Datsun's back!!!

Mockngbrd

Sun roof so 'lao ya', rain can comes in? :blink:

Common problem cos the rubber seal harden n cannot seal properly n the channel fr rain to run off always kenna block by leaves etc. [:p]

tat time i still no license.. but my fav is this 1..

This was a very comfortable car. Had AC vents on the doors. Something unusual.

Those were the days! No COEs and a lot less cars on the road. Hardly any jams.

Er not so. I used to work in Jurong n the PIE was always jammed in the mornings. [furious]

Coming back in the evening was the same. [furious]

Post 1 of the 120A coupe leh. I remember that as a cool and affordable ride then, but the "graphite grey" mazda 323GT was hot those days.

The 120A coupe looked nice but the 323GT was fast. Twin carb. [thumbsup]

Yes that gt was the hot hatch in early 80' with the yuppies, and the celica with the ah beng. I had the celica :D

And most Celicas crashed cos pple put huge tires on the rear to look chio but it affected the handling till corner fast wil buang. [laugh]

But the 1st Celica is still a classic. [thumbsup]

Dunno how true, but people there told me that the cars were cut into two during import, and then welded back again for sales [laugh]

I think u refering to half-cuts. Sold in Japan fr export fr their spares.

Some in SG also were welded back together but they were death-traps. Some even split into two when crashed. Its illegal to weld the 2 halfs back together. :blink:

Ya I think mine also abt $8/hr n it was a Datsun 1200. But mine got AC but cannot on. The instructor tell me only if u taking test n raining can on AC so windows wun mist up.

Hahaha. [laugh]

I understand. For Datsun 1200, if you turn on the air con, the car has no power, it can't over take, car will rattle and will slip down the slope

Dunno leh. I never drove it with AC on but my instructor wil drive it wh AC on when Im inside n it seems like ok leh.

1200cc still quite big fr such a small body. That car quite fast. [thumbsup]

Dunno leh. I never drove it with AC on but my instructor wil drive it wh AC on when Im inside n it seems like ok leh.

1200cc still quite big fr such a small body. That car quite fast. [thumbsup]

Talking about Latsun, in the early days teksi going up Genting were mostly Sunny, they could fly up the roads overtaking private cars like no body's business..... :blink: :blink:

And most Celicas crashed cos pple put huge tires on the rear to look chio but it affected the handling till corner fast wil buang. [laugh]

But the 1st Celica is still a classic. [thumbsup]

Before I sold my original Celica eight years ago to a retro-siao restorer fren who uses it daily now, the rear tyres locked and the tail moved left n right whenever I braked with just medium force in the right foot, very scary, everyone stared whenever this happened. [sweatdrop]

The 120A coupe looked nice but the 323GT was fast. Twin carb. [thumbsup]

The Ford clone of the 323GT was the Laser Sport..... Toyota didn't seem to have anything to fight them

WOW!!!! That time got pick-up with gear lever on the steering wheel. U mean like those paddle shifters on sports cars now? [shocked]

This one first time I hear but I ever drove those Datsun pick-up with the gear lever on the steering coloum though. Those quite common. [laugh]

I drove steering column mounted gear lever before. The front seat was just a one piece bench seat. The XMM lie across and used my left thigh as her pillown :D[thumbsup]

Talking about Latsun, in the early days teksi going up Genting were mostly Sunny, they could fly up the roads overtaking private cars like no body's business..... :blink: :blink:

U mean Sunny so good? Or ty were actually flying down? [laugh]