Merging Lane

Bryankoh

Normally, I will move on for minor issues that happens on the road. However, I was horned twice on the same road and similar situation that make me wonder what is wrong.

The road is Ang Mo Kio Ave 1 right turn into CTE. I have removed sound for the later part of the video because I have a bad morning and scolded some vulgar word.

Look at the video and give me your view.

I think TS you are basically ok. The white car behind is just a prick.

Anyway, if u are one of the more situationally aware drivers, I would suggest when u encounter such a situation next time, and u can see the rear car driving so "urgently" some distance back, then either speed up a bit or where possible, keep more to th left to allow bypass.

But I fully agree u are under no obligation to do so if u don't want to. Sometimes, just sometimes, it might be an emergency.

how i hoped that suzuki crossed the chevron when watching the video.

THEN CAN SUBMIT TO LTA !

some people just dunwna to queue up properly one .

if got time to horn = not fast enuf to overtake la

if 200hbp, already zoom passed,

maybe TS camera only can capture the smoke.

TS, i think you no wrong.

after merging u should slowly slowly move... make him more du lan.

Bro u mean 200bhp. ..lol or 200high blood pressure. . Just pulling ur leg.cheers ..i think this kind of situation u need high torque rather then hp.

Edited by Boo_saa

which country's logic.....?

no wonder i always kena horned, cos i never jam brake.

of cos i not refering to your reply la....

(refering to the give way to the right???? )

Lol

No need jam brake, just slow down when they horn and high beam due to impatient is enough to make them 200 hbp... [laugh]

To those who agree that vehicle on the right side of a merging lane has "right of way", please note that it shd be "any vehicles on merging lane has right of way "To Merge Into A Single Lane in Alternate Sequence".

i tell you why those people say vehicle on the right side has 'right of way'...

because the arrow on the ground on the merging lane, the right side arrow is in front of the left side arrow... [laugh]

Guess these pple nvr OPEN their eyes cos there are times when left arrow appears before the right. Or maybe they are unaware that they have spatial disability?

I forking like that...hahaha

Bro u mean 200bhp. ..lol or 200high blood pressure. . Just pulling ur leg.cheers ..i think this kind of situation u need high torque rather then hp.

Opps.

Cheers.

Guys... I need to ask. At the merging lane into expressway, for example, who has the way? Actually it doesn't really matter, I damn tulan to encounter quite a few times some idiotic drivers do not have to either speed up or slow down to let you enter into the road when I come from the slip road. they will coincide together with my car.

In principle, those on the expressway have right of way. The kiasu/kiasi/kuailan ones will die die want you to be behind them and once you filter behind, 99% sure their brake light glow.

I learn to live with it lor, just flick signal stick, adjust speed, make or find lobang and merge lor. [laugh]

From slip road to expressway is not considered merging ; you are trying to join the expressway. Of course the car in the expressway has the right of way la.

Judgement is key here; if car is approaching fast you reduce speed and join behind him. If car is slow you pick up speed and join in front of him. But no matter what situation , ALWAYS signal you intention.

expressway always got right way of course. even at a standstill and some people dont want to let you through, just wind down window and straight away signal and thank the person. always works for me to merge.

dont be ks and go allllll the way to the end and try to force your way ... then it becomes clash of ego.

expressway always got right way of course. even at a standstill and some people dont want to let you through, just wind down window and straight away signal and thank the person. always works for me to merge.

dont be ks and go allllll the way to the end and try to force your way ... then it becomes clash of ego.

I don't mind they go first. Sometimes damn tulan, I slow down liao, then the other car also slow down next to me... Nbz...

That one is either basket driver or situational awareness fail. after all, if traffic is so bad, let 1 car in also wont even make a difference lo. but people fail to see this of course

a driver that force entry last min is an idiot..

so is a driver that kiasu to change lane at the immediate point where the chevron ends..

E.g. PIE join CTE.. I cannot understand why drivers cannot just cruise and adjust the speed and change lane.. always got kuku come to a stop once the chevron ends and force themselve to the right lane to join CTE..

end up pile up everywhere...

maybe he see you trying so hard so slow down to let you cut in? just so happen it happen at the same time you decided to slow down??

Merging lane really that difficult to give way? twice i took the same route and twice i encounter drivers who die die don't wanna give way.

was going up to join AYE towards MCE along keppel viaduct. the right 2 lanes will merge to go up to AYE. i was on lane 1 and this black vios was on lane 2. on seeing that the taxi (in front of the black vios) in lane 2 went ahead, i accelerated to go behind the taxi (zipper lane rules, no?)

so this black vios buay song and goes to the left and cuts his way to front just to take back "his spot" in the queue. then after i let him in, he cuts across double white line to shoot straight to lane 1 (where theres a slight hold up cause of a hogger in front).

so i just continued on my way on lane 3. and when i exited at rochor, he ended up arriving behind me like what, 10 seconds later? wanna win that one spot in traffic but end up he was slower. [knife]

thinking if i should send the video to TP so can treat him some points for his stellar driving skills.

other than crossing double white line which is 4 points, what else can he be faulted for? obstructing traffic since the rest of us already formed up? i have the video but the memory stick is still in the camera. forgot to take. will retrieve it tmr.

edited for clarity

Edited by Eighttales

Merging lane really that difficult to give way? twice i took the same route and twice i encounter drivers who die die don't wanna give way.

was going up to join AYE towards MCE along keppel viaduct. the right 2 lanes will merge to go up to AYE. i was on lane 1 and this black vios was on lane 2. on seeing that the taxi in lane 2 went ahead, i accelerated to go behind the taxi (zipper lane rules, no?)

so this black vios buay song and goes to the left and cuts his way to front just to take back "his spot" in the queue. then after i let him in, he cuts across double white line to shoot straight to lane 1 (where theres a slight hold up cause of a hogger in front).

so i just continued on my way on lane 3. and when i exited at rochor, he ended up arriving behind me like what, 10 seconds later? wanna win that one spot in traffic but yet so slow. [knife]

thinking if i should send the video to TP so can treat him some points for his stellar driving skills.

other than crossing double white line which is 4 points, what else can he be faulted for? obstructing traffic since the rest of us already formed up? i have the video but the memory stick is still in the camera. forgot to take. will retrieve it tmr.

Please send to TP [thumbsup]