Sdxx 1st Gear March 28, 2013 Share March 28, 2013 the assumption is wrong. each AD's profit margin and car selling price is not mutually exclusive. You are making the assumption that the AD can sell the car at the same price with higher margin, while their sales volume is not impacted, and that needs other parties on the table to play the same strategy, which is not going to happen, read more on game theory. Sorry I also don't understand what you said. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueOldMan 1st Gear March 28, 2013 Share March 28, 2013 There's nothing that states that one needs to own a car rite Even those work in sales eg Can't afford the high Coe, change job lor, will die meh? Sg is too fortunate, I rem I read a news somewhere Hk dun even have more cars than sg M I wrong? Past few mths, got a guy who jus bought his first 2nd car He was telling me, die Liao lar, the govn is forcing us out of job if can't afford the 50% DP I was like???????? No car=no job=die Liao??? Sb cute Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Camrysfa Turbocharged March 28, 2013 Share March 28, 2013 Post COE tender effect: A Jap brand 2.5L now offered at 162K ( non gteed, 6bids ). That suggests AD pricing B COE at about 72K. I think this Selling Price will dampen interest. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shadowdad 2nd Gear March 28, 2013 Share March 28, 2013 AD don't bid high can't get COE mean zero profit. No sales no money. That's why it all link. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged March 28, 2013 Share March 28, 2013 The COE system is open for all. Dealers with the best margins and biggest order book, calls the day. Blame the buyers who take their packages. As people has repeatedly mentioned, the system is set up such that it is very expensive to get a car through the ADs without a COE package. Actually this just shows how much they are making from bidding and manipulating the COE prices. Else why they so insistent that you have to buy the COE and car as a package??? they have nothing to do and want to help you bid for the COE meh???? I think this is not right. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Warthog Clutched March 28, 2013 Share March 28, 2013 Either live with the system or DIY - bid COE and parallel import your own car. Try bringing in one car for yourself, and see whether it is really worth the trouble. If it is successful, soon you can be a dealer yourself and start making money from all the moaners. Why pay 3-5 times more for a steam fish in a restaurant? Because we don't want steam it ourselves. Likewise, nobody force you to buy from dealers whether new or old. There are many choices - 1) Parallel import your own car; 2) Buy direct from owners; 3) Rent a car; 4) Public Transport. All this alternatives and government intervention will keep a check on new car prices. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forte3737 5th Gear March 28, 2013 Share March 28, 2013 As people has repeatedly mentioned, the system is set up such that it is very expensive to get a car through the ADs without a COE package. Actually this just shows how much they are making from bidding and manipulating the COE prices. Else why they so insistent that you have to buy the COE and car as a package??? they have nothing to do and want to help you bid for the COE meh???? I think this is not right. then dun buy from AD lor....they also never force you right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crazy_turtle 1st Gear March 28, 2013 Share March 28, 2013 All this COE bidding especially since the AD have so much weight, wonder if the Competition Commission of Singapore CCS has ever investigated them Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Garyyeo72 Neutral Newbie March 28, 2013 Share March 28, 2013 All this COE bidding especially since the AD have so much weight, wonder if the Competition Commission of Singapore CCS has ever investigated them It is not hurting their pockets so they where got time to probe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ictruall 5th Gear March 28, 2013 Share March 28, 2013 Hi guys, Liao ciao but quite wise juz getting on board 2 learn d ropes. Lots of good comments, some really humorous n fun 2 read. Anyway, pls also consider that ADs may b bidding high on d COEs on account of those many 2nd hand cars they took in fm selling their new cars. They r not prepared to lose 20-30k on each of their 100/200 + 2nd hand cars they took in earlier. Need to keep COEs at a reasonably high price to prevent these loses. Anyway they've using the new car buyers money to keep it at certain level at long as possible s they also know COEs will absolutely go down. Buying time also for their used cars. If we (new and used car buyers) just wait for 4-6 months or better still more, COE prices should come spiraling down. Unfortunately sure got hard up ones rushing for small deposit super years terms. But these guys dun matter new or used cars will find themselves left with cars bought at so high prices but same time cannot even let go or change without topping up their loans at anytime unless strike group 1. If got time, do your sums n you will find higher down payments and shortest possible terms once going on board, you will be able to continue for many many years. So save n tong first towards the down payment. Installment then not much diff. Nothing 100% certain, but this is one way not to get caught while more can be expected as long roads congested and prudence not at a reasonable level. Agree ? Dun agree ? Perhaps I missing something. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Garyyeo72 Neutral Newbie March 28, 2013 Share March 28, 2013 Hi guys, Liao ciao but quite wise juz getting on board 2 learn d ropes. Lots of good comments, some really humorous n fun 2 read. Anyway, pls also consider that ADs may b bidding high on d COEs on account of those many 2nd hand cars they took in fm selling their new cars. They r not prepared to lose 20-30k on each of their 100/200 + 2nd hand cars they took in earlier. Need to keep COEs at a reasonably high price to prevent these loses. Anyway they've using the new car buyers money to keep it at certain level at long as possible s they also know COEs will absolutely go down. Buying time also for their used cars. If we (new and used car buyers) just wait for 4-6 months or better still more, COE prices should come spiraling down. Unfortunately sure got hard up ones rushing for small deposit super years terms. But these guys dun matter new or used cars will find themselves left with cars bought at so high prices but same time cannot even let go or change without topping up their loans at anytime unless strike group 1. If got time, do your sums n you will find higher down payments and shortest possible terms once going on board, you will be able to continue for many many years. So save n tong first towards the down payment. Installment then not much diff. Nothing 100% certain, but this is one way not to get caught while more can be expected as long roads congested and prudence not at a reasonable level. Agree ? Dun agree ? Perhaps I missing something. +1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crazy_turtle 1st Gear March 30, 2013 Share March 30, 2013 I dont understand. The garment come up with this 'cooling' measure but not enforcing. Why still got some dealers still got lobang to get from finance houses 80% or even more loans? This time so no standard. Wanna do do properly otherwise make interest rates go higher Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bilsteiner 1st Gear March 30, 2013 Share March 30, 2013 Hi guys, Liao ciao but quite wise juz getting on board 2 learn d ropes. Lots of good comments, some really humorous n fun 2 read. Anyway, pls also consider that ADs may b bidding high on d COEs on account of those many 2nd hand cars they took in fm selling their new cars. They r not prepared to lose 20-30k on each of their 100/200 + 2nd hand cars they took in earlier. Need to keep COEs at a reasonably high price to prevent these loses. Anyway they've using the new car buyers money to keep it at certain level at long as possible s they also know COEs will absolutely go down. Buying time also for their used cars. If we (new and used car buyers) just wait for 4-6 months or better still more, COE prices should come spiraling down. Unfortunately sure got hard up ones rushing for small deposit super years terms. But these guys dun matter new or used cars will find themselves left with cars bought at so high prices but same time cannot even let go or change without topping up their loans at anytime unless strike group 1. If got time, do your sums n you will find higher down payments and shortest possible terms once going on board, you will be able to continue for many many years. So save n tong first towards the down payment. Installment then not much diff. Nothing 100% certain, but this is one way not to get caught while more can be expected as long roads congested and prudence not at a reasonable level. Agree ? Dun agree ? Perhaps I missing something. +2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic March 30, 2013 Share March 30, 2013 I dont understand. The garment come up with this 'cooling' measure but not enforcing. Why still got some dealers still got lobang to get from finance houses 80% or even more loans? This time so no standard. Wanna do do properly otherwise make interest rates go higher maybe giving AD and desperate buyers some breather. don't say they don't give chance... just short of saying out loud Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dark 5th Gear March 30, 2013 Share March 30, 2013 maybe giving AD and desperate buyers some breather. don't say they don't give chance... just short of saying out loud I also think this is the case. But I'm sure MAS will monitor and action if necessary, so it will come if the tolerance level is breached. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic March 30, 2013 Share March 30, 2013 Singapore is so business friendly. See what happened when you as a personal consumer try to circumvent the rules. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged March 30, 2013 Share March 30, 2013 maybe giving AD and desperate buyers some breather. don't say they don't give chance... just short of saying out loud I don't think so. I mean they should have thought out the policies before hand. Why the loophole? Why are they giving so much business to the finance companies??? It is totally senseless. Makes the policy looks like purposely boosting small finance companies car loans sales. If you think that the 50% loan is the right way to do, then that is what you should do. So now what is the policy??? = Increase business for finance companies and up interest rates for car loans which are TOTALLY different outcomes to what was desired. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Docomospur 3rd Gear March 30, 2013 Share March 30, 2013 I don't think so. I mean they should have thought out the policies before hand. Why the loophole? Why are they giving so much business to the finance companies??? It is totally senseless. Makes the policy looks like purposely boosting small finance companies car loans sales. If you think that the 50% loan is the right way to do, then that is what you should do. So now what is the policy??? = Increase business for finance companies and up interest rates for car loans which are TOTALLY different outcomes to what was desired. Their objective is to lower COE prices to try and tamper inflation. To some extent, they've succeeded. I don't think they really care about loopholes and car interest rates, unless COE prices start to shoot up again. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...