Wt_know Hypersonic March 1, 2013 Share March 1, 2013 (edited) why not if no one is buying due to high downpayment and high interest rate a entry level 320i now selling $200k down to $160k in view drop of $40k coe still requires $80k downpayment interest rate also gone up from 1.88% to 3.25% and max loan is 5 years ... every month loan servicing will be very very shiong compare to previous 1.88% and can drag the loan for 10 years to lower monthly repayment. COE for cat A lowest i think it will drop till $35k & cat b around $55K, i guess it will not drop any more than tat. Edited March 1, 2013 by Wt_know ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged March 1, 2013 Share March 1, 2013 AD not stupid with their strategy. Don't forget that the last round of Cat.A price drop quite alot ~$9K++ if I remember it right. That could have driven alot of car buyers into the market. Not to mention the Monday midnight sales tactics must have secured quite alot of those 100% or high loan buyers. Cat.A therefore could have alot of backlogs to clear. Also AD will likely try very hard to secure the COEs for these group of CONFIRMED car buyers, no point to delay it because if the car buyers cannot get their COE on13March, and saw the COE dropped, it will be a disaster if many decide to cancel the deal! If the bank already approved the high or 100% loan for the buyers, it would be wise to secure the COE immediately this coming round. COE will hold for this coming round. So please don't say confirm gonna tumble. I think so too, next few COE bidding may still rise until backlog is cleared and that's when clearer picture comes into play. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged March 1, 2013 Share March 1, 2013 there is a big loop hole in the MAS new rules... whther its 50% loan, or 40%, the dealer simply up the selling price, then rebate the buyer will do.. eg, a car suppose to be sold at 80K, mark up the price to 100K, 60% loan means 40K downpayment, rebate to the customer 20K, so effective downpayment is only 20K, still too high??? mark up higher n give more rebate loh.... The only thing that will works is the new tax structure... those luxury car will suffer for sure. is it very dumb for the buyer to pay for the higher interest? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic March 1, 2013 Share March 1, 2013 (edited) Yup. Whoever has booked a new car, especially those who can afford the DP, really bang balls....minimum lose at least a Rolex for nothing. Edited March 1, 2013 by Throttle2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leepee 1st Gear March 1, 2013 Share March 1, 2013 (edited) Those current car owners, they do get back some PARF on their old cars. That will help to supplement the 50% somewhat. Pssst...tell you one secret.....many Singaporean are cash rich. This 50% downpayment is a 'one-off' matter for most cash rich car buyers. Because subsequently, when they decide to change car in 1-5 years time, the car buyers will get back all or part of the 50% in cash when they sell it away. The reason is if you take linear depreciation, the car will be worth 50% value at fifth year. And they can keep rolling in new cars using their initial 50% downpayment as buffer. In theory what they will be losing is the monthly installment paid to the banks. The system don't really need many new car owners to sustain the COE price, just need the current existing car owners to keep replacing their old cars with new cars. When gov implement 0% car growth, it will come true. even if coe drops to 30K,you think every 2 weeks there will be many people out there who can afford 50% downpayment? or do you think the same group of cash rich people every 2 weeks going to buy 1 new car? Edited March 1, 2013 by Leepee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic March 1, 2013 Share March 1, 2013 Remember the phrase that dealer use so much in the past to "scare" buyers "Buy now , dont wait, COE will continue to rise." Wonder if they will continue to use it.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged March 1, 2013 Share March 1, 2013 Those current car owners, they do get back some PARF on their old cars. That will help to supplement the 50% somewhat. Pssst...tell you one secret.....many Singaporean are cash rich. This 50% downpayment is a 'one-off' matter for most cash rich car buyers. Because subsequently, when they decide to change car in 1-5 years time, the car buyers will get back all or part of the 50% in cash when they sell it away. The reason is if you take linear depreciation, the car will still be worth 50% value. And they can keep rolling in new cars using their initial 50% downpayment as buffer. In theory what they will be losing is the monthly installment paid to the banks. Think about it. wah.. u are alive!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leepee 1st Gear March 1, 2013 Share March 1, 2013 Yes back from Limbo status. wah.. u are alive!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged March 1, 2013 Share March 1, 2013 dealers and recent buyers kena play out by govt big time...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toledo 1st Gear March 1, 2013 Share March 1, 2013 there is a big loop hole in the MAS new rules... whther its 50% loan, or 40%, the dealer simply up the selling price, then rebate the buyer will do.. eg, a car suppose to be sold at 80K, mark up the price to 100K, 60% loan means 40K downpayment, rebate to the customer 20K, so effective downpayment is only 20K, still too high??? mark up higher n give more rebate loh.... The only thing that will works is the new tax structure... those luxury car will suffer for sure. received a SMS from merc. says they maintaining price, absorbing increase in ARF. coe rebate for A & B at $78k & $90k respectively. i suspect they are using this selling price to overcome the 50% dp. how i think this will work out is this : they already factor in their cost. with rebate of 78k or 90k, it does not matter what the final coe price will be... e.g. assume c180 list price is $180k (so u can take 90k loan). if coe drop to 20k, they will refund u $58k (rebate). so net price will be $122k. u can take max loan of $90k and cough up remaining $32k dp. i may call up the SE to check if they are chuting this pattern. what do u think? [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Erykool 1st Gear March 1, 2013 Share March 1, 2013 Kia drop price for all their cars Liao.. Forte full spec $99999. Coe rebate is $60k. On its Facebook even say got special package which can have zero down payment... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic March 1, 2013 Share March 1, 2013 why not if no one is buying due to high downpayment and high interest rate a entry level 320i now selling $200k down to $160k in view drop of $40k coe still requires $80k downpayment interest rate also gone up from 1.88% to 3.25% and max loan is 5 years ... every month loan servicing will be very very shiong compare to previous 1.88% and can drag the loan for 10 years to lower monthly repayment. Can you imagine that happen to properties? Ooooh, i just love the thought of interest rate rising to 3% overnite. DP up, interest up, tax up, price can up or not? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged March 1, 2013 Share March 1, 2013 (edited) Dude , GST and income tax will kill the seller. GST will be transfered to the buyer, thats for sure. In fact, if there are so many jokers who get 10 yrs loan + 0 downpayment for the past 7- 8 yrs.... what is 7% GST? As for Income tax, it is based on net income, not selling price bro... Edited March 1, 2013 by Tigershark1976 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged March 1, 2013 Share March 1, 2013 is it very dumb for the buyer to pay for the higher interest? does that surprise you??? didnt you know that plenty of buyer doing the same thing in the 2nd and market all these while?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged March 1, 2013 Share March 1, 2013 Can you imagine that happen to properties? Ooooh, i just love the thought of interest rate rising to 3% overnite. DP up, interest up, tax up, price can up or not? i know u standby leow to snap up properties on fire sale [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leepee 1st Gear March 1, 2013 Share March 1, 2013 BRILLIENT. I know car dealers and AD minds are the best in finding loopholes and helping car buyers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged March 1, 2013 Share March 1, 2013 (edited) i thk many pple have put most of their $ into property liao, so alot living on rental income. Therefore, these same pple reserve any cash for future prop purchases, so 100% car loan is good coz they service it use their passive rental income. Now garmen pichar their lobang, they actually have to come out "retirement" n work n save $$ for car downpayment HHAHAHAA Edited March 1, 2013 by Duckduck ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...