Astrid 4th Gear April 11, 2014 Share April 11, 2014 don't happy too early, calm down to analysis, even if COE increase 40%, but allocate to CAT A&B every bidding only about 200 more, as per this last bidding, received bidding higher than quota about 200, if add recently de-registered and flooding new buyers, received bidding will be much higher than quota, so don't think COE will drop obviously Exactly! 5.3m now. Only 3m+ 10 years ago. Number of COEs to be recycled no change ... same same. So demand >> supply Economics 101 will tell you that COE premia will continue to stay or go up! Don't need rocket science what Ask yourself this question: the foreign PR/new-citizen PMETs and HNW businessmen who make up the additional 2m+ will have at least 50% of combined household income above $300,000 p.a. and the HNWs well in excess of $500,000 p.a., up to >$1m p.a. and even more. So Mr. Average Singaporean - those with a few years left before your car reaches 10 years old. How much is your average household income? If you can out-bid the above 'new' households, even taking high loans, in buying a new car - then please carry on. Nobody said cannot buy car right? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged April 11, 2014 Share April 11, 2014 Well...the June bidding will be very interesting won't it? You may as well assume that May bidding will be taken up by orders already received and the "kan cheong" brigade - but come later in the period, late June and early July is when you will see the effect - if there is one. If the May - July already like that, I wonder how the August to October period will be? I am waiting with bated breath to see if I can start thinking seriously about changing my car. I may well just get a G plate.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lincoln 3rd Gear April 11, 2014 Share April 11, 2014 (edited) Exactly! 5.3m now. Only 3m+ 10 years ago. Number of COEs to be recycled no change ... same same. So demand >> supply Economics 101 will tell you that COE premia will continue to stay or go up! Don't need rocket science what Ask yourself this question: the foreign PR/new-citizen PMETs and HNW businessmen who make up the additional 2m+ will have at least 50% of combined household income above $300,000 p.a. and the HNWs well in excess of $500,000 p.a., up to >$1m p.a. and even more. So Mr. Average Singaporean - those with a few years left before your car reaches 10 years old. How much is your average household income? If you can out-bid the above 'new' households, even taking high loans, in buying a new car - then please carry on. Nobody said cannot buy car right? The 50% downpayment policy coupled with abundant supply will be a major factor on COE price going forward. I agreed that population has grown but you need to see where is the growth. FYI, the growth % is actually in the Non-Residents group (domestic workers, construction workers etc). For Residents it was 3.2m (2000) to 3.9m (2014), which is 1.5% growth yoy. Now, does 1.5% sounds familiar to you? This is the same as the past car population growth policy of 1.5%. The reduced 0.5% growth will have a upward pressure on COE but it will not be as huge factor as the coming supply. You can buy car now if you believe your economics. I will wait for Jan 2016. Edited April 11, 2014 by Lincoln 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged April 11, 2014 Share April 11, 2014 Exactly! 5.3m now. Only 3m+ 10 years ago. Number of COEs to be recycled no change ... same same. So demand >> supply Economics 101 will tell you that COE premia will continue to stay or go up! Don't need rocket science what Ask yourself this question: the foreign PR/new-citizen PMETs and HNW businessmen who make up the additional 2m+ will have at least 50% of combined household income above $300,000 p.a. and the HNWs well in excess of $500,000 p.a., up to >$1m p.a. and even more. So Mr. Average Singaporean - those with a few years left before your car reaches 10 years old. How much is your average household income? If you can out-bid the above 'new' households, even taking high loans, in buying a new car - then please carry on. Nobody said cannot buy car right? You have to take into account the difference between "can" and "want to" Just because you have the ability to do something, doesn't mean that you want to do it. Part of it comes to do a willingness to spend that much money, and an "acceptable" value that you are willing to put on a car. I've mentioned here before - that at prices of $80k or more for a COE - even if I can afford it in terms of cash flow without impacting my lifestyle - the heartpain of spending that much tax to get a car would likely be too much for me. When I compare it to what else that money could be spent on - there is no way that I could justify spending it just on a licence to own a car. This "pain" bears only a passing relationship to affordability. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic April 11, 2014 Share April 11, 2014 Exactly! 5.3m now. Only 3m+ 10 years ago. Number of COEs to be recycled no change ... same same. So demand >> supply Economics 101 will tell you that COE premia will continue to stay or go up! Don't need rocket science what Ask yourself this question: the foreign PR/new-citizen PMETs and HNW businessmen who make up the additional 2m+ will have at least 50% of combined household income above $300,000 p.a. and the HNWs well in excess of $500,000 p.a., up to >$1m p.a. and even more. So Mr. Average Singaporean - those with a few years left before your car reaches 10 years old. How much is your average household income? If you can out-bid the above 'new' households, even taking high loans, in buying a new car - then please carry on. Nobody said cannot buy car right? Wanted to give you 5 point but just now just give only Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged April 11, 2014 Share April 11, 2014 (edited) Lai!! I bet COE will still smelly smelly $70k. every month discuss the same thing over again no use.. open table and start the bet better!! Edited April 11, 2014 by Knoobie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic April 11, 2014 Share April 11, 2014 Well...the June bidding will be very interesting won't it? You may as well assume that May bidding will be taken up by orders already received and the "kan cheong" brigade - but come later in the period, late June and early July is when you will see the effect - if there is one. If the May - July already like that, I wonder how the August to October period will be? I am waiting with bated breath to see if I can start thinking seriously about changing my car. I may well just get a G plate.... G plate good, pa better Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear April 11, 2014 Share April 11, 2014 act i jus hope this wil make 2nd hand car prices saner la....knn now even 9yo people carrier Wish asking 9k depn and stil say low depn cb! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear April 11, 2014 Share April 11, 2014 Well...the June bidding will be very interesting won't it? You may as well assume that May bidding will be taken up by orders already received and the "kan cheong" brigade - but come later in the period, late June and early July is when you will see the effect - if there is one. If the May - July already like that, I wonder how the August to October period will be? I am waiting with bated breath to see if I can start thinking seriously about changing my car. I may well just get a G plate.... actual no need to wait, in singapore want to buy car just go ahead to buy, wait only got wores, please beware of the total car population increase rate 0.5%/pa never changed, even if now COE quota looks increasing, which just means now de-regristered number increasing, in general those de-registered group should rush in to new car market, so still is "There are too many (Buddhist) monks and too little gruel" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear April 11, 2014 Share April 11, 2014 act i jus hope this wil make 2nd hand car prices saner la....knn now even 9yo people carrier Wish asking 9k depn and stil say low depn cb! This news should send some shiver down their spine. With increase of quota, the attention should be back to new car, those dealers who have exposure on 2005/6/7 cars have to cut price to clear stock fast. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Astrid 4th Gear April 11, 2014 Share April 11, 2014 Wanted to give you 5 point but just now just give only Thank you.I oso want to give you but system say cannot oredi. Praise you too much liao, RadX's system oso sian :-O Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear April 11, 2014 Share April 11, 2014 Lai!! I bet COE will still smelly smelly $70k. every month discuss the same thing over again no use.. open table and start the bet better!! I bet CAT A slightly $60k to $70k CAT B/E solidly stay at $80k to 90k even if election on the corner Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear April 11, 2014 Share April 11, 2014 actual no need to wait, in singapore want to buy car just go ahead to buy, wait only got wores, please beware of the total car population increase rate 0.5%/pa never changed, even if now COE quota looks increasing, which just means now de-regristered number increasing, in general those de-registered group should rush in to new car market, so still is "There are too many (Buddhist) monks and too little gruel" Then what is holding u up? U started several surveys, from asking SUV, to asking Honda, I can sense ur neck getting long. Why wait? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lincoln 3rd Gear April 11, 2014 Share April 11, 2014 I bet CAT A slightly $60k to $70k CAT B/E solidly stay at $80k to 90k even if election on the corner In parallel to the HDB market, no one believes zero or negative COVs only after it happened. You can now says that the relentless BTO supply and TDSR policy affects it! As mentioned earlier, supply will be 20-40% increase quarter on quarter until Jan 2016 reaching an high of 25-30k per quarter. If the 50 percent downpayment policy did not change, I bet we will see $5k-$10k drop per quarter, reaching perhaps $20-$40k range around Jan 2016. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear April 11, 2014 Share April 11, 2014 Then what is holding u up? U started several surveys, from asking SUV, to asking Honda, I can sense ur neck getting long. Why wait? no lah, SUV bought already, honda is my 2nd car, thinking whether still go for honda, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic April 11, 2014 Share April 11, 2014 Rich man spotted 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Oyq1989 1st Gear April 11, 2014 Share April 11, 2014 The COE quotas for the past few years include adjustments due to over-projection of COEs for year 2008/2009, and this adjustment is going to end in jan 2015. The outlook seems positive for COE Next year.. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthrevan Supercharged April 11, 2014 Share April 11, 2014 Car COE supply to grow by 42% for May to July quota There will be 42 per cent more Certificates of Entitlement (COEs) for cars for the May to July quota, the Land Transport Authority announced on Friday. Buyers and sellers of cars up to 1,600cc and 130bhp will get 1,011 COEs per month - 41 per cent more than what is currently available to them. COEs for cars above 1,600cc or 130bhp will have 966 certificates - 38 per cent more. And there will be a 53 per cent rise in the number of 586 Open COEs available per month. These COEs can be used for any vehicle type, but ends up mainly for bigger cars. The supply of COEs for commercial vehicles will also expand by 47 per cent to 770 certificates a month. Motorcycle COE supply is the only one that will shrink. There will be 686 pieces up for grabs per month - 4.6 per cent fewer than now. On the whole, the monthly supply rises 32 per cent to 4,019. Motor traders expect this to ease pressure on premiums but do not think prices will fall by more than 10 per cent. This is because there is a significant amount of pent-up demand from motorists who have been holding off renewing their vehicles on the back of high premiums in the recent years. Source: http://www.straitstimes.com/news/singapore/transport/story/car-coe-supply-grow-42-may-july-quota-20140411 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...