place...yes so be it, no one wants to work at cemetery Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear September 2, 2012 Share September 2, 2012 Dude. You contradict yourself blatantly, and wanna accuse people? Show me how "the closest he can ever get to driving a BMW is by listening to it when it goes past" is done. I don't mind being a copy cat. I think you probably meant "the closest he can ever get near a BMW is by listening to it when it goes past". You fail english, don't come here talk big. And even so, the closest BMW I can ever get is the F02 740Li at any carparks. I don't need it to drive past me. Technically correct. The closest you'll ever get to driving a BMW is by listening to it as it goes past. Which means: IN YOUR DREAMS. You go back and retake your English O's again , please. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear September 2, 2012 Share September 2, 2012 Are you a just a poor student keyboard warrior or you drive a really slow car? Your post really shows you are quite noob, please don't further disgrace yourself lah. Just try going home at 6pm peak hour on any expressway. You will not even be able to put your feet down on the accelerator for more than 5 seconds in any car. If you can, it probably means your car is really really slow or it is chinese new year and nobody is working. If you like to quote people out of context, I'd advise you to stop immediately. Pls read the preceding post before yours. "Periodic flooring of the accelerator is still possible without exceeding the speed limits." I didn't specify the time when you do so isn't it? Yet you added words to my mouth and ask me to try to do so "at 6pm peak hour on any expressway". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator September 2, 2012 Share September 2, 2012 If you like to quote people out of context, I'd advise you to stop immediately. Pls read the preceding post before yours. "Periodic flooring of the accelerator is still possible without exceeding the speed limits." I didn't specify the time when you do so isn't it? Yet you added words to my mouth and ask me to try to do so "at 6pm peak hour on any expressway". u another one...still cna lah..... i wirk north, and go agst traffic daily...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear September 2, 2012 Share September 2, 2012 you only appreciate the IL-6 at higher revs, when the sound is sweeeeeeeeeet...my Prev 5 was just that...impeccable engine, the N54... N54 is turbocharged 6. Which previous 5 of yours had that engine? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...