Datsun's back!!!

Mockngbrd

I drove steering column mounted gear lever before. The front seat was just a one piece bench seat. The XMM lie across and used my left thigh as her pillown :D[thumbsup]

Yup...that was one advantage of the steering mounted gear. It frees space on the seat so become a bench seat. Those days, even 3 adults can sit in front... [laugh]

But, unfortunetly, during those days I didn't had a girlfriend yet so never had chance to let XMM lie across and sleep her heard on my tight lor... [:(]

LOL.... This is rare, I thought mainly Toyota crowns. A Latsun Cedric? Very spacious!!

It was an old Datsun 200C diesel NTUC taxi (1970s Singapore). It was also called Nissan Cedric 230 in some countries.

I drove a beat up old pick up. XMM dun wan to sit even. [:(]

I understand actually how you feel bro. Cos I too can't get any XMM to ride together with me in my pickup.... [smallcry]

In US, when ppl say datsun, this probably comes to mind:

:wub::wub:

post-1105-1374215511_thumb.jpg

In SG, when ppl say datsun, this horror image appears:

:wacko::wacko:post-1105-1374215552_thumb.jpg

[laugh][laugh]

In US, when ppl say datsun, this probably comes to mind:

In SG, when ppl say datsun, this horror image appears:

[laugh][laugh]

Lol, you are right. Dont know why when people say datsun in sg, that image will comes to mind?! :D But even the car is horrible, remember this datsun quite popular on the road back then.

Was that the Prelude where the front n back look the same?

My fren had one n we always disturb him, say when we see his car we dun know if he is coming or going. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Wow. Never tot of it dat way. I always assume which ever the chair faces is the front. [sweatdrop]

Yup...that was one advantage of the steering mounted gear. It frees space on the seat so become a bench seat. Those days, even 3 adults can sit in front... [laugh]

But, unfortunetly, during those days I didn't had a girlfriend yet so never had chance to let XMM lie across and sleep her heard on my tight lor... [:(]

these bench front seats have one thing the driver must watch out for:- if he takes a right hand corner too fast, his whole body will slide on the bench seat towards the passenger door!!! Seat belt is a must :D

Ya, I mean the gear level was on the steering columm.....typo error! [laugh]

I also drove the old Mitsubitshi L300 and Toyota Hiace vans before, all use these type of gear level. Now all pickups and vans gear levels are located beside the driver's seat, just like cars.

the older drivers called the gear column shift "chicken drum stick"... come to think of it, quite an accurate description :D

I sat in MY cars - Proton, Nissan, Honda, Toyota, Peugeot. All seem to have very good suspension compared to Singapore ones. How come?

Recent trip to Genting, sat in one old lao pok Nissan Sunny (I think got at least 20+ years old) liao. Very lok kok, but suspension very comfortable, not crushy, yet car still feel very planted.

the reasons could be MY roads are more bumpy their ours, so the suspensions used are setup differently? [:)]

these bench front seats have one thing the driver must watch out for:- if he takes a right hand corner too fast, his whole body will slide on the bench seat towards the passenger door!!! Seat belt is a must :D

But last time those pickup had loose seat belts. No one bothers to wear them at all... [laugh]

My frens n I just sling the seat belt across the chest, but lazy to buckle it, quite stupid [:(]

If u get some MPV models ty have the coloum mounted shift n a bench seat.

Still got chance to try. [sly][laugh]

I understand actually how you feel bro. Cos I too can't get any XMM to ride together with me in my pickup.... [smallcry]

I teach u a little trick.

Get her fully drunk first. Then put her in the front n drive to those quiet places n do what u wan then drive her home.

If u careful...she wun know what happen when she wake up next day. [rolleyes][laugh]

Lol, you are right. Dont know why when people say datsun in sg, that image will comes to mind?! :D But even the car is horrible, remember this datsun quite popular on the road back then.

The 120Y was a decent bread n butter car. It helped to make Datsun a household name. [thumbsup]

Wow. Never tot of it dat way. I always assume which ever the chair faces is the front. [sweatdrop]

Hahaha. Sometimes from far away at night cannot see inside which way the seat is facing. [:p]

We see the car parked n can only guess which way it came from. [laugh]

But it also works that the XMM sitting beside the driver wil b flung onto his lap. [grin]

the older drivers called the gear column shift "chicken drum stick"... come to think of it, quite an accurate description :D

WOW. I never heard of that. So Im not as old as u then. [rolleyes][:p][laugh]