Royho1979 Clutched December 2, 2012 Share December 2, 2012 and it's boring... it has nothing to do if mainstream media suits me better anot would you be able to give a summary in 1 paragraph? I am quite sure it could be done.. maybe not as powerful but with the main points put across You should stop posting on this. Your refusal to back down when you are clearly wrong is not doing your mcf cred any good. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Royho1979 Clutched December 2, 2012 Share December 2, 2012 It is the online behaviour of my fellow Singaporeans which saddens me equally. People have speculated whether the drivers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fastfive1 5th Gear December 2, 2012 Share December 2, 2012 so you do agree that he wrote a lot but mean very little! Not exactly. He made several points and substantiated it with various examples and explained it. He questions our pre-conceived notions of foreign workers and our treatment of them. It's a meaningful article but there are flaws. For example the supporting of the actions by the china bus drivers. The reason why this is flawed should be obvious. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fastfive1 5th Gear December 2, 2012 Share December 2, 2012 and it's boring... it has nothing to do if mainstream media suits me better anot would you be able to give a summary in 1 paragraph? I am quite sure it could be done.. maybe not as powerful but with the main points put across Well I believe i gave a very brief summary earlier. Look back a few posts. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fastfive1 5th Gear December 2, 2012 Share December 2, 2012 From this thread, I know now you studied in RJC, & probably into reading. I have a friend very funny, when people ask him which JC he study, he always say BJ. LOL Anyway, you should check out out both games of throne, & Sherlock the series(not the movie starring Xavi), they have very intelligent & interesting conversations. Haha i never said i was from RJC. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged December 2, 2012 Share December 2, 2012 Actually the lack of brevity in the article *is* important because it lost a large chunk of audience who would have otherwise "been on board". It defeats the purpose of writing for an audience, especially with an important issue such as this, for which the intention should be to capture the interest of as many people as possible. As eloquent as it is, it rambles on and on, and the point it makes is so far in, many people would not have gotten there for lack of time or patience. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear December 2, 2012 Share December 2, 2012 Haha i never said i was from RJC. But you know someone from RJC, but then again, who doesn't, its Singapore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear December 2, 2012 Share December 2, 2012 (edited) it does strikes a chord in my heart for i have dwelled and gave serious thoughts about the very same issues. I considered myself very fortunate and privileged to have taken quite a number of sociology modules in varsity. While it will be a stretch to consider myself a sociologist but i do possess the sociological imagination. I can so clearly see a clear illustration of what CW Mills meant when he articulated at lengths about the distinction between "private troubles and public issues". This is very much relevant to the issue on hand and for other issues that exist/existed in the socio-political space. So many times i have heard people pass a scathing verdict; he who is languishing, is responsible for his own fate. he has no one to blame but himself. I registered a poignant tinge of regret when i again saw how another intellectual singled out the nation's sole worker's union as a tri-partite arrangement as a cause of concern. It is a very sad day for the man on the street. Edited December 2, 2012 by Happily1986 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
EricTeh Neutral Newbie December 2, 2012 Share December 2, 2012 actually writer can cut the crap and get to the point instead of sensationize every turn of any events then again they are politicians Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear December 2, 2012 Share December 2, 2012 you still dont see that the so called "rules" are being played for the benefit of some? always had... just a variation of how "buy over the people and fix the opposition'" was done "by the rules" I see it but the 60% voted for the guys who make these rules. So we just have to live with it meantime and hope the tide turns in the near future. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic December 2, 2012 Share December 2, 2012 Mcf is full of learned people I not learned Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear December 2, 2012 Share December 2, 2012 Mcf is full of learned people I not learned You got learnt lah, just like me......but just not enough!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic December 2, 2012 Share December 2, 2012 Yes, their actions did "widen the democratic space for us" but they didn't do it for us. They fought for themselves. Our welfare were none of their concerns. If they succeed, sg as a whole up lorry. Strikes everywhere If they lose, we can't strike. We "lose" our collective labour bargaining power One pic say Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic December 2, 2012 Share December 2, 2012 You got learnt lah, just like me......but just not enough!!! [bigcry] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear December 2, 2012 Share December 2, 2012 (edited) Mcf is full of learned people I not learned i am still too young to be considered learned and wise. If i have seen further, it is by standing on the shoulders of giants. (Newton, 1676) Edited December 2, 2012 by Happily1986 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic December 2, 2012 Share December 2, 2012 What I dun understand is why the author has to drag politics into the incident? The thing about supporting a strike is keyboard warrior at its best. Why do I not see the joker amongst the bus drivers? So much for talking c0ck and no action on his so called support. Wrote a wall of crap to go one big round just to fart. What a waste of time. If the bus drivers are not happy with the contract, regardless of the details, they have other options. Either join the rival company or join private bus companies. Why shud the option be strike? It's not like someone point a gun at their heads to die die must sign. Sgporeans shud know best coz when their boss cut their pay, it's bye bye to the boss and look for new job. That's why for so many years there's no strike in sgp coz ppl got options and striking is not in it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leiquiz Clutched December 2, 2012 Share December 2, 2012 Thanks for your sharing, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fastfive1 5th Gear December 2, 2012 Share December 2, 2012 And people still wonder why "Sillyporeans" refuse to "see the light" and continue to vote for the "PAPPIES"? When they themselves are guilty of wilful ignorance and impatience and refuse to devote an amount of their own time to better understand the complex issues underlying the rifts and divisions in our society, how our Government functions and how justice (or injustice) is meted out in our own country. If only these issues are so simple and straightforward that they can be succinctly captured and explained in an "executive summary" like some folks are demanding for. Unfortunately, in real life, such issues tend to be complex and complicated, involving many parties and spanning across multiple disciplines/sectors. One need not understand fully the entire mechanics and micro-detail of every issue that they are discussing. But I would think one owes it to themselves to properly understand and appreciate what it is that they stand for, believe in, and are willing to fight for. Sad to say, a fair number of "PAP supporters" are more discerning and have a better grasp of political and societal issues than many of the rabid "anti-PAP" supporters here. I do not even know if these folks even know what they are supporting or fighting against sometimes. When smart, brave and honest people put themselves on their line to stand up and be a lone voice in a deafening crowd of cowardly silence, while devoting much of their time and effort into researching issues that would otherwise be hidden and covered up, and then taking the effort to put these issues together in a eloquent and well-written piece of writing, what do these "anti-PAP" supporters say? I WANT EXECUTIVE SUMMARY LAH! TOO LONG TO READ LAH! SMLJ MAN? FAIL LAH! XENOPHOBIC LAH! MORE SIMPLE LEH? It's sad and discouraging sometimes. I really salute those who can go on fighting the good fight in the face of such intellectual laziness and impatient demands for instant gratification. Sometimes I really wonder if our education system has failed us, with its focus on rote learning and summaries. Ahh i missed this out earlier. Well if one has noticed, the opposition parties seem to cater to a group of people who like to nitpick over every single thing. The political elections appears to be one where people vote for the sake of doing so because they fail to understand what the various political groups are trying to do or the message they are attempting to convey. This perhaps ironic because the purpose of voting primarily, is to allow people to have a choice because they are deemed to be discerning and know what they want. However voting for the sake of doing so defeats this purpose. This is a clear example of intellectual laziness. if you were to ask people why they voted for a particular person, most will give very vague answers or bits and pieces of the speeches they heard. Instant gratification can be attributed to the mass media which promotes it on a regular basis. This explains why people are obsessed with buying stuff they don't need. Of course this opens another can of worms but let's leave that for another day. The education system has not failed us. People do not know how to fully exploit what they have. There is nothing wrong with rote learning and summaries. Hey I rely on memorizing when I study. There's no way to completely avoid that. You have to remember the necessary facts and information in order for you to have some content to write. Of course people use this method differently. Some will try to understand concepts first before memorizing, others may memorize first and understand later. The lazy ones will memorize without attempting to understand. It is in these different variations that produces different results. The extreme ones are the ones who are likely to benefit the least. Summaries help me understand literature texts better. Once again there are different ways to use these summaries. Some force themselves to read the entire text and then turn to summaries should they not understand portions of the text, others may read one chapter then look at the summary for that chapter. Again the lazy ones will not bother to read the text and depend solely on the summaries in helping them understand the text hoping that they can crap their way through in an essay. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...