Air purifiers

So_nice

Haha, thanks for pointing that out, I didn't proofread my post... Though a bit of clobbering was indeed involved...

Here are the efficacy tests done by Thomas and gang...

http://particlecounting.tumblr.com/post/99686866401/test-do-you-have-to-run-your-purifier-all-day

http://smartairfilters.com/en#q2

Steady lah.. Up your point..

Got a joke to share ..... Last week brought out my purifier from storeroom and activate. After a few days, told my wife "eh, didi's cough like better hor. Purifier doing its job [thumbsup] "

2 days ago, I wanted to clean/vacuum the filter so opened up the machine and took out the filter. ALAMAK, THE PLASTIC WRAPPING IS STILL THERE!!!! :yeah-im-not-drunk:

Just checked the Dyson pure cool at HN earlier, $899 plus one additional free filter, any better deal else where ?

Thanks

Answer my own question and to share with anyone who may be interested :

Checked Courts and Best Denki, both selling the Pure cool at $999 without the free additional filter.

Got mine at HN today , still at $899 + 1 free filter .

• Praise 14

Answer my own question and to share with anyone who may be interested :

Checked Courts and Best Denki, both selling the Pure cool at $999 without the free additional filter.

Got mine at HN today , still at $899 + 1 free filter .

Thanks for the info!

Anybody considered IQAir HealthPro 250? I bought I just last week. Hope this is useful and provide alternative to the usual air-filter found in most places like Courts, Harvey Norman and Best Denki.

https://www.facebook.com/Supratechnic.IQAir.Singapore

I am using it since 2 years ago... I would say it is one of the no-nonsense air purifier... (this brand is use in Beijing Olympic to provide them clean air for training etc...)

Superb!!! but the filter price also power...

In the market... only 2 brand I trust... IQair or blueair...

Check the CASE list of products they independently tested last year. Quite a few of them very effective at much lower price.

Yes, I knew that... just that the purifier is too small to be effective for my living and dining room.

So I bought this huge purifier.

Got a joke to share ..... Last week brought out my purifier from storeroom and activate. After a few days, told my wife "eh, didi's cough like better hor. Purifier doing its job [thumbsup] "

2 days ago, I wanted to clean/vacuum the filter so opened up the machine and took out the filter. ALAMAK, THE PLASTIC WRAPPING IS STILL THERE!!!! :yeah-im-not-drunk:

Bet u are not the only one.... Cos also happen to me!

I just stay in my room, switch on aircon with 3M Filtrete filters.

Didn't have any problems with haze.

Stay home with air-con and air purifier, sure no problem with haze. Lol. But if you still need to go out to buy groceries also can get 'poison' by the haze.

I mean with aircon, closed room, no need air purifier.

But yeah, go out only, get assaulted by the haze.

I mean with aircon, closed room, no need air purifier.

But yeah, go out only, get assaulted by the haze.

If the haze is bad, the dirty air will still get into your room when all the windows and doors are shut. Without an air purifier, you'll be breathing in the harmful particulates floating around even if you can't detect a strong "burnt" smell...

After reading the article below then I realize why my bedroom gets pretty dusty despite me keeping the door and windows closed all the time. I have even sealed the gap under my bedroom door and plugged all the drainage holes in my windows' sliding rails.

http://particlecounting.tumblr.com/post/99686866401/test-do-you-have-to-run-your-purifier-all-day

If the haze is bad, the dirty air will still get into your room when all the windows and doors are shut. Without an air purifier, you'll be breathing in the harmful particulates floating around even if you can't detect a strong "burnt" smell...

After reading the article below then I realize why my bedroom gets pretty dusty despite me keeping the door and windows closed all the time. I have even sealed the gap under my bedroom door and plugged all the drainage holes in my windows' sliding rails.

I did write add a 3M Filtrete to your aircon filters...this is for further trapping of smoke, haze.

http://www.filtrete.com/wps/portal/3M/en_US/FiltreteNA/Filtrete/Products/?N=7568680+4315+3294529207&rt=r3

It took me a very long time and self research before I settled on the air purifier that I bought recently.

My rational:

If you are going to buy an air filter buy a good one because you are going to use it for a long time may be as long as 10 years.

Do your research as this is not like buying a toy it affects your health. Don't buy something only for brain comfort. As far as I l learnt there are two important bad stuff in homes that is particulate and VOC. Air filters that I buy must address these pollutants. Bugs will be trapped by the first.

I ask how clean must the home be, should we be obsessed to have an industrial clean room in our home. Just how clean do we really need for reasonable healthy leaving. My bottoming on this issue is after reading is as long as it does not spew particulates back into the home through their outlet.

When I first invested in air filters I look for the cheapest but that did not work. Then I gave myself a budget and bought the likes of sharp panasonic including some American brands. Lately I look at hospitals and see what they use. I enquired and work out the sums including calculating how much it cause to operate the air filter 10 hours a day or 24 hours a day. It works out replacement of filters are not very expensive.

PS Something I learnt to extend my Hepa filter life. Hepa filters traps very tiny particles so big particles cannot go through either. So why waste Hepa filter to trap big particles and shorten the lifespan. So I use a pre Hepa filter like 3m filtered in front of the Hepa filter. Hope this helps bro to save money.