New Stadium

Thaiyotakamli

Then what is Lions XII? How much crowd are they drawing?

they were form this year to take part in the M-league, i believe their crowd attendance at jb stadium is still not bad, regularly drawing crowds above 60%?

Seriously, not many fans are keen to travel to Jalan Besar Stadium...first it is the limited car park issue and travelling to Jalan Besar Stadium via Balestier rd/Lavender rd during after office hour is no farnie matter on a weekday!! :(

Really? Lions XII no support becasue a stadium that is only 10 minutes walk from MRT is too hard to get to?

Next excuse? The stadium's not airconditioned.... [:(]

Really? Lions XII no support becasue a stadium that is only 10 minutes walk from MRT is too hard to get to?

this one i agree with you...last time during the m-cup days way back in the 90's, kalland stadium is mostly full even though we have to walk all the way to kallang mrt.

I would have thought walking together with other fans to the stadium and the gathering outside to banter about the game and expectations is part of the experience? Has been when I have been to EPL games in the UK, or rugby in Australia, or NFL/GridIron in the USA.

last time during the malaysia cup, i never miss any home match.. stadium will always be at capacity crowd.. you can see the players really put their heart and soul in the pitch. the never say die attitude. Simply brilliant.

now? don't say attitude. if they don't put the flag on the uniform, I also cant tell which is Singapore team.

But then, this lions XII team I like... but please take away Agu Casmir....

last time during the malaysia cup, i never miss any home match.. stadium will always be at capacity crowd.. you can see the players really put their heart and soul in the pitch. the never say die attitude. Simply brilliant.

now? don't say attitude. if they don't put the flag on the uniform, I also cant tell which is Singapore team.

But then, this lions XII team I like... but please take away Agu Casmir....

true...but then, last time the bookies also really powerful...

i remember 1 match against penang where the bookies were giving more than 3-4 goals before the match, the angmo goalie very angry and declared to the newpaper in an interview that he will retire from the football if it really happens, end up we thrash them 6 or 7 - 0.

then in a match against trengannu, first half we were traling 1-2, overheard the bookie on his tai-gor tai saying to makan bets with singapore giving 1.5 goals during the half-time break, final result, we beat trengannu 5-2.

other than sports, it can host other events such as concerts etc.

since newly build, might as well increase capacity imho.

For a stadium to be fun there must be atmosphere - there must be a balance between capacity and ability to fill it. There is nothing worse than a stadium only partially filled - it misses half the point of watching a match or concert live.

I would guess that the incremental cost to add 10,000 seats is actually pretty low - but it might make a big difference to how the stadium can be used.

I would have thought walking together with other fans to the stadium and the gathering outside to banter about the game and expectations is part of the experience? Has been when I have been to EPL games in the UK, or rugby in Australia, or NFL/GridIron in the USA.

Yeah - that's also why a lot of people go to pubs and bars to watch as well - there's more fun in watching with others, cheering and crying than there is in the game itself.

true...but then, last time the bookies also really powerful...

i remember 1 match against penang where the bookies were giving more than 3-4 goals before the match, the angmo goalie very angry and declared to the newpaper in an interview that he will retire from the football if it really happens, end up we thrash them 6 or 7 - 0.

then in a match against trengannu, first half we were traling 1-2, overheard the bookie on his tai-gor tai saying to makan bets with singapore giving 1.5 goals during the half-time break, final result, we beat trengannu 5-2.

well...if you tell me ppl like Malek Awab, Sundram, Fandi, Steven Tan, Nazri Nasir, Rafi Ali, Borhan, David Lee, Lee Mun Hong eat money.. I won't belive la. looking at their body language every match, they are always giving 101% .

Then where is the support today?

How come it is so dismal, and how come the crowd turnout is so pathetic?

You can't blame it all on FAS right? Support is support - FAS isn't stopping people from going to home games.

Singaporeans just don't care about local teams - they'd rather watch the international ones on telly

The standard of the game plummeted. The FAS dun care, the players dun care. Only Singapore Pools care. Local teams are a farce. Local only in name. They killed the golden goose.

Yeah - that's also why a lot of people go to pubs and bars to watch as well - there's more fun in watching with others, cheering and crying than there is in the game itself.

sad to say...shouting your lungs out onto a TV screen doesn't make a different to the playing team....match has to be watched LIVE.

well...if you tell me ppl like Malek Awab, Sundram, Fandi, Steven Tan, Nazri Nasir, Rafi Ali, Borhan, David Lee, Lee Mun Hong eat money.. I won't belive la. looking at their body language every match, they are always giving 101% .

Even Abbas....

honestly the bribe he received was to go all out and win the match...

and not to lose it...

in a way i would say it is more of a award then kelong...

Haha...I am too pampered!! I dun want to squeeze with the Ah Tiongs n ponoys in the mrt train! :D

Certainly hope we will...

my cousin and me already stand by to book with Walter Koh once we make it to the finals...

lets paint the stadium red like in 1994...

Walter Koh? Long time never hear that name liao . . . he's still organizing foorball tours after all these years? :blink:

Yup saw it on the papers....

but then... we can save it now...

so near yet so far...

no chance just yet to relive 1994... [bigcry]

Yup saw it on the papers....

but then... we can save it now...

so near yet so far...

no chance just yet to relive 1994... [bigcry]

They did well, just that the referee KELONG!!! Delay injury time!!! Every single tackle by the Lions is a foul. Phui!!!

Honestly they did ok ...

i realised we tend to sit back too much when we take the lead...

and so far, we also proved we are not that good in keeping a clean sheet when we need it most...

actually they should have just went for the juggler and killed off the game if possible...

but credit to ATM... their attackers are pretty good...