Firefly968 Neutral Newbie October 19, 2012 Author Share October 19, 2012 Dun b so happy. U came very close hor. Yah, very close. Which is why I started this thread to show unanticipated things can happen in a matter of seconds. The only way is to be alert and try our best to avoid. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 19, 2012 Share October 19, 2012 Everyone should just give TS a break la. Honestly, we are not all-angel drivers who keep to the speed limit of 50 or 70 kmh on normal roads, keep a distance of 2s on the expressway. While we blame others for all the violations, we know best ourselves whether we violate them or not. There are times where we start to become complacent and overconfidence, and sometimes we need such near-miss incidents, hopefully not accidents, to keep our complacency in check. As for TS, I think what you might have missed or misjudged is the motorcyclist. If I were the Fit driver, I think I would have stopped as well. Have to consider that hard braking for motorbikes is so much more dangerous than cars, the probability of them losing control is higher than in a car. Plus coming up fast in lane 1 towards fit is those blue sonata taxi n we all know how dangerous ty cn b. Hahaha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Firefly968 Neutral Newbie October 19, 2012 Author Share October 19, 2012 (edited) on contrary after seeing the video,i feel that "alertness" is the cause that u almost bang onto the Honda Fit. should u be less alert(to keep out on opposite traffic flow),then probably you will just follow the Honda Fit infront more safely. you seemed to assume the Honda Fit driver will proceed to turn when u notice the clear traffic on the opposite direction. never assume because we do not know what other drivers are thinking or doing inside their car. sometimes i know i can turn in such situation but i never do so because i do not want to pick up too fast speed when my wife is making milk for my kid, other times are so coincident that my phone rang at that very moment and i choose not to proceed but pick up the call. afterall the green arrow hasn't shown up yet. I think alertness plays an important part of driving just like anticipation of other drivers' action. Assessing traffic conditions and anticipation of the general actions of other drivers can help the journey. Hence, things like signaling, traffic lights and signs are all things to help anticipations. When unanticipated things happened, alertness will be part of the factors on how one will react to the situation. Edited October 19, 2012 by Firefly968 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kezg1 5th Gear October 19, 2012 Share October 19, 2012 See videos here where the guy shooting the vid is at fault and doesn't even realise it. Just goes to show how we all should improve our driving skills. But we won't. We are Singaporean. It's always the other guy's fault. .......you r damn rite wif this sentence Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Manmaster 2nd Gear October 19, 2012 Share October 19, 2012 TS, please don't post the video online when you're definitely in the wrong as you don't obey basic traffic rule. A driver must stop behind a continuous white line even when there's no car unless the traffic light is in your favour. This is what we learnt before. A driver needs not stop behind a broken white line when there is no car. Please remember that! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged October 19, 2012 Share October 19, 2012 TS is an overconfident driver who makes driving decisions based on his assumptions of the traffic situation around him. The key problem is that these are not defensive driving type of decisions. Let's assume that the Fit driver did cross the junction. The TS's gap to the oncoming traffic would be even smaller...... In the event, the Fit driver couldn't be confident he can cross the junction in the face of oncoming traffic, so he stopped. While TS following some distance behind, thought he could. That's a huge appetite for risk...... its poor judgement. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwanheng 1st Gear October 19, 2012 Share October 19, 2012 Not that fast that braking harder wil cause his car to skid unless his brakes or tires hv some problem. He wan to follow close sud b alert n prepared to stop quickly. 2nd possible thing is ts notice that he knows he is going to crash in to the front car therefore try to make more distance by cutting left Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 19, 2012 Share October 19, 2012 2nd possible thing is ts notice that he knows he is going to crash in to the front car therefore try to make more distance by cutting left Yup i think all incl ts agree he was caught napping when e fit stopped. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear October 19, 2012 Share October 19, 2012 I think alertness plays an important part of driving just like anticipation of other drivers' action. Assessing traffic conditions and anticipation of the general actions of other drivers can help the journey. Hence, things like signaling, traffic lights and signs are all things to help anticipations. When unanticipated things happened, alertness will be part of the factors on how one will react to the situation. well then in your case i would say you are too alert(based on my previous post description) or you are not alert enough. now,maybe you are too engrossed concentrating on the opposite traffic flow that you almost missed and hit the car infront. personally iam most of the time very aware of the surrounding when i am driving. for your case,i will keep a lookout for traffic on the opposite direction but still put my priority on the car infront no matter what. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic October 19, 2012 Share October 19, 2012 I was still within the turning lane and didn't encroach lane 1. Save brake pad I can't believe I am hearing this!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 19, 2012 Share October 19, 2012 I can't believe I am hearing this!!! He just trying to make excuse lah. But obvious its a lame one. Hahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steptronic Supercharged October 19, 2012 Share October 19, 2012 Either way is doable. So I chose to save some brake pad lol - save accelerator pedal also - don't press it too hard lah! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic October 19, 2012 Share October 19, 2012 He just trying to make excuse lah. But obvious its a lame one. Hahaha Like this? http://youtu.be/EyHgVEbQ_nY Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 19, 2012 Share October 19, 2012 Like this? http://youtu.be/EyHgVEbQ_nY Ya u got it spot on. If only he cud sing so well i wud hv at least enjoyed his lame excuse a bit. Hahaha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seanboi 1st Gear October 19, 2012 Share October 19, 2012 You shouldnt even anticipate especially when you're the 2nd car and your speed is too fast when approaching the junction. If you need clarification from the driver maybe you shld post in FJC. He/she seems to be a member of FJC. At the end of the day, drive safe! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged October 20, 2012 Share October 20, 2012 Hi Bros, Glad that some got the point I started this thread not to complaint but to raise awareness. For a start it's not in complaint folder with title such as SXX1234X is #@!>!#!%@@%$ driver Of course, I know and many people know we should drive properly, don't tailgate, don't speed, don't road hog, don't etc etc etc. However, why are there so many insurance claims still? For my video Excellent road condition and visibility. I was driving normally and there was a big buffer with the car in front. In fact, everything is checked and anticipated coming to the turn except the Fit decided not to make the turn. Thankfully, I'm alert enough to avoid. Realistically, if you're the Fit driver with about 8 seconds buffer before oncoming traffic reached the opposite stop line and pedestrian is no where near the junction, would you have made the turn? That's for you to answer. For me, I'm just curious did he saw something/someone I didn't see? Anyway, the point is even with excellent road condition, good visibility, there is always the unexpected and unanticipated. Add road hazards such as jams, night, rain, road blocks, road works, tailgaters, road hoggers, taix drivers picking up passengers etc. The chance of the unexpected and unanticipated increases. So Always Be Alert When Driving. the key question is, whether he see anything or not is not of concern. you should be focusing your immediate attention on him instead Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SGCMniceguy Clutched October 20, 2012 Share October 20, 2012 drive slow in singapore, think about your loved ones... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AronTan Neutral Newbie October 23, 2012 Share October 23, 2012 drive slow in singapore, think about your loved ones... drive slow also road hazard. how about drive with your eyes wide open and with consideration to other fellow drivers :) driving in singapore is considered quite good la, i don't have any major issues. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...