Jusnel 6th Gear January 19, 2017 Share January 19, 2017 $10K rebate about $1K per year ... this one still quite ok $15K rebate = $1.5K per year ... this one quite lugi leh assuming $15K rebate car the road tax probably below or $1K-ish nia its better for us to get the road tax rebate than the current CEV system. We get the benefit directly. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic January 19, 2017 Share January 19, 2017 its better for us to get the road tax rebate than the current CEV system. We get the benefit directly. How about penalty? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jusnel 6th Gear January 19, 2017 Share January 19, 2017 How about penalty? Penalty? Charge higher road tax lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic January 19, 2017 Share January 19, 2017 Agree. Road tax based on engine capacity is Archaic to say the least in the modern motoring world... All these CEVS/Cat A(bhp categories) are just a feeble attempt to patch work the Road Tax system. for eg, Rx8 --> 1.3L roadtax? modern 1.2L twin charge engines hybrid engines? full electric cars? Penalty? Charge higher road tax lor 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic January 19, 2017 Share January 19, 2017 I may have a different view. The road tax policy used to work. Then the Europeans went one up on the Asians. See how many of the Thai and Korean cars are using engine tech from ten years ago. Now a tiny 1.0t from Opel or Ford can power a small car. Very impressive. There's no definitive challenge from the Asians, at least not locally. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freeder Hypersonic January 19, 2017 Share January 19, 2017 My wild guess based on past 2 rounds of CEVS announcement (which is based on just CO2 emission). Rebates Band A1 [up to 90g/Km] -$30K Band A2 [91 - 100g/Km] -$15K Band A3 [101 - 115g/Km] -$10K Band A4 [116 - 130g/Km] -$5K Neutral Band B [131 - 170g/Km] $0 Surcharges Band C1 [171 - 185g/Km] +$5K Band C2 [186 - 200g/Km] +$10K Band C3 [201 - 215g/Km] +$15K Band C4 [Above 215g/km] +30K So bro, say I want to buy a BMW 116d , should I buy it now or after budget announcement? Price will be up or down ? 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic January 19, 2017 Share January 19, 2017 How about penalty? Penalty is added on to the cost of the car anyway. The AD passes the full cost to us liao. So no change required. For rebate, need to think. Cos small cc cars with less than $1000 road tax per year won't be able to utilise the full rebate of say $10k if they are entitled to it 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator January 19, 2017 Share January 19, 2017 We need more than just a review on CEVS or road tax scheme, but an overhaul of the vehicle tax system. We could probably just have a road tax structure that is based on CO2 emission (and other emission criteria if needed), and do away totally with CEVS scheme. I find it absurd to link engine capacity to vehicle size and not to mention basing on that to decide the road tax amount. Imagine a 4.8m Ford Mondeo 1.0 (if it ever reach our shore) paying "just" $392p.a., vs BMW M140i 3.0 paying $2,384p.a. And with the added complexity of ARF (PARF upon deregistration), the current system is not going to help the country much in moving towards lowering emission and pollution. Imagine for those with super lower PARF of $2.5K, it make more $en$e to renew COE when their first 10 years is up, than to spend 10 of thousands more to get a new ride (just to save that $2.5K). 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator January 19, 2017 Share January 19, 2017 So bro, say I want to buy a BMW 116d , should I buy it now or after budget announcement? Price will be up or down ? Anytime, and you will still be screwed (by the revised diesel tax, which is speculated to come this year). But if you are referring to upfront car cost, MIGHT be better to do it now, as once revised CEVS is announced, there will some KCS (sorry, I don't mean to insult them) will rush in to buy their "dream" car, before CEVS is reduced, thereby sending the COE premium and car price up. My usual advice is just buy when you are comfortable with the price and ownership cost. There are hardly a best time for car purchase, especially if you have a car to trade-in (buy high sell high, buy low sell low). 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newbie26 Hypersonic January 19, 2017 Share January 19, 2017 Its psychological Buy low sell low feels better than Buy High sell high Because the selling part will be quickly forgotten and people only ask what price u buy for the new car Anytime, and you will still be screwed (by the revised diesel tax, which is speculated to come this year). But if you are referring to upfrontcar cost, MIGHT be better to do it now, as once revised CEVS is announced, there will some KCS (sorry, I don't mean to insult them) will rush in to buy their "dream" car, before CEVS is reduced, thereby sending the COE premium and car price up. My usual advice is just buy when you are comfortable with the price and ownership cost. There are hardly a best time for car purchase, especially if you have a car to trade-in (buy high sell high, buy low sell low). 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elpp10 1st Gear January 22, 2017 Share January 22, 2017 Lta could just change the road tax to be based on carbon emissions, like UK Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
fungyee77 5th Gear January 26, 2017 Share January 26, 2017 Lta could just change the road tax to be based on carbon emissions, like UKAgree. My issue with the CEVs is that it is a bit mischievous by design. For me, the main cost consideration is depreciation per year. In that respect, a $15k surcharge increases my depreciation per year by $1.5k but a $15k rebate only decreases my depreciation per year by $7.5k or less (due to reduction of PARF and minimum PARF value). Clearly not equal. It's like a half hearted rebate. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic January 26, 2017 Share January 26, 2017 Your estimates are based on assumption that the CEVs rebate gets passed on to you in full. If your selling price has been massaged by the AD to "share in" your CEVs rebate (Ah gong money... No.. In fact is YOUR OWN MONEY), your depreciation will be higher given a similar car without the rebate that is selling at almost the same price. Agree. My issue with the CEVs is that it is a bit mischievous by design.For me, the main cost consideration is depreciation per year.In that respect, a $15k surcharge increases my depreciation per year by $1.5k but a $15k rebate only decreases my depreciation per year by $7.5k or less (due to reduction of PARF and minimum PARF value). Clearly not equal.It's like a half hearted rebate. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
fungyee77 5th Gear January 26, 2017 Share January 26, 2017 Your estimates are based on assumption that the CEVs rebate gets passed on to you in full. If your selling price has been massaged by the AD to "share in" your CEVs rebate (Ah gong money... No.. In fact is YOUR OWN MONEY), your depreciation will be higher given a similar car without the rebate that is selling at almost the same price.That's a fair point. The Prius is the classic case in point. After CEVs, it's almost the same price as the Altis, but BM is selling it at $30k more. That's a real problem but it's a different problem. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic February 14, 2017 Share February 14, 2017 Agree. My issue with the CEVs is that it is a bit mischievous by design. For me, the main cost consideration is depreciation per year. In that respect, a $15k surcharge increases my depreciation per year by $1.5k but a $15k rebate only decreases my depreciation per year by $7.5k or less (due to reduction of PARF and minimum PARF value). Clearly not equal. It's like a half hearted rebate. There's no gahmen rebate in CEVS rebate. It's ownself rebate ownself. That's probably the most cockanathan 'green car' policy in the world. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic February 14, 2017 Share February 14, 2017 Agree. My issue with the CEVs is that it is a bit mischievous by design. For me, the main cost consideration is depreciation per year. In that respect, a $15k surcharge increases my depreciation per year by $1.5k but a $15k rebate only decreases my depreciation per year by $7.5k or less (due to reduction of PARF and minimum PARF value). Clearly not equal. It's like a half hearted rebate. Surcharge will increase depreciation by 1.5k per annum. 15K rebate will decrease depreciation by 1.5k per annum Any less than 1.5k reduction means than dealer makan the diff liao It has nothing to do with LTA. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TangoElite 6th Gear February 14, 2017 Share February 14, 2017 Surcharge will increase depreciation by 1.5k per annum. 15K rebate will decrease depreciation by 1.5k per annum Any less than 1.5k reduction means than dealer makan the diff liao It has nothing to do with LTA. 15k rebate will only decrease depreciation by $750 per annum because rebate is taken off ARF, therefore PARF rebate is 50% lesser. therefore impact of surcharge and rebate is not like for like, skewed policy 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic February 14, 2017 Share February 14, 2017 15k rebate will only decrease depreciation by $750 per annum because rebate is taken off ARF, therefore PARF rebate is 50% lesser. therefore impact of surcharge and rebate is not like for like, skewed policy In that case, surcharge will also subject ot 50% PARF rebate. Therefore additional depreciation is also $750 only ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...