Pisces69 6th Gear July 18, 2013 Share July 18, 2013 Before I sold my original Celica eight years ago to a retro-siao restorer fren who uses it daily now, the rear tyres locked and the tail moved left n right whenever I braked with just medium force in the right foot, very scary, everyone stared whenever this happened. U never learn how to do candence braking? Or u too stingy to have yr sticky brakes serviced? Hahaha. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 18, 2013 Share July 18, 2013 The Ford clone of the 323GT was the Laser Sport..... Toyota didn't seem to have anything to fight them Ya that time Ford n Mazda were same platform n engine. But I think the 323GT was more popular. Ford was either too ex or more ah pek image. My cousin had the 323GT. Very sporty at that time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 18, 2013 Share July 18, 2013 Was it also called Viki? Pretty agile running in town areas I think the Viki came out later???????? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 18, 2013 Share July 18, 2013 I drove steering column mounted gear lever before. The front seat was just a one piece bench seat. The XMM lie across and used my left thigh as her pillown Wah see u so lucky got stories but only slowly slowly u reveal. I drove a beat up old pick up. XMM dun wan to sit even. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Loki Supersonic July 18, 2013 Share July 18, 2013 Was it also called Viki? Pretty agile running in town areas It was the model before the Viki - just called Subaru 700. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vinceng Turbocharged July 18, 2013 Share July 18, 2013 My family was planning to get this car that time..... But we got this instead..... Both are nice cars during the days....that time SE will just habded over the cars to their customer bare ( without sport rims & radio head unit) The G6 Corolla was very hardy. Last tim, 1600cc e cars came with '185' tyres at most. Side wall usually '65'. Good cushioning from the fat sidewall. Now, bread and butter mass produced cars like Kia Cerato come with thick 215/45R17 tyres. Nice to see but saps power and bumpy ride, and high petrol bills. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BoneStock 5th Gear July 19, 2013 Share July 19, 2013 My family was planning to get this car that time..... But we got this instead..... Both are nice cars during the days....that time SE will just habded over the cars to their customer bare ( without sport rims & radio head unit) First one is Nissan Sunny B13. Pre-FL came with 1.4L and 1.6L engines. FL with 1.5L and 1.6L engines. Only the 1.6 are with EFI. I kept one till 10 years before trading in for a new car. 240000km on the clock and the used car dealer still renewed COE. Cars of the olden days are really built to last. My bro bought the 2nd one Corolla AE90 and he too kept it for 10 years. Super reliable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BoneStock 5th Gear July 19, 2013 Share July 19, 2013 Those Accords were known as Japanese Merc cos was a good quality Jap car. Solid n fast. Quintet never really caught on here n the Civic well its just legendary. I drove my frens Civic n Accord that time. Damm smooth n powerful. Really good cars. yeah very very smooth. I remember the 1st time I drove that manual Civic, I didn't know how to engage the reverse gear 'cos need to press down the gear lever. So paiseh.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BoneStock 5th Gear July 19, 2013 Share July 19, 2013 Was that the Prelude where the front n back look the same? My fren had one n we always disturb him, say when we see his car we dun know if he is coming or going. yes, the lamps on the front and back same same. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear July 19, 2013 Share July 19, 2013 It was the model before the Viki - just called Subaru 700. Not Justy?..... let me google the pics Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear July 19, 2013 Share July 19, 2013 (edited) Wah see u so lucky got stories but only slowly slowly u reveal. I drove a beat up old pick up. XMM dun wan to sit even. didnt you show her the back cargo can be converted to open air bedroom? btw, that xmm now my wife.... so this kind of column gear shift brings back good memories i think if we had a daughter, we will not let her go out with guys dring column shift Edited July 19, 2013 by Maseratigood Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear July 19, 2013 Share July 19, 2013 Ya that time Ford n Mazda were same platform n engine. But I think the 323GT was more popular. Ford was either too ex or more ah pek image. My cousin had the 323GT. Very sporty at that time. now i remember, they even came out with a four door 323GT when they saw the 2door 323 GTs were selling like hot cake Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear July 19, 2013 Share July 19, 2013 U never learn how to do candence braking? Or u too stingy to have yr sticky brakes serviced? Hahaha. oh, how to do candence braking?? new to me leh. the brakes locked up the rear wheels very easily, due to sticky brakes? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear July 19, 2013 Share July 19, 2013 U mean Sunny so good? Or ty were actually flying down? Flying up, and also down heard they changed gearbox ratio, not likely turbo coz this was quite unheard of thsoe days Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic July 19, 2013 Share July 19, 2013 (edited) I sat in MY cars - Proton, Nissan, Honda, Toyota, Peugeot. All seem to have very good suspension compared to Singapore ones. How come? Recent trip to Genting, sat in one old lao pok Nissan Sunny (I think got at least 20+ years old) liao. Very lok kok, but suspension very comfortable, not crushy, yet car still feel very planted. Edited July 19, 2013 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic July 19, 2013 Share July 19, 2013 Common problem cos the rubber seal harden n cannot seal properly n the channel fr rain to run off always kenna block by leaves etc. Thinking it is one of the common problem in cars with sunroof regardless the era, or only last time car with sunroof more easily spoilt? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Loki Supersonic July 19, 2013 Share July 19, 2013 Not Justy?..... let me google the pics Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged July 19, 2013 Share July 19, 2013 WOW!!!! That time got pick-up with gear lever on the steering wheel. U mean like those paddle shifters on sports cars now? This one first time I hear but I ever drove those Datsun pick-up with the gear lever on the steering coloum though. Those quite common. Ya, I mean the gear level was on the steering columm.....typo error! I also drove the old Mitsubitshi L300 and Toyota Hiace vans before, all use these type of gear level. Now all pickups and vans gear levels are located beside the driver's seat, just like cars. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...