Pisces69 6th Gear July 20, 2013 Share July 20, 2013 the reasons could be MY roads are more bumpy their ours, so the suspensions used are setup differently? I see seldom MY cars use low profile tires. I asked the tire shop why n he say cos ty have many potholes n if too low profile the rims wil get damaged easily. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 20, 2013 Share July 20, 2013 My frens n I just sling the seat belt across the chest, but lazy to buckle it, quite stupid Thats just to prevent attracting attention of passing Ah Ser. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 20, 2013 Share July 20, 2013 The G6 Corolla was very hardy. Last tim, 1600cc e cars came with '185' tyres at most. Side wall usually '65'. Good cushioning from the fat sidewall. Now, bread and butter mass produced cars like Kia Cerato come with thick 215/45R17 tyres. Nice to see but saps power and bumpy ride, and high petrol bills. Here the dealers wil dress up their cars to attract buyers. Afterall now a BnB car already abt $130K. Long ago ty were only abt $15-20K only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 20, 2013 Share July 20, 2013 First one is Nissan Sunny B13. Pre-FL came with 1.4L and 1.6L engines. FL with 1.5L and 1.6L engines. Only the 1.6 are with EFI. I kept one till 10 years before trading in for a new car. 240000km on the clock and the used car dealer still renewed COE. Cars of the olden days are really built to last. My bro bought the 2nd one Corolla AE90 and he too kept it for 10 years. Super reliable. Those older Jap cars were damm solid. I drove a 1989 COE Corona CD Auto till 19 yrs n abt >400K km n it was still damm good. Hardly any problems n no rust at all. Cud prob use fr another 10 years more at least. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 20, 2013 Share July 20, 2013 yeah very very smooth. I remember the 1st time I drove that manual Civic, I didn't know how to engage the reverse gear 'cos need to press down the gear lever. So paiseh.... Ya those time all manual. If I borrow a frens car n drive fr 1st time I need to figure out how to engage reverse too. Several patterns fr different models. Best was BMW 2002. Had to push gearstick all the way to the left n up. N the 2002 Tii was 1st gear push left n down. Reverse push left n up. 2nd gear was where most cars had the 1st gear. But that car u can move off in 2nd gear. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 20, 2013 Share July 20, 2013 yes, the lamps on the front and back same same. The boot looked like the bonnet n the cabin was same shape front n back. Another was the 1st RWD Mazda323. We called it a goldfish swimming backwards cos of the shape. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 20, 2013 Share July 20, 2013 Not Justy?..... let me google the pics Ya my aunty drove it. I also confused what it was called but like what was said I think it was the Subaru 700. Justy was 1000cc. N I think Justy was first car with ECVT belt transmission. On a 1 lit car summore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 20, 2013 Share July 20, 2013 didnt you show her the back cargo can be converted to open air bedroom? btw, that xmm now my wife.... so this kind of column gear shift brings back good memories i think if we had a daughter, we will not let her go out with guys dring column shift Hahaha. That time I quite young n gers were very status consious. Ty wud not want to b seen sitting in a beat up old pick up. Wait pple say she look like a farmers daughter. Nowadays column shift or floor shift all same. Guys now book hotel. All high class unlike our days. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 20, 2013 Share July 20, 2013 now i remember, they even came out with a four door 323GT when they saw the 2door 323 GTs were selling like hot cake Ya I think the 323GT 4 door was a more rounded shape. That time twin carb was considered very sporty but FC was I drove my frens Galant sport with twin carb. Drink petrol like the tank got a hole below. I drive a bit need to fill so much at the pump. Can actually see the petrol meter needle moving down as u drive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 20, 2013 Share July 20, 2013 oh, how to do candence braking?? new to me leh. the brakes locked up the rear wheels very easily, due to sticky brakes? Aiyah now got ABS u dun need to learn already. Rear wheels lock up got many reasons. Some cars last time pple drive but never maintain properly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 20, 2013 Share July 20, 2013 Flying up, and also down heard they changed gearbox ratio, not likely turbo coz this was quite unheard of thsoe days Earlier cars can mod many things. Msia even more things ty mod. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 20, 2013 Share July 20, 2013 I sat in MY cars - Proton, Nissan, Honda, Toyota, Peugeot. All seem to have very good suspension compared to Singapore ones. How come? Recent trip to Genting, sat in one old lao pok Nissan Sunny (I think got at least 20+ years old) liao. Very lok kok, but suspension very comfortable, not crushy, yet car still feel very planted. I a person really know how to mod....he can do wonders. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 20, 2013 Share July 20, 2013 Thinking it is one of the common problem in cars with sunroof regardless the era, or only last time car with sunroof more easily spoilt? I not really sure cos I never wanted to own a car with sunroof. I find it totally unnecessary in SG. Plus yr insurance is higher even. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 20, 2013 Share July 20, 2013 Ya, I mean the gear level was on the steering columm.....typo error! I also drove the old Mitsubitshi L300 and Toyota Hiace vans before, all use these type of gear level. Now all pickups and vans gear levels are located beside the driver's seat, just like cars. Hahaha. I know lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Didu Turbocharged July 20, 2013 Share July 20, 2013 My family used to own a Datsun 120. It comes with a 8 track player on board Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic July 20, 2013 Share July 20, 2013 (edited) My family used to own a Datsun 120. It comes with a 8 track player on board Lol, this datsun looks nicer than the horror imagine of datsun people always have in mind?! Edited July 20, 2013 by 13177 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged July 21, 2013 Share July 21, 2013 Yeah, and a honda accord then was seen as "atas". Anyone game for this "atas" accord? http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.ph...446&DL=1120 Can still drive till 2019. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Didu Turbocharged July 21, 2013 Share July 21, 2013 Lol, this datsun looks nicer than the horror imagine of datsun people always have in mind?! Yeah, it's a decent car during those days. It was a popular L-plate car. I even took my driving test in one of them. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...