Joseph22 Turbocharged December 3, 2012 Share December 3, 2012 The key reason for the strike was the difference in pay. The china drivers demanded to have the same pay as other foreign bus drivers as they felt that they were doing the same job. If SMRT caved in, then the next to strike would be the malaysian drivers as they were not getting the same benefits as the china drivers. I'm surprised that nobody cared for the welfare of our malaysian drivers when compared to the china drivers. you obviously dont follow the case or refuse to accept the other truth that had been hanging out in the open and discuss over the past week. or even months. This different in Pay is more of a final straw of many pent up anger that these PRC driver are suffering from. Please go find more facts before you come in and say its about the pay. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged December 3, 2012 Share December 3, 2012 The key reason for the strike was the difference in pay. The china drivers demanded to have the same pay as other foreign bus drivers as they felt that they were doing the same job. If SMRT caved in, then the next to strike would be the malaysian drivers as they were not getting the same benefits as the china drivers. I'm surprised that nobody cared for the welfare of our malaysian drivers when compared to the china drivers. No it was pay RAISE. No pay There was also festering unhappiness about a) The change from a 5 day week to a six day week. While this may be within the terms of the contract, it is different to what was the practise when they were hired. b) Living conditions in the dormitory Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Manmaster 2nd Gear December 3, 2012 Share December 3, 2012 How sure are you that SMRT already stated in Prior Contract that it had right to revise terms and conditions for Contractual Workers. Also do you know how contract work? you will required the one signing the contract to agree. This is not your typical handphone or Cable TV contract. (in fact that can be rebut if you really want to play punk) yeah it should, but isnt it obvious that SMRT is basing off nationality? also speaking of accommodation, isnt that why they are paid lower. And that wasnt even the main problem. U didn't see the shift in the argument from the china drivers. The original reason for the strike was they wanted to have the same pay as other foreign bus driver as they felt they were doing the same job. When the china drivers realized that this reason was not really valid as they were getting better benefits, they quickly changed it to other points like 5-day work became 6-day work, the accommodation condition was bad, etc........Suddenly, the original reason for the strike had changed. U don't smell a rat here? The accommodation and chartered bus services were more than enough to offset the differences in pay as it would cost more for the drivers if they had to pay for lodging and transport. Anyway, there is no point in debating this anymore and this saga has ended. I'm happy with the outcome. 29 got repatriated and 5 were charged. The china embassy didn't say that we were wrong either. End of story. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
L_club23 4th Gear December 3, 2012 Share December 3, 2012 There was always the option to resign wasn't there... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged December 3, 2012 Share December 3, 2012 U didn't see the shift in the argument from the china drivers. The original reason for the strike was they wanted to have the same pay as other foreign bus driver as they felt they were doing the same job. When the china drivers realized that this reason was not really valid as they were getting better benefits, they quickly changed it to other points like 5-day work became 6-day work, the accommodation condition was bad, etc........Suddenly, the original reason for the strike had changed. U don't smell a rat here? The accommodation and chartered bus services were more than enough to offset the differences in pay as it would cost more for the drivers if they had to pay for lodging and transport. Anyway, there is no point in debating this anymore and this saga has ended. I'm happy with the outcome. 29 got repatriated and 5 were charged. The china embassy didn't say that we were wrong either. End of story. If you call that the end of story then you will be missing a lot of lessons, for ALL involved. From the general population, to government, to unions, to SMRT and to migrant workers. It is obvious that there are a lot of issues here beyond a mere pay dispute, and issues that need to be addressed. Closing the chapter now, without looking to see what we can learn, what went wrong, and making future processes stronger would be, IMHO, a big mistake. What seems to be one of the biggest deciding factors in where sympathies lie in this case is that "ah tiongs" inconvenienced Singaporeans. But what about the general lessons, that of basing pay rises on nationality, not skills, that of unilateral varying of work conditions, that of how workers are treated and housed? If you don't look at this, it may well come back to haunt you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged December 3, 2012 Share December 3, 2012 U didn't see the shift in the argument from the china drivers. The original reason for the strike was they wanted to have the same pay as other foreign bus driver as they felt they were doing the same job. When the china drivers realized that this reason was not really valid as they were getting better benefits, they quickly changed it to other points like 5-day work became 6-day work, the accommodation condition was bad, etc........Suddenly, the original reason for the strike had changed. U don't smell a rat here? The accommodation and chartered bus services were more than enough to offset the differences in pay as it would cost more for the drivers if they had to pay for lodging and transport. Anyway, there is no point in debating this anymore and this saga has ended. I'm happy with the outcome. 29 got repatriated and 5 were charged. The china embassy didn't say that we were wrong either. End of story. What makes you so sure there was no compromise? 150 drivers were "let-off". Everybody also want face. Just hang the Indian Chief or Chinese Emperor, in this case. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged December 3, 2012 Share December 3, 2012 U didn't see the shift in the argument from the china drivers. The original reason for the strike was they wanted to have the same pay as other foreign bus driver as they felt they were doing the same job. When the china drivers realized that this reason was not really valid as they were getting better benefits, they quickly changed it to other points like 5-day work became 6-day work, the accommodation condition was bad, etc........Suddenly, the original reason for the strike had changed. U don't smell a rat here? The accommodation and chartered bus services were more than enough to offset the differences in pay as it would cost more for the drivers if they had to pay for lodging and transport. Anyway, there is no point in debating this anymore and this saga has ended. I'm happy with the outcome. 29 got repatriated and 5 were charged. The china embassy didn't say that we were wrong either. End of story. Lets face it, if SMRT didnt do a July. I doubt that there will be a Novemeber issue. they are not saints themself. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear December 3, 2012 Share December 3, 2012 to those who rejoice, don't be the proverbial duckling who kept egging the duck farmer to slaughter the grown ducks. one day, the farmer might just come for you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rncw 5th Gear December 3, 2012 Share December 3, 2012 these ah tiong drivers decided not to turn up for work becoz no one listens to their frustrations, and being ah tiongs...they sort of banded together and dun go to work...some take MC...blah blah... gahment after some wayang, said its strike lottery...all kena...but then jail no enuff space....but they act blur that there is the problem long time already, and act blur, all practise their taiji (which originated from ah tiong land fyi) aiyah...all businesses will always look at profits thru cutting overheads as much as possible, and those they can makan, they confirm makan one....ah tiong no choice kena makan lor....corporate always knows that ah tiong land got many workers eager to come singapore to "dig gold"....any time can get replacement snap snap... aunty lucy last time got sell very cheap groceries when i was very little....poor workers always go to aunty lucy...but now??? over here, business got power, and workers are like "want to work, work...dunwan to work fark off....i can always get replacement..coz no one is indispensable..." Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged December 3, 2012 Share December 3, 2012 these ah tiong drivers decided not to turn up for work becoz no one listens to their frustrations, and being ah tiongs...they sort of banded together and dun go to work...some take MC...blah blah... gahment after some wayang, said its strike lottery...all kena...but then jail no enuff space....but they act blur that there is the problem long time already, and act blur, all practise their taiji (which originated from ah tiong land fyi) aiyah...all businesses will always look at profits thru cutting overheads as much as possible, and those they can makan, they confirm makan one....ah tiong no choice kena makan lor....corporate always knows that ah tiong land got many workers eager to come singapore to "dig gold"....any time can get replacement snap snap... aunty lucy last time got sell very cheap groceries when i was very little....poor workers always go to aunty lucy...but now??? over here, business got power, and workers are like "want to work, work...dunwan to work fark off....i can always get replacement..coz no one is indispensable..." we are back to colony time liao time for us to rewatch Mu Shu Nangyang... Ah Sui and Ah Mei. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged December 3, 2012 Share December 3, 2012 (edited) I think the facebook post is off the mark in claiming that the PRC bus drivers were paid differently for doing the same work. The way it is now, it appears that their salary is the same, except with deductions to cover transport costs and accommodation costs, it ends up lower. The only thing strange, that I find, is that increments are different according to nationality All we can see is that it's not so much a problem with the system, but rather with a single company. We can see bad management, poor HR and communication, but that's about it. No great conspiracy. If the PRC drivers are so unhappy with their salary, I'd propose why not let them be paid equally, but left to foot their own transport and accommodation costs (which are not cheap in singapore, by the way). See if they prefer that?? End of the day, it's a demand-and-supply, market forces thingy... singaporean drivers (ideally, preferred), very few want to take up the job - so, paid more to attract... malaysian drivers getting lesser these days, so need to pay more too... PRC drivers?? many, many of them just waiting to come over - so why pay more than necessary? Nevertheless I'd prefer a system of recruiting and paying drivers according to proven ability and minimum set of skills... e.g. basic english - which PRC drivers or any other nationality, must meet, before they can be hired at the same salary and benefits. Edited December 3, 2012 by Sosaria Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged December 3, 2012 Share December 3, 2012 (edited) a well written article indeed. i feel he did a better job than mainstream media and some of the high paying ministers in highlighting the importance and contribution of FW in this country. there will be round 2 as tan chuan jin and cedric foo will need to fight back to counter his claims. Oppo politicians now quickly change their tune... I remember that just some time ago, they were also arguing against bringing in too many foreigners, and wanting all kinds of "differentiation" between citizens and foreigners?? Why now sing a different song? There's good reason why they are called politicians Edited December 3, 2012 by Sosaria Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tonyhawk 1st Gear December 3, 2012 Share December 3, 2012 sadly, from this thread alone, we continue to close our eyes and ears. we only see what we want to see. and hear what we choose to hear. worse of all, so many say only what they want to say, without thinking about what they are saying. its not a forum, when we've all made up our minds. i need a beer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hondacub777 6th Gear December 3, 2012 Share December 3, 2012 Oppo politicians now quickly change their tune... I remember that just some time ago, they were also arguing against bringing in too many foreigners, and wanting all kinds of "differentiation" between citizens and foreigners?? Why now sing a different song? There's good reason why they are called politicians Whahahahaha! Good one! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged December 3, 2012 Share December 3, 2012 End of the day, it's a demand-and-supply, market forces thingy... singaporean drivers (ideally, preferred), very few want to take up the job - so, paid more to attract... malaysian drivers getting lesser these days, so need to pay more too... PRC drivers?? many, many of them just waiting to come over - so why pay more than necessary? Nevertheless I'd prefer a system of recruiting and paying drivers according to proven ability and minimum set of skills... e.g. basic english - which PRC drivers or any other nationality, must meet, before they can be hired at the same salary and benefits. I like these last two sentences... If recruit in China, offering the same pay as Singaporeans, what sort of quality would you get? Can maybe expect Uni Grad , fluent in english.... Maybe ex-prison bus drivers, or celebrity chaffeurs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myxilplix Turbocharged December 3, 2012 Share December 3, 2012 sadly, from this thread alone, we continue to close our eyes and ears. we only see what we want to see. and hear what we choose to hear. worse of all, so many say only what they want to say, without thinking about what they are saying. its not a forum, when we've all made up our minds. i need a beer. Well said. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moredhel 2nd Gear December 3, 2012 Share December 3, 2012 Respect the author. Style of writing not really my cup of tea. The points he brings across are very real and any self-respecting Singaporean who has the ability to think for himself and look at the wider spectrum will recognise the validity of his concerns. One point I would like to highlight is the tripartite structure in SG. In this unique model, there is no mitigating force on the side of the workers. What is worse is that the very organisation that was created to champion the rights and safeguard against exploitation of workers are the very ones running like a coporate entity and passing the buck when an issue like this surfaces. One interesting point I would take note of is the author's outright accusations of industry leaders taking a position of ignorance, wilfulness and fabrication. Knowing the ease and readiness of these persons to employ legal opression against individuals speaking out against them or their hard-line 'policies', I am inclined to believe that the author has enough evidence to counterclaim any denials or 'injuries of reputations' accusations made against him. All in all, a very interesting read. out against Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasonjst 3rd Gear December 3, 2012 Share December 3, 2012 to those who rejoice, don't be the proverbial duckling who kept egging the duck farmer to slaughter the grown ducks. one day, the farmer might just come for you. The best thing is the Sinkie Ducks cant even "quck" already kena slaughter . ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...