Lightbringer

But the article fail as most people on internet forum have only the patient to read about maybe 5 paragraph max. I stop reading after all the xenophobic first part, so the fancy stuff never get screen time.

When I write something online, I like to keep it as compact as possible. People do not normally want to read an essay online. Just saying.

I agree that the article fails...... it fails people like yourself without the attention span to digest complex issues.

The fact that you say "after all the xenophobic first part..." goes to illustrates that you simply have no idea of what this article is meant to convey and the message it is attempting to get across.

Again, different audiences different strokes. You should restrict yourself to blogs like Xiaxue, STOMP, and The New Paper. It's right up your alley and I am sure you will have no problem understanding the message those publications are putting across.

the best comment about this episode so far.

shows how fxxked up things are.

they are now fanning the anti prc sentiment (which they created in the first place) to cover up their own incompetence,

But the article fail as most people on internet forum have only the patient to read about maybe 5 paragraph max. I stop reading after all the xenophobic first part, so the fancy stuff never get screen time.

When I write something online, I like to keep it as compact as possible. People do not normally want to read an essay online. Just saying.

True.

The internet caters to people with short attention spans.

I guess the A levels has forced me to read and understand things i don't care about.

At least we know that the writer has the necessary skills to write a research paper.

While I acknowledge his viewpoints, i feel that there are a few flaws with it.

And people still wonder why "Sillyporeans" refuse to "see the light" and continue to vote for the "PAPPIES"?

When they themselves are guilty of wilful ignorance and impatience and refuse to devote an amount of their own time to better understand the complex issues underlying the rifts and divisions in our society, how our Government functions and how justice (or injustice) is meted out in our own country. If only these issues are so simple and straightforward that they can be succinctly captured and explained in an "executive summary" like some folks are demanding for. Unfortunately, in real life, such issues tend to be complex and complicated, involving many parties and spanning across multiple disciplines/sectors. One need not understand fully the entire mechanics and micro-detail of every issue that they are discussing. But I would think one owes it to themselves to properly understand and appreciate what it is that they stand for, believe in, and are willing to fight for.

Sad to say, a fair number of "PAP supporters" are more discerning and have a better grasp of political and societal issues than many of the rabid "anti-PAP" supporters here. I do not even know if these folks even know what they are supporting or fighting against sometimes. When smart, brave and honest people put themselves on their line to stand up and be a lone voice in a deafening crowd of cowardly silence, while devoting much of their time and effort into researching issues that would otherwise be hidden and covered up, and then taking the effort to put these issues together in a eloquent and well-written piece of writing, what do these "anti-PAP" supporters say?

I WANT EXECUTIVE SUMMARY LAH!

TOO LONG TO READ LAH! SMLJ MAN?

FAIL LAH! XENOPHOBIC LAH! MORE SIMPLE LEH?

It's sad and discouraging sometimes.

I really salute those who can go on fighting the good fight in the face of such intellectual laziness and impatient demands for instant gratification. Sometimes I really wonder if our education system has failed us, with its focus on rote learning and summaries.

I agree that the article fails...... it fails people like yourself without the attention span to digest complex issues.

The fact that you say "after all the xenophobic first part..." goes to illustrates that you simply have no idea of what this article is meant to convey and the message it is attempting to get across.

Again, different audiences different strokes. You should restrict yourself to blogs like Xiaxue, STOMP, and The New Paper. It's right up your alley and I am sure you will have no problem understanding the message those publications are putting across.

Personal attack leh. [:(]

Anyway, I am just saying, if maybe you can summarize like fast five did,

& end with , for instance," for full details, read the original article here".

Its a big expectation to ask people to read such a long article without knowing clearly the contents. Well, at least in Manchester Time (aka the new paper), you can see the headline, & decided if you want to read the article.

Ok, to be fair, I relook again & you did have a short description on the article on the very top, but bold it or enlarge the text will be nice. [:)]

True.

I guess the A levels has forced me to read and understand things i don't care about.

At least we know that the writer has the necessary skills to write a research paper.

so you do agree that he wrote a lot but mean very little! [laugh]

Personal attack leh. [:(]

Anyway, I am just saying, if maybe you can summarize like fast five did,

& end with , for instance," for full details, read the original article here".

Its a big expectation to ask people to read such a long article without knowing clearly the contents. Well, at least in Manchester Time (aka the new paper), you can see the headline, & decided if you want to read the article.

Ok, to be fair, I relook again & you did have a short description on the article on the very top, but bold it or enlarge the text will be nice. [:)]

I'm sorry for being frank, but that is the impression of yourself that you are conveying to me when you said that this article is a fail because it is too long, when you did not even bother to understand what the article is talking about in the first place. In fact, the article is the exact opposite of the xenophobic label which you slapped on it because you did not bother to read beyond the first few lines!

I agree it is a big expectation. But we are all adults. If you don't want to read it, not my problem. I'm not here to spoonfeed you or write an executive summary for you. It's not in my job description.

I'm just here to share an interesting and well-written article with people who actually CARE and will bother to read it and then if possible (if I'm lucky enough) we can have a reasonable and educated discussion about the merits of the article and the salient points which it highlights.

Instead I have people demanding an executive summary and making totally ignorant and inaccurate comments because they did not want to read the article.

Again I reiterate, different audiences different strokes. If you don't want to read it or can't be bothered, fair enough. Just go along on your way instead of making stupid comments while declaring you can't be bothered to read. It reflects quite poorly on yourself. Any of my staff who displays such a lackadaisical attitude or intellectual laziness would be asked to leave. But then I don't work here so... *shrugs* I can only explain.

but did he explore why in the first place the company made pay adjustment to pay the local and MY more? -_-

chicken and egg..... 顺得哥情失嫂意! the contract with PRC was done probably two years ago, the wage adjustment was done recently, so?

I kinda suspected the drivers did it as a last resort. But SG has rules. If not happy, then either carry on sulking or resign.

you still dont see that the so called "rules" are being played for the benefit of some? always had... just a variation of how "buy over the people and fix the opposition'" was done "by the rules"

This article does capture the attention of the learned through the use of diction, imagery, metaphors and symbols.

Perhaps mainstream media suits you better.

I will admit that this article is lengthy but to be able to read it entirely and comprehend the message it intends to convey distinguishes you from the rest.

and it's boring...

it has nothing to do if mainstream media suits me better anot

would you be able to give a summary in 1 paragraph? I am quite sure it could be done.. maybe not as powerful but with the main points put across

True.

From this thread, I know now you studied in RJC, & probably into reading. I have a friend very funny, when people ask him which JC he study, he always say BJ. LOL

Anyway, you should check out out both games of throne, & Sherlock the series(not the movie starring Xavi), they have very intelligent & interesting conversations.

the best comment about this episode so far.

shows how fxxked up things are.

they are now fanning the anti prc sentiment (which they created in the first place) to cover up their own incompetence,

Exactly. It take sharp eyes to look beyond the mob mentality and hysteria which the mainstream media has been subtly encouraging and inducing to cover-up this entire fiasco.

Most people don't even know they are being hoodwinked or led by their noses. :D

Like Fastfive said, different audience different strokes...

Most probably you're not the intended audience for this article [;)] No harm no foul.

I expect you to understand the issue you are commenting on before you even bother to comment. To me, that's basic courtesy and also the bare minimum I expect from myself before I commit to opening my mouth or posting a "comment" or two. Again I ask you, why do you bother to comment if you do not have the patience to read and understand what the author of the article is trying to say? If you don't have the patience to "read a wall of text" then why do you even bother to comment on it? I don't understand the logic or the intentions of such an action. Don't understand, no patience to read, walk along on your way since it doesn't interests you. Asking for a summary and then making ignorant comments on the article is both rude to the author of the article (not myself btw) and also reflects poorly on the standards you hold yourself to.

sorry after a few paragraphs and I can't find the issue and I gave up... I agree my standards are low...

erm... so what's the author trying to say?

I can only say that those PRC bus driver are stupid... they didnt know how and what the SG Gov is capable of doing.... They think they r in China, where strike is so common...

Look at what happen to those pilot that striked few yrs back.. Those are PILOT! Driving Aeroplane! Someone who earns easily 10 times more than a bus driver!!! ... but in the end?? What happen??? If a bunch of Pilot couldnt do it, they think 20 over bus driver can create a miracle??? haiz...

sorry after a few paragraphs and I can't find the issue and I gave up... I agree my standards are low...

erm... so what's the author trying to say?

Allow me to share my perspective. I myself am not really what one would regard as a patient man. But the article drew me in from the first opening paragraph because given Vincent's reputation as a champion of transient workers' rights and an intellectual juggernaut, it was really quite obvious that he was being sarcastic and sharp-tongued in his opening paragraphs.

At no point of time did I find the article to be boring or dry. I found it impassioned, well-researched, eloquent and educational. It was fun and invigorating to read, while at the same time putting together a very strong case and offering many interesting viewpoints for consideration, which he then challenged the Manpower Minister Tan Chuan Jin as well as Cedric Foo and other government spokespersons to clarify and shed light on.

If you want to know what the author is trying to say.... then READ. It'll only benefit you and your mind and stimulate your thinking.

Or don't read and forget about it.

But either way I don't do summaries for people who can't be bothered to read. I don't spoonfeed.

I can only say that those PRC bus driver are stupid... they didnt know how and what the SG Gov is capable of doing.... They think they r in China, where strike is so common...

Look at what happen to those pilot that striked few yrs back.. Those are PILOT! Driving Aeroplane! Someone who earns easily 10 times more than a bus driver!!! ... but in the end?? What happen??? If a bunch of Pilot couldnt do it, they think 20 over bus driver can create a miracle??? haiz...

It is the online behaviour of my fellow Singaporeans which saddens me equally. People have speculated whether the drivers

Edited by Lightbringer