Bus fares going up

Mllcg

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1241420/1/.html

SINGAPORE: Transport Minister Lui Tuck Yew said on Thursday public transport fare adjustments, due next year, will take into account the need to raise bus drivers' wages.

Mr Lui was speaking for the first time in the aftermath of the illegal strike by bus drivers from China last week, and said public transport cost increases over the years have outpaced fare adjustments.

He was trying out the route of a new service on Thursday under the government's billion-dollar Bus Service Enhancement Programme.

Mr Lui said the 34 Chinese bus drivers out of work from SMRT due to the strike make up only about 0.5 per cent of the total pool of 8,000-odd drivers.

Therefore, the impact on bus enhancements should be minimal.

What's of concern, however, is the lingering effect of the strike on recruitment and retention of bus drivers, and Mr Lui said the government is watching this carefully.

Looking at public transport fare adjustments of past years, Mr Lui said while fares have increased by 0.3 per cent, costs in fuel and wages for instance have gone up by 30 per cent.

He said the fare review committee recognises this "significant mismatch".

Mr Lui said: "Any fare adjustment will allow the two operators to have more resources, in time to come, to make further salary adjustments to their drivers. We recognise that the drivers need to be paid more. (The) question is, where is that money coming from?

"So we need to see the relationship between any fare adjustment, wage increase, and any other forms of government support that we might be required to give to the operators."

Mr Lui said it is difficult to wean dependence off foreign bus drivers as Singaporeans may not want to take up the job.

So salary adjustments, at least, will make the occupation more attractive to locals.

He said previous salary adjustments have helped to increase the recruitment of drivers, both local and foreign.

When asked whether SMRT should face any penalty as a result of the strike, Mr Lui said the operator will be evaluated according to quality of service standards.

Impact on bus services as a result of the two-day strike will be taken into account.

Mr Lui said he also spoke to SMRT's Chief Executive Desmond Kuek on the strike, and said the organisation needs to improve in many areas.

He said Mr Kuek needs to be given time to turn things around.

From December 16, two new SBS Transit bus services will start plying under the Bus Service Enhancement Programme.

Service 50, which will start service on December 16, will cover Ang Mo Kio, Yio Chu Kang, Sengkang and Punggol.

Express Service 513 will start on December 17, connecting residents of Tampines to the Central Business District. This service only runs during the morning and evening peak period on weekdays.

In addition, four new bus services will be added to the bus network in the first quarter of 2013.

Three of them come under the government's enhancement programme, while the other is a trunk service by SBS Transit at its own cost.

Which company enjoy so much support?

Got government sponsor buying of buses, got consumers to pay for salaries. Then the profits line the pockets of the shareholders, who are.... Sigh...

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1241420/1/.html

Mr Lui said: "Any fare adjustment will allow the two operators to have more resources, in time to come, to make further salary adjustments to their drivers. We recognise that the drivers need to be paid more. (The) question is, where is that money coming from?

Mr Lui and many top executive seems to conveniently forget or ignore Prof Lim Chong Yah recent Shock Therapy recommendation. It can comes from the mega increments that the Top Executive are rewarding themselves during both difficult and good times. I know is a wait long long situation.

Whoa! New buses sponsored by our tax payers' $$$ and now considering increasing fares to cover the drivers' increment..........must quickly buy these transport companies' shares liao.......financial report should be tok-kong!!!

why two private companies need a transport minister to announce a price increase, they scare people throw egg at them but people won't throw egg at a minister?

i said but its the lesser minority [lipsrsealed]

Recently got go into JB and buy groceries boh? I looked at the LTA camera and got to give up the idea of going in for shopping and makan.......... [laugh]

Whoa! New buses sponsored by our tax payers' $$$ and now considering increasing fares to cover the drivers' increment..........must quickly buy these transport companies' shares liao.......financial report should be tok-kong!!!

Bro, long time ago I already saw this, I bought Liao! Song song every year enjoy 4-5%. I mean which safe investment will yield you 4-5%. Smrt wont pork one! Behind got garmen sarpork! Even cpf only 2.6% nia! Put in bank can [bigcry] man! You put in what endowment fund also lock down 5 years :wacko: Now they increase, I :D huat ah!!!!

Now the price drop a bit, if got a bit of excess cash, put in mrt share, better than you put in bank <_< that time, mrt whole day picha, I diam diam bought a bit because I know garmen sure come and and sarpork one [inlove]

Now, if they can reduce their mgt cost, dividend go up 6-7%, I will [bounce1]

why two private companies need a transport minister to announce a price increase, they scare people throw egg at them but people won't throw egg at a minister?

More like the mini-star telling the companies to go apply for fare increase....... <_<

Good observation but then again, I think all previous increases have been announced by the minister, right?

Edited by Toothiewabbit