Angcheek Hypersonic January 7, 2013 Share January 7, 2013 The COE plunged because gahmen changed the policy to allow flooding of COE. Do you think they will make the same mistake again? the change in COE policy was done doing lau Goh's time. Mainly to entice for vote some said ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thedream 3rd Gear January 7, 2013 Share January 7, 2013 abit extreme to say that decentralise means must have offices directly next to residential buildings leh.. places like Seletar Aerospace Hub and Changi Business parks are good examples. They are away from CBD and not too near to residential areas. Im sure there's other places we can explore for this. *like* Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged January 7, 2013 Share January 7, 2013 Iskandar ? Can? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged January 7, 2013 Share January 7, 2013 Yes but requires careful and long term planning. Trust me, if commercial buildings are to be located in housing estate, other sets of problems and complains will set in , like over-crowdedness, increase of food prices and rentals, noise and polution, road congestion, delivery trucks and lorries in vicinity etc . Just imagine, a commercial building is erected right in front or beside your flat, or a school (think safety), and the domitories ... if one studies civil engineering, can understand that buildings have to integrate ino the surrounding landscape and not stick out like a sore tree. You are right...there will be another group of complaints. Some will even complaint that such city planning make them drive further to work. Can't expect everyone to be working for a company, near his home for life. Surely, at some point people will change job or move house. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unfair 3rd Gear January 7, 2013 Share January 7, 2013 Stop idiots driving company goods vehicles home. Simply by not letting them buy season parking.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angcheek Hypersonic January 7, 2013 Share January 7, 2013 Can? ofcouse can ..... but I dont think gohment will chop off their money tree 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rezorn86 3rd Gear January 7, 2013 Share January 7, 2013 (edited) The COE plunged because gahmen changed the policy to allow flooding of COE. Do you think they will make the same mistake again? 50/50, sihoryi price shoot too high may not be in their advantage. so i think in the future no matter what plan they have, soon nor later will still drop. Edited January 7, 2013 by Rezorn86 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged January 7, 2013 Share January 7, 2013 Won't drop unless big recession or garmen sees this as a erection topic Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thedream 3rd Gear January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 You are right...there will be another group of complaints. Some will even complaint that such city planning make them drive further to work. Can't expect everyone to be working for a company, near his home for life. Surely, at some point people will change job or move house. it should be up to everyone whether they want to stay near their workplace, but I think the majority would. Moving to decentralisation in a big way can and should include incentives for people to stay near their workplace, e.g. priority housing, grants, subsidies, even for the employers. There'll be more than enough for this since much less would be needed to widen roads, buy buses / trains, etc. This is one extra step that's missing in the decentralisation being done today. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Warthog Clutched January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 Build a 2nd CBD at Punggol and take will release some commuting pressure. It is ironic. CBD surrounding areas mainly occupied by old folks who are not working. Outskirts occupied by young working adults who need to go to CBD. Government don't address this problem, instead they are tackling the symptoms which is peak hour jams. (Ang mo yio - English medicine). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 You are right...there will be another group of complaints. Some will even complaint that such city planning make them drive further to work. Can't expect everyone to be working for a company, near his home for life. Surely, at some point people will change job or move house. To me this is the biggest issue. Housing in Singapore is not very "mobile". Most people stay one house for most of their lives. At least the current CBD is realtively central. I can't imagine what would happen if you start getting people criss-crossing the island for work, nor what it would be like if you had to go from Jurong to Changi for work or similar. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cars08 1st Gear January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 Build a 2nd CBD at Punggol and take will release some commuting pressure. It is ironic. CBD surrounding areas mainly occupied by old folks who are not working. Outskirts occupied by young working adults who need to go to CBD. Government don't address this problem, instead they are tackling the symptoms which is peak hour jams. (Ang mo yio - English medicine). U say that bcos u stay in Punggol.... property appreciation is what u r looking for more than convenient...why dont u suggest woodlands which is nearer to JB and cheaper labour available? Jurong also possible venue for a 2nd CBD or Ang Mo Kio.... If u not happy staying in Punggol bcos u work in CBD, then u could relocate nearer. Why stay there? Who says CBD is surrounded by old folks who are not working? Any proof? U hv issue w old folks issit? cant they enjoy the facilities in town? Walking along Raffles place look at the stock chart board makes u jealous issit? Bear in mind u will one day be like them..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thedream 3rd Gear January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 U say that bcos u stay in Punggol.... property appreciation is what u r looking for more than convenient...why dont u suggest woodlands which is nearer to JB and cheaper labour available? Jurong also possible venue for a 2nd CBD or Ang Mo Kio.... If u not happy staying in Punggol bcos u work in CBD, then u could relocate nearer. Why stay there? Who says CBD is surrounded by old folks who are not working? Any proof? U hv issue w old folks issit? cant they enjoy the facilities in town? Walking along Raffles place look at the stock chart board makes u jealous issit? Bear in mind u will one day be like them..... Almost any estate can have work areas. I don't think there's a need to limit to only a 2nd CBD. Just having one CBD is itself a cause of why people cannot relocate nearer - Just on the west, estates like Tiong Bahru, Redhill, and even Queenstown as so much more expensive than in the outskirts. And this leads on to probably the 2nd biggest problem we have today - Housing is (artificially) inflated because the demand is high around the CBD. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thedream 3rd Gear January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 To me this is the biggest issue. Housing in Singapore is not very "mobile". Most people stay one house for most of their lives. At least the current CBD is realtively central. I can't imagine what would happen if you start getting people criss-crossing the island for work, nor what it would be like if you had to go from Jurong to Changi for work or similar. I think this is just the mindset today. If the authorities really move to decentralisation in a big way, they would give benefits to people and even companies for locating near to one another. They need to see that this is money better spent than buying more buses and running trains till they konk out... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 Build a 2nd CBD at Punggol and take will release some commuting pressure. It is ironic. CBD surrounding areas mainly occupied by old folks who are not working. Outskirts occupied by young working adults who need to go to CBD. Government don't address this problem, instead they are tackling the symptoms which is peak hour jams. (Ang mo yio - English medicine). Even if i assume that your "irony" is correct, you make it sound as if this was someone's fault and that it was designed to be this way. The old folks who are staying near CBD area have probably been there for long time liao - before the CBD is what the CBD is today. Whereas new towns like punggol will of course have more young people as they start to leave their homes to setup up their own. So unless the old folks decide to cash out their CBD properties, they will remain the "natives" of CBD. This irony as you call it is a normal result. Are you suggesting that the govt forces these old folks out so that the young folks can move in as a way of "addressing this problem"? What kind of message does that send? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Warthog Clutched January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 U say that bcos u stay in Punggol.... property appreciation is what u r looking for more than convenient...why dont u suggest woodlands which is nearer to JB and cheaper labour available? Jurong also possible venue for a 2nd CBD or Ang Mo Kio.... If u not happy staying in Punggol bcos u work in CBD, then u could relocate nearer. Why stay there? Who says CBD is surrounded by old folks who are not working? Any proof? U hv issue w old folks issit? cant they enjoy the facilities in town? Walking along Raffles place look at the stock chart board makes u jealous issit? Bear in mind u will one day be like them..... Wrong assumption. 1) I don't stay in outskirts. 2) I don't work in CBD. 3) I belong to the era that old folks must always be respected even when they are wrong. Don't try to typecast me. I am just suggesting that there is a need for decentralisation and you think I am a conceited, self-serving youngster who probably lives in Punggol hoping for some appreciation for my estate there. Not everyone in the forum is self-serving, as you get older, you realise that society is more important than just yourself. I am suggesting that a redesign/modification on work place and home will be the solution of the future instead of more roads, more ERPS, COE measures and counter-measures. If you disagree, continue to roll your eyes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BoneStock 5th Gear January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 Hi all COE prices has been expanding upwards. I was wondering whether these prices are really sustainable. Will the bubble burst? Based on this the prices should start easing next year. http://motoring.asiaone.com/print/Motoring...914-299419.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cars08 1st Gear January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 Wrong assumption. 1) I don't stay in outskirts. 2) I don't work in CBD. 3) I belong to the era that old folks must always be respected even when they are wrong. Don't try to typecast me. I am just suggesting that there is a need for decentralisation and you think I am a conceited, self-serving youngster who probably lives in Punggol hoping for some appreciation for my estate there. Not everyone in the forum is self-serving, as you get older, you realise that society is more important than just yourself. I am suggesting that a redesign/modification on work place and home will be the solution of the future instead of more roads, more ERPS, COE measures and counter-measures. If you disagree, continue to roll your eyes. It shld be as u get older, u realise that your family is more important than just yourself...what society...Im no hero or great politician...I am jus an ordinary folk...but u hv an issue w older folks issit? Or u find them an eye sore? Perhaps u shld clarify on this...Damn man...I hope u dun grow old... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...