Toothiewabbit Supersonic April 12, 2014 Share April 12, 2014 I won't be surprise if there is no significant drop in COE during the next quarter. Increase remains on the card due to strong demand. But I hope I am wrong cos' my BIL's ride left 10 months. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whitemondeo 1st Gear April 12, 2014 Share April 12, 2014 There are a few AD are cash rich and are able to out bid each other to secure top sales for the month or year. If you notice, few AD here are selling few months old cars as second hand or the "management cars" with high COE. COE prices will remain unchanged.. unless LTA plug the loopholes by restricting brand new car non transferrable for the first two years. With this measure, I sure those AD will think twice about bidding for their "management". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged April 12, 2014 Share April 12, 2014 simple Q: how many of u guys r rushing to book a new car this wkend? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Penknife 5th Gear April 12, 2014 Share April 12, 2014 simple Q: how many of u guys r rushing to book a new car this wkend? well, not me. My ride still left 1 year 7 mths. Decide to ride till scrap Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Hypersonic April 12, 2014 Share April 12, 2014 if coe drop to $50k i think there will be commotion at AD ... saliva pui'ing included ... simple Q: how many of u guys r rushing to book a new car this wkend? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Penknife 5th Gear April 12, 2014 Share April 12, 2014 I agree the number of bidders will go up as the number of COE increases. However, the question is whether these 'new' bidders are prepared to pay $77.4K or more for a Cat A COE? Most likely not. Those waiting at the sidelines are prudent buyers who will only enter the market when the COE price drops to a level that is reasonable to them. I'm sure 90% of the bids come from the dealers. And for potential buyers who have secured an entry price, all in, the higher the COE, the better. Well, unless the gahment decide to release a clause saying that dealers will bid COE at a price dictated by the buyer, and that the buyer will only pay the COE dictated by the buyer himself in the sales agreement. Then, all buyers will just out $1. If all dealers really bid $1, then no one wins. Sales target not hit, salesman loses his job. If dealer decide to bid $2, the dealer will absorb the additional cost himself to secure the sale Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Hypersonic April 12, 2014 Share April 12, 2014 (edited) AD will never allow coe to crash landed ... they have high coe inventory to clear. AD is King ... they can do what they want and when they want yes, lucky buyer do have a chance to buy on dip but only a few. after the dip, AD will roll the dice and cheong Edited April 12, 2014 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged April 12, 2014 Share April 12, 2014 if coe drop to $50k i think there will be commotion at AD ... saliva pui'ing included ... so it wont happen this weekend lor since dealers dont want to push price down fast. this means coe is confirmed going down unlike last yr. is psychology, everyone thk it goes down, it goes up instead. now everything thk it goes up, will likely go down instead Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic April 12, 2014 Share April 12, 2014 Drop to 50k I will renew coe another 10 years so I will not be adding to the increase Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Penknife 5th Gear April 12, 2014 Share April 12, 2014 The key is 'this time' is what time? At what price point? Example altis drop to 120k? Or 110? Or 100k? Is the time... Everyone has a different entry point. As long as one feels comfortable with that entry point, the person will strike next, if i know someone who paid 90k for a COE, i'll probably lol at him. and if the person knew that i paid a lower COE than him, probably he'll kill himself Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Hypersonic April 12, 2014 Share April 12, 2014 (edited) every coe renewed means another car on the road. you are adding because your car is due to scrap. you are not adding new car only. lol Drop to 50k I will renew coe another 10 years so I will not be adding to the increase there are 2 profile of buyer. 1 constantly looking at coe. 2 dont even bother. $90k or $100k ... my boss still change car when he feel the need. keep track of coe is tiring he said. but he did commented coe is high as the headlines did but he dont bother. Everyone has a different entry point. As long as one feels comfortable with that entry point, the person will strike next, if i know someone who paid 90k for a COE, i'll probably lol at him. and if the person knew that i paid a lower COE than him, probably he'll kill himself Edited April 12, 2014 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear April 12, 2014 Share April 12, 2014 (edited) Everyone has a different entry point. As long as one feels comfortable with that entry point, the person will strike next, if i know someone who paid 90k for a COE, i'll probably lol at him. and if the person knew that i paid a lower COE than him, probably he'll kill himself Whether to pay 90k for an entitlement to use a piece of metal for the next 10 years or invest that 90k for more worthy investments such as savings for kids/family, FDs or stocks/bonds, properties etc. is subjective and up to each individual. Drop to 50k I will renew coe another 10 years so I will not be adding to the increase If the car is reliable and you have the financial means (i.e. cash payment for COE), that can be considered a possibility. Edited April 12, 2014 by Yuan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear April 12, 2014 Share April 12, 2014 The number of bidders for Cat A COE for the 1st April 2014 tender were 537 with 360 successful (or 67%). With the 41% increase in COE, the number of COE up for grab becomes 505. If the number of bidders remains the same, the successful rate increases significantly to 94%. Huat ah! number of bidders remains same? at least 200 more bidders increase to 737 bidding 505 COE, successful rate:505/737=68%, almost same as before, how can COE drop? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Matrix0405 5th Gear April 12, 2014 Share April 12, 2014 (edited) I'm sure 90% of the bids come from the dealers. And for potential buyers who have secured an entry price, all in, the higher the COE, the better. Well, unless the gahment decide to release a clause saying that dealers will bid COE at a price dictated by the buyer, and that the buyer will only pay the COE dictated by the buyer himself in the sales agreement. Then, all buyers will just out $1. If all dealers really bid $1, then no one wins. Sales target not hit, salesman loses his job. If dealer decide to bid $2, the dealer will absorb the additional cost himself to secure the sale This is simply brilliant. And LTA shd take a hard look at this idea. The 30% increase in supply will soften the price. The knowledge that even more COE coming out next period will hold back bids and bring the price down. Edited April 12, 2014 by Matrix0405 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Hypersonic April 12, 2014 Share April 12, 2014 (edited) cash invest $90k and take loan to buy a car with coe $90k is very different hor i see many compare and comment better use $90k for investment than buying a car. Edited April 12, 2014 by Wt_know 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Penknife 5th Gear April 12, 2014 Share April 12, 2014 This is simply brilliant. And LTA shd take a hard look at this idea. even if this is a brilliant idea, LTA probably wun be bothered at it. Like someone said, it's like raiding the reserves. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic April 12, 2014 Share April 12, 2014 Coe drop to 10k I vote for pap! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdexxxxd 2nd Gear April 12, 2014 Share April 12, 2014 Any one went down to car shopping this weekend? How's the crowd like? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...