Lethalstrike Turbocharged June 12, 2013 Share June 12, 2013 Imagine you are doing all the hard work of inspecting, educating the public of the risks and what to look out, then you bosses seem more concern on cobwebs. Something I know know about cobwebs is, its good to catch insects. Lost his bearing...more concern to attack opponents than fight public health, That is the message he is sending out. No choice, this is the one of the worst recorded dengue pandemic in Singapore's history and NEA will have to divert the heat and attention away somewhere. With such a huge population increase, there is no doubt that recorded cases will be higher. But of course, Straits Times can't report it like this. I will like to see Vivian to do more and work for that pay cheque of his, rather than engaging WP intensely over the cleaning of cobwebs at Bedok FC's ceilings. This is a serious matter and i hope Vivan's ministry do allocate more airtime over the media on fighting dengue, rather than the smokescreen over AHPETC's whats-nots. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic June 12, 2013 Share June 12, 2013 you never give him a compass of cos he lost his bearing. Hello Bro, you see me too up. If I can give him direction my surname will be different and will not be surfing this website already. Not from the same familee. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged June 12, 2013 Share June 12, 2013 My straight view is $7200 involved only no chance WP want to cheat or even want to start to break the trend. But it is possible to have misunderstanding and confusion in AHPETC and once it clarify they will do the norm.. But based on NEA parting shot just after the three party have done settling the issue. They seem to point towards AHPETC consciously and intentionally want to hawker to pay xxx, It is not misunderstand or confusion. But there is not much fact except email and some quotations which WP rebutted sufficiently. If NEA release such kind of comment ,which naturally hurt WP very much, than NEA should put lay their solid facts and hammer WP flat on the ground. I think because NEA really dont have much to pin WP yet put out these kind of comment hurting WP, that is why WP counter it as political motive, If based on what KBW say in AIM case, every part of govt also politically based ., Then it is naturally WP see all comments without facts but can cause serious wound is politically motivated. I would like see NEA/VIVIAN settle the much much more important dengue issue first, then we account for everyone and everything in detail. To me it is very serious WP really want to break the norm and charge hawker something new. It they are bloodsuckers i want to put them under the sunlight too . i think not many are interested in the spat between Vivian, WP and NEA however, Vivian and NEA have put themselves in bad position because it gives people an impression that they are out fixing the opposition instead of dealing with the dengue outbreak which is approaching 10,000 cases soon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bobby_tan 1st Gear June 12, 2013 Share June 12, 2013 Because fixing the oppo (thanks LHL) is much more important than making sure citizens don kena infected with dengue what... Because to the famiLEE, the opposition IS the problem what... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic June 13, 2013 Share June 13, 2013 http://yourhealth.asiaone.com/content/civi...w-he-had-dengue Civil servant explains how he knew he had dengue Thursday, Jun 13, 2013 The New Paper By Rennie Whang SINGAPORE - When the civil servant felt an itch on his left index finger in April, he thought: "Oh oh, it was probably the Aedes mosquito." He got dengue that week. Yesterday,when he heard that a second person had died from the disease this year and that the number of dengue cases had crossed the 9,000 mark, he was stunned. Jason (not his real name) , 31,lives on landed property in Hougang. One Tuesday morning in April, he woke up and saw the mosquito bite and had a bad feeling about it. On Friday that week, he felt feverish but went to work as he had an important meeting. On Saturday, a fever of more than 39 deg C floored him and he didn't have the strength to leave his bed to see a doctor. Said Jason: "In my heart, I knew I had dengue. I took (medicine) but the fever kept coming back." He saw the doctor on Sunday, and although he recovered from the fever, rashes broke out on his body on Wednesday and his nose bled now and then. Blood test He went to a polyclinic and a blood test confirmed it was dengue. He recovered days later. On hearing about the second death this year, Jason said the only people who fully understand how deadly the disease is, are the ones who have suffered from it. He said: "Many people do not know the seriousness of this illness. Only people who have got it will realise how bad it is. "Most people have had the fever before. If they get a fever again, they might be complacent, as they might not think it could be dengue." Next Symptoms to watch out for Symptoms of dengue fever - Develops within four to seven days after being bitten by an Aedes mosquito. - High fever up to 40.6 deg C - Severe headache with retro-orbital (behind the eye) pain - Nausea and vomiting - Severe joint and muscle pain - Body rash which appears on day three or four Dengue Hemorrhagic Fever is more severe and can result in death. It's symptoms include severe bleeding from the nose, gums, or under the skin, causing purplish bruises. Dengue Shock Syndrome is the most severe form of dengue fever and usually occurs in children having a reinfection. It is sometimes fatal and is characterised by: - Massive bleeding -Shock (very low blood pressure) Diagnosis Two blood tests done two to three weeks apart help determine if the blood samples contain antibodies to the virus. Treatment There is no specific treatment for dengue fever and most people recover within two weeks. To help with recovery, general measures include: - Getting plenty of bed rest. - Drinking lots of fluids. - Taking medicine to reduce fever. Avoid aspirin, but paracetamol is considered safe. Next What should you do if you suspect you have dengue What should you do if you suspect you have dengue We speak to Dr Leong Hoe Nam, an infectious disease physician from Rophi Clinic at Mount Elizabeth Novena Specialist Centre, on what to do if you suspect you have dengue fever. Prior to going into private practice, Dr Leong was a consultant with the Department of Infectious Disease at the Singapore General Hospital. What should I do if I suspect I have dengue fever? If there is a concern for dengue fever (an illness transmitted by the Aedes mosquito), you should do the Dengue NS1 antigen test (which involves the drawing of blood). The market rate for the test is about $30. Where can I get tested other than at hospitals? The test has been provided to various polyclinics and certain general practitioners at subsidised rates by the National Environment Agency. What is the turnaround time for the diagnostic test? The turnaround time can be one to two working days, depending on the time the sample was collected. What should I do if I have dengue fever? Drink three litres of fluid on top of your normal fluid intake. Water is cheap and good. Only fluids have been shown to make a difference in saving lives. A good way to find out if you are drinking enough water is to drink until your urine is clear. Next TTSH explains why patients are not tested for dengue immediately TTSH explains why patients are not tested for dengue immediately Why aren't dengue patients tested the moment they are admitted? The dengue virus is usually present between day two and day five of infection. Dengue antibodies do not rise to detectable levels until day five to day seven of the infection. While the test is available for patients who insist on early testing at the Emergency Department (ED), having it done too early does not give conclusive results. Testing negative on the first day of the fever does not conclusively exclude the possibility of dengue, but may instead provide "false reassurance" to doctors and patients. Will all dengue patients be hospitalised? Not all patients with dengue need to be hospitalised. Patients who present themselves in stable health at the ED may be kept for a few hours of observation and given fluids and medication to relieve their symptoms. If they do not improve or do not remain stable during the observation, they may be admitted for closer monitoring and treatment. Otherwise, they will be given fever and other necessary medication, a request to follow-up in one to two days' time for review. They will also be advised to return to us if their symptoms worsen. What happened to the two patients who died from dengue? We would like to assure the public that our guidelines, protocols and processes are evidence-based and we follow established standards. We will continue to work on our processes. As for the second casualty of dengue, the 60-year-old man died in the Intensive Care Unit on Sunday from multi-organ failure and complications associated with abnormal heart rhythm. He was first admitted on June 5 after a day of fever, general malaise - feeling of discomfort, illness, or lack of well-being - and infection of the leg. Dengue was confirmed during his second hospitalisation on Friday and we continued with the treatment. His condition deteriorated and by the second day of hospitalisation, he had passed away. Dengue had complicated his infection and his underlying conditions, including diabetes mellitus and hypertension may have contributed to his inability to recover. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged June 13, 2013 Share June 13, 2013 There is no specific treatment for dengue fever and most people recover within two weeks. To help with recovery, general measures include: - Getting plenty of bed rest. - Drinking lots of fluids. - Taking medicine to reduce fever. Avoid aspirin, but paracetamol is considered safe. What should I do if I have dengue fever? Drink three litres of fluid on top of your normal fluid intake. Water is cheap and good. Only fluids have been shown to make a difference in saving lives. A good way to find out if you are drinking enough water is to drink until your urine is clear. No cure at all for Dengue? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic June 13, 2013 Share June 13, 2013 (edited) No cure at all for Dengue? bo pian, truth of life lucky in SG, it is only dnegue in africa, they got ebola Edited June 13, 2013 by Mustank Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear June 13, 2013 Share June 13, 2013 Not many realise the key contributing reason to the dengue spread is the dense population. Notice the bulk of cases r now on hdb estates? N we have 6.9million target...good luck to hdb dwellers. Dengue will spread even more in less populated estates Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear June 13, 2013 Share June 13, 2013 There is jz not enough RN AND Dr in the dept.... Is there any solution? Ppl jz know how to complain. NYP had already trained more than 10 000 RN so far.... But where are they? Why do we hv to take in 2000 to 3000 RN per year ? Any solution...... Same to Dr.... Health care should not depend on foreign workers, that include RN Dr physio radiographer and more.... increase the intake. if imports+current intake not enough, increase intake Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged June 17, 2013 Share June 17, 2013 hmm... so smart [rolleyes] Dengue patients need to avoid getting bitten, too 11 hours 51 min ago It is too early to tell whether the ongoing dengue epidemic has peaked, Second Minister for Environment and Water Resources Grace Fu said yesterday. Speaking to reporters on the sidelines of the Yuhua Open House, Ms Fu stressed the importance of keeping the surroundings free of mosquito breeding sites. She added: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leslielai 1st Gear June 17, 2013 Share June 17, 2013 increase the intake. if imports+current intake not enough, increase intake It is not the best thing to do. Trust me, the introduction of the foreign-registered doctors have already somewhat compromised our quality of care. What the MOH should do now, is to look at engaging the private medical groups. As it is, we have too many of leg-shaking, overpaid GPs leeching on the major medical groups in the private sector. I have a very evil plan that will work wonders... quite sure the MOH is toying with such an idea since all our hospitals are really being stretched to their limits. We do have a lot of space in army camps, many recallable doctors who have not MR-ed and sufficiently trained medics who can undertake the responsibilities of monitoring the more stable patients... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyckh 5th Gear June 17, 2013 Share June 17, 2013 Wow!... that's a very important discovery. Now I know why they deserved their million dollar salary, or rather they thought they should deserve. [rolleyes] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahtong 1st Gear June 17, 2013 Share June 17, 2013 I have a very evil plan that will work wonders... quite sure the MOH is toying with such an idea since all our hospitals are really being stretched to their limits. We do have a lot of space in army camps, many recallable doctors who have not MR-ed and sufficiently trained medics who can undertake the responsibilities of monitoring the more stable patients... Why not just conscript women to do NS as nurses? Might have the accidental effect of increasing fertility rates as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leslielai 1st Gear June 17, 2013 Share June 17, 2013 Why not just conscript women to do NS as nurses? Might have the accidental effect of increasing fertility rates as well. Singaporean women are a very difficult bunch.. many of us can relate personally to that.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged July 8, 2013 Share July 8, 2013 Good news, the number of dengue causes is dropping. Don't know is it due to haze 2wks ago, but certainty it's a good sign. http://www.dengue.gov.sg/subject.asp?id=73 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angcheek Hypersonic October 7, 2015 Share October 7, 2015 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahseng 5th Gear March 7, 2017 Share March 7, 2017 Lai liao, hope this works. Dengue for me is the worst time of my life...in terms of healthwise. 5 to 7 days lie there can't do anything with high fever and after that feel weak up to 2 weeks. (leg soft) SINGAPORE - The Health Sciences Authority (HSA) has approved the world's first dengue vaccine Dengvaxia for use in Singapore following a seven-month expedited review of the potential benefits and risks. It will be made commercially available in several months' time. Sanofi has not yet said how much it will cost, although its its head of Global Medical Affairs, Dr Ng Su-Peing, has said that the company’s goal is to make the vaccine “as commercially accessible as possible”. Studies have shown that overall, the vaccine is effective at reducing dengue by 60 per cent, and reducing severe dengue by 84 per cent. http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/health/hsa-approves-worlds-first-dengue-vaccine-for-use-in-singapore 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 17, 2017 Share June 17, 2017 Lai liao, hope this works. Dengue for me is the worst time of my life...in terms of healthwise. 5 to 7 days lie there can't do anything with high fever and after that feel weak up to 2 weeks. (leg soft) SINGAPORE - The Health Sciences Authority (HSA) has approved the world's first dengue vaccine Dengvaxia for use in Singapore following a seven-month expedited review of the potential benefits and risks. It will be made commercially available in several months' time. Sanofi has not yet said how much it will cost, although its its head of Global Medical Affairs, Dr Ng Su-Peing, has said that the company’s goal is to make the vaccine “as commercially accessible as possible”. Studies have shown that overall, the vaccine is effective at reducing dengue by 60 per cent, and reducing severe dengue by 84 per cent. http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/health/hsa-approves-worlds-first-dengue-vaccine-for-use-in-singapore Can you still go to work after high fever? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...