Turret Clutched June 10, 2013 Share June 10, 2013 (edited) Is Dengue turning into a national crisis? do u think it is appropriate that we give our NS guys some basic trainings in tackling dengue and to be part of the dengue fighter team? We really need manpower to cover all areas..... any areas can be possible. It is apparent that NEA is facing a difficult task in covering areas with their workforce. Just 3 days back, I personally experienced choked and stagnant water in one of the public drain. The smell is overwhelming. I thought I was in Malaysia. anyway i informed NEA about the matter. Edited June 10, 2013 by Turret ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueOldMan 1st Gear June 10, 2013 Share June 10, 2013 Seems like nobody is using mosquito coils nowadays?? Very hard to find too. I think people these days are scared that the smoke is "toxic" and also the fire hazard, but I remember using these coils plenty when young. They were quite effective! Are you serious???? Super market got plenty of them Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic June 10, 2013 Share June 10, 2013 last time always got see people doing fogging now like lesser issit ah? maybe fogging kill other harmless creatures so not so encourage? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic June 10, 2013 Share June 10, 2013 Most of the hotspots are those construction sites. Last time I kenna also nearby got new hdb under construction. The next day I got out of hospital got NEA occifer come around my home and ask got mosquito. I quickly told him me kenna dengue and I suspect is from the damn construction site. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic June 10, 2013 Share June 10, 2013 (edited) last time always got see people doing fogging now like lesser issit ah? maybe fogging kill other harmless creatures so not so encourage? Mosquitoes are not kum lan insects. Stand there and let you fog meh? Of course run liao lah. Prevention still better from fogging. Edited June 10, 2013 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Caldina 1st Gear June 10, 2013 Share June 10, 2013 Hi all, Can I check whether will a person not be infected with dengue virus after bitten by an infected mosquito with dengue virus? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spgohjc8 Clutched June 10, 2013 Share June 10, 2013 Waited for 5 hours in A&E? Up the Lorry already. Maybe the MOH can comment on this. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged June 10, 2013 Share June 10, 2013 Waited for 5 hours in A&E? Up the Lorry already. Maybe the MOH can comment on this. The problem can only be solve if people automatic.... non emergency go see GP.... but then again, people dont know whether emergency until they see doctor.... ........ so cant blame the hospital.... just too many people at A&E.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turret Clutched June 10, 2013 Share June 10, 2013 Waited for 5 hours in A&E? Up the Lorry already. Maybe the MOH can comment on this. My guess is that MOH would said they acknowledge there is a current shortage of doctors in public hospitals and would like to have more doctors than it currently has. However, they have encountered real difficulties getting adequate no. of doctors to man the hospitals. However, you can be rest assured that MOH is doing the best of our capabilities to source for qualified and competent doctors locally and overseas. We will also not compromise on the training and quality of the doctors at the expense of filling these vacancies within the shortest time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged June 10, 2013 Share June 10, 2013 Hi all, Can I check whether will a person not be infected with dengue virus after bitten by an infected mosquito with dengue virus? There are a few strains of virus..... so not guarantee lor... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aimnfire 4th Gear June 10, 2013 Share June 10, 2013 reopen polyclinic after office hours and make them 24hrs lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged June 10, 2013 Share June 10, 2013 (edited) reopen polyclinic after office hours and make them 24hrs lah Health care cost will go up... why... cause who want to work graveyard shift, unless you pay them well..... anyway, even people willing to pay... getting qualify people to work is another..... In any case, most of the private run hospital already have 24hrs clinic.... why queue short short... cause the consultation fee alone ....... Edited June 10, 2013 by Nlatio Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahseng 5th Gear June 10, 2013 Share June 10, 2013 both times at TTSH???!?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged June 10, 2013 Share June 10, 2013 My guess is that MOH would said they acknowledge there is a current shortage of doctors in public hospitals and would like to have more doctors than it currently has. However, they have encountered real difficulties getting adequate no. of doctors to man the hospitals. However, you can be rest assured that MOH is doing the best of our capabilities to source for qualified and competent doctors locally and overseas. We will also not compromise on the training and quality of the doctors at the expense of filling these vacancies within the shortest time. I think there can be some improvement in how to handle the long waiting time. 1st is to charge them higher fees than normal and give warning to them for those really non-emergency case that normal 24-hr clinic can do the job. If 2nd time go again for non-emergency case, than fine the person. If let's say is those NSF or regular who take up slot for non-emergency case, than feedback straight away to their unit or department to let officer take relevant action, to make sure they do not abuse the system. That will at least free up some space for those who really need medical attention. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic June 10, 2013 Share June 10, 2013 Here got the answer http://forums.condosingapore.com/showthread.php?t=17899 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turret Clutched June 10, 2013 Share June 10, 2013 reopen polyclinic after office hours and make them 24hrs lah but where they can find so many additional doctors and nurses?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aimnfire 4th Gear June 10, 2013 Share June 10, 2013 yes i do understand some concern about the cost and the quantity or quality of doc & nurses 1. cost: i rather have cost increase to help health and education rather than bonuses of some top bosses. 2. quantity: have those FT who wants to work in healthcare be bonded for 10 years the minimum. last i heard for a friend those FT nurses once finish contract the will go to UK or canada for better pay and benefits 3. quality: give the out standing personel be it doctor or nurses a share holder of the hospital. not too much but at least have them the sense of belonging Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tonyng 4th Gear June 11, 2013 Author Share June 11, 2013 Health care cost will go up... why... cause who want to work graveyard shift, unless you pay them well..... anyway, even people willing to pay... getting qualify people to work is another..... In any case, most of the private run hospital already have 24hrs clinic.... why queue short short... cause the consultation fee alone ....... Our healthcare cost SHOULD go up - it is part of aging population, big population, more sophiscated healthcare etc Fact that they doubled health budget in 2012 showed we spend to little, too long. After last GE, finally wake up to play catch up. http://enterpriseinnovation.net/article/si...nditure-5-years Until we caught up, hospitals are still bursting at the seams, many will face delays, some will suffer as a result and a few will die unnecessarily - like our poor friend. Alas, some will get priority queuing no matter. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...