13177 Hypersonic August 17, 2017 Share August 17, 2017 No choice. We really only have 1 life to live. Either accept it positively and do the best possible under the circumstances and whatever is left, or sink further. Have to say it takes a lot of control to blank out negative thoughts. Not easy to blank out negative thoughts, fear and anxiety one has when faced with such circumstances. Also not easy to adapt to totally new environment and way of living if a person lose the ability to see and walk. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 17, 2017 Share August 17, 2017 (edited) Not easy to blank out negative thoughts, fear and anxiety one has when faced with such circumstances. Also not easy to adapt to totally new environment and way of living if a person lose the ability to see and walk. yeah man, all these are very basic things to our quality of life. Frankly, I don't think I will have such mental fortitude/acceptance. Haha probably end up with a bitter as hell attitude Edited August 17, 2017 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jellandross Supersonic August 17, 2017 Share August 17, 2017 http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/jason-chee-medal-winning-para-athlete-loses-right-eye-to-cancer-9129602 Jason Chee. Unfortunately he lost his Right eye to cancer. This guy really has it damn tough. But he's still fighting on with 1 Limb, 1 eye. It really takes a lot of grit to be able to overcome this man. RESPECT! I'm ashamed to admit that I'm not 100% confident that I'll be as courageous as Jason if I'm facing the same circumstances. Double whammy no less. Thanks for posting this inspirational article. Makes all our first world problems seem so laughable when compared with this man's tribulation. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged August 17, 2017 Share August 17, 2017 Go for that medal, Jason! For that lost right eye. He is already a champion even without a medal. When one treasures the little things around him/her, only then will one realize how much one has. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic August 17, 2017 Share August 17, 2017 yeah man, all these are very basic things to our quality of life. Frankly, I don't think I will have such mental fortitude/acceptance. Haha probably end up with a bitter as hell attitude Definitely not easy and many cant do it de, imagine all the very basic things that you have and suddenly all are or most are taken away, how to continue to live sia?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator August 17, 2017 Share August 17, 2017 I'm ashamed to admit that I'm not 100% confident that I'll be as courageous as Jason if I'm facing the same circumstances. Double whammy no less. Thanks for posting this inspirational article. Makes all our first world problems seem so laughable when compared with this man's tribulation. You are not alone, think the majority of us, me included wont be as courageous cos its very easy to sink into negative thoughts, why me mentality. Yes, makes me think again before I start to kpkb on small issues n will use Jason's plight as a motivating factor to shut my mouth n may God bless him! 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RH1667 Hypersonic August 17, 2017 Share August 17, 2017 He should be made a motivational speaker! Hope he have a easier time and this will be his last negative event in life. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic August 17, 2017 Share August 17, 2017 You are not alone, think the majority of us, me included wont be as courageous cos its very easy to sink into negative thoughts, why me mentality. Yes, makes me think again before I start to kpkb on small issues n will use Jason's plight as a motivating factor to shut my mouth n may God bless him! Agreed, we really can use his plight to remind ourselves we are much blessed than him, we should not always kpkb over trivial matters. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator August 17, 2017 Share August 17, 2017 (edited) I really admire the courage Jason exhibited when facing such tough situations. These 2 Chinese saying just come to my mind: 1. 祸不单行 (Mishap comes in pair) 2. 大难不死,必有后福 (A person shall enjoy blessing after a major disaster) Now that the first one come true, I sincerely hope he can pull through the tough time and live in blessing from now... All the best Jason! You have the support of all Singaporean!! Edited August 17, 2017 by Carbon82 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged August 17, 2017 Share August 17, 2017 Agreed, we really can use his plight to remind ourselves we are much blessed than him, we should not always kpkb over trivial matters. So we start to build the Singapore kampong spirit here? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic August 17, 2017 Share August 17, 2017 So we start to build the Singapore kampong spirit here? I think nowadays life is too stress liao, not easy to build kampong spirit. Even you want, others might also dont want. Lol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 17, 2017 Share August 17, 2017 I think nowadays life is too stress liao, not easy to build kampong spirit. Even you want, others might also dont want. Lol. I also don't care about kampong spirit hehe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic August 17, 2017 Share August 17, 2017 I don't have the courage like him. With or without the medal, he already is a champion. He live the life he wants for himself to look back when he is old, not for any medals. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged August 17, 2017 Share August 17, 2017 I think nowadays life is too stress liao, not easy to build kampong spirit. Even you want, others might also dont want. Lol. Kampong spirit also part of the food we eat leh. Nowadays very hard to find satay that taste like those found in kampongs. That's what I call kampong spirit (prata also) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic August 17, 2017 Share August 17, 2017 He is the real Singapore Spirit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rollagt 5th Gear August 18, 2017 Share August 18, 2017 These few days feel very lousy in terms of work..when I read the article yesterday, I feel so so ashamed of myself ! It sort of wake me up literally from all the negative feelings that I had accumlated. If I am God, I will be very angry..coz I had failed to put him down. To add, apart from his schedule, he is still preparing meals, yes! prepare meals for his elderly father. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic August 18, 2017 Share August 18, 2017 (edited) These few days feel very lousy in terms of work..when I read the article yesterday, I feel so so ashamed of myself ! It sort of wake me up literally from all the negative feelings that I had accumlated. If I am God, I will be very angry..coz I had failed to put him down. To add, apart from his schedule, he is still preparing meals, yes! prepare meals for his elderly father. Should ask all those lousy people to read his article, since nowadays most people either like to kpkb about their life or not happy with the people around them. But these people dont know at least they are living with a full intact body, should contented of what we have now. Edited August 18, 2017 by 13177 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aventador 6th Gear August 18, 2017 Share August 18, 2017 (edited) This guy is a real Man compared to those people who stare stare and come out of car to fight and those kwa simi lan chiao type to prove their manhood .... and compare to the tuition centre fella who bang old man at the hawker centre, hahahaha have to salute this Man Edited August 18, 2017 by Aventador ↡ Advertisement 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...