CEVS ....

Civic6228

wah, this thread i read till  [dizzy]

ok, simple layman question. 

OMV $15,000

CEVS $10,000

How much do I get when I drive full 10 years & scrap ?

KUM SIA 

$2500.  [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

My wild guess based on past 2 rounds of CEVS announcement (which is based on just CO2 emission).

Rebates

Band A1 [up to 90g/Km] -$30K

Band A2 [91 - 100g/Km] -$15K

Band A3 [101 - 115g/Km] -$10K

Band A4 [116 - 130g/Km] -$5K

Neutral

Band B   [131 - 170g/Km] $0

Surcharges

Band C1 [171 - 185g/Km] +$5K

Band C2 [186 - 200g/Km] +$10K

Band C3 [201 - 215g/Km] +$15K

Band C4 [Above 215g/km] +30K

For transparency on this CEVS rebate, it should be a cheque direct from LTA, not blended into the selling price of the car.

another better way is to give road tax rebate to the owner.

WHATEVER LA ...

CEVS "rebate" is dealer profit margin ...

car selling price is SAME SAME BUT DIFFERENT ! LOL

Dealer can give back to us as "Discount".

Dealer can keep it as "margin"

What to do.  It is not worth it to self import.

$10K rebate about $1K per year ... this one still quite ok

$15K rebate = $1.5K per year ... this one quite lugi leh assuming $15K rebate car the road tax probably below or $1K-ish nia

another better way is to give road tax rebate to the owner.

$10K rebate about $1K per year ... this one still quite ok

$15K rebate = $1.5K per year ... this one quite lugi leh assuming $15K rebate car the road tax probably below or $1K-ish nia

its better for us to get the road tax rebate than the current CEV system.  We get the benefit directly. 

Agree. Road tax based on engine capacity is Archaic to say the least in the modern motoring world...

All these CEVS/Cat A(bhp categories) are just a feeble attempt to patch work the Road Tax system.

for eg, Rx8 --> 1.3L roadtax? 

modern 1.2L twin charge engines

hybrid engines?

full electric cars?

Penalty?  

Charge higher road tax lor

I may have a different view.

The road tax policy used to work. Then the Europeans went one up on the Asians. See how many of the Thai and Korean cars are using engine tech from ten years ago.

Now a tiny 1.0t from Opel or Ford can power a small car. Very impressive.

There's no definitive challenge from the Asians, at least not locally.

My wild guess based on past 2 rounds of CEVS announcement (which is based on just CO2 emission).

Rebates

Band A1 [up to 90g/Km] -$30K

Band A2 [91 - 100g/Km] -$15K

Band A3 [101 - 115g/Km] -$10K

Band A4 [116 - 130g/Km] -$5K

Neutral

Band B [131 - 170g/Km] $0

Surcharges

Band C1 [171 - 185g/Km] +$5K

Band C2 [186 - 200g/Km] +$10K

Band C3 [201 - 215g/Km] +$15K

Band C4 [Above 215g/km] +30K

So bro, say I want to buy a BMW 116d , should I buy it now or after budget announcement? Price will be up or down ?