Soya Supersonic July 16, 2013 Share July 16, 2013 errrrr.....how come no one interested to talk abt datsun anymore? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic July 16, 2013 Share July 16, 2013 6 pages and no picture of the datsun 120Y..............here me post one ............. [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarenn 2nd Gear July 16, 2013 Share July 16, 2013 Post 1 of the 120A coupe leh. I remember that as a cool and affordable ride then, but the "graphite grey" mazda 323GT was hot those days. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear July 16, 2013 Share July 16, 2013 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarenn 2nd Gear July 16, 2013 Share July 16, 2013 Very likely scraps exported from Sg Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic July 16, 2013 Share July 16, 2013 Post 1 of the 120A coupe leh. I remember that as a cool and affordable ride then, but the "graphite grey" mazda 323GT was hot those days. this one huh???............. [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic July 16, 2013 Share July 16, 2013 Post 1 of the 120A coupe leh. I remember that as a cool and affordable ride then, but the "graphite grey" mazda 323GT was hot those days. yah...........this was my first car in 1993...........drove for 1 year lost $500 after scrap............. [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarenn 2nd Gear July 16, 2013 Share July 16, 2013 this one huh???............. [laugh] Not this, a later model with the curve rear glass. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear July 16, 2013 Share July 16, 2013 Not sure because during the Suharto era, it almost impossible to bring in used car parts into Indonesia. The only way is to ship in using returning small wooden vessel that carry charcoal , fish, sand etc to Singapore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarenn 2nd Gear July 16, 2013 Share July 16, 2013 Yes that gt was the hot hatch in early 80' with the yuppies, and the celica with the ah beng. I had the celica Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarenn 2nd Gear July 16, 2013 Share July 16, 2013 Not sure because during the Suharto era, it almost impossible to bring in used car parts into Indonesia. The only way is to ship in using returning small wooden vessel that carry charcoal , fish, sand etc to Singapore. Dunno how true, but people there told me that the cars were cut into two during import, and then welded back again for sales Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear July 16, 2013 Share July 16, 2013 Yes, these are know as half cut in Jap scrap yards. It's cheap to buy them in this form ( Japanese labour cost is about 3 to 5 time more than Spore ) and also cheap to ship via 20ft container. If the cutting is via argon gas torch, the cutting edge look good and easy to join them back . Due to the low welding tech in Singapore shops, the joints , body and undercarriage alignment are badly done. Anyway , this is a very serious offend and if caught by inspection centres or ROV officials. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ckchong8 1st Gear July 16, 2013 Share July 16, 2013 Datsun 120Y, my learn driving and test car [:)] Me too, my daddy own one of it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yhn 4th Gear July 16, 2013 Share July 16, 2013 Ha ha. I am older than you. When I learnt, it as $8 per hour. Took my driving test in the Queenstown test centre. You got company. $8 per hour. Queenstown Test Centre , learned with datsun Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Datsun366 Turbocharged July 16, 2013 Share July 16, 2013 But..... for emerging markets.. Each car will be individually developed for, and largely produced in, its own market. India is first with the sub-usd$7,000 car, but the brand will soon spread to Indonesia, Russia, South Africa and other places where people suddenly have the money to buy a car i wish they didn't use the Datsun name... Datsun has always been Nissan lower end badge. Maciam Daihatsu to toyota to Lexus. so fans of Datsun, were the days yeah. I remember the wiper stick shift, had custom knobs for those. must have been a bad idea, no more around, just these paddle things. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jazz 2nd Gear July 16, 2013 Share July 16, 2013 Me too, learned driving & took my test using Datsun 120Y at Ubi area. No aircon, no power window, no power steering wheel...but I paying $12/hr leh during late 80s... I also paid $12/hr, usually learn 11/2 hr lesson. Although 4 MT, but usually used until 3rd gear that it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged July 16, 2013 Share July 16, 2013 Last time my family first car oso 100A, look like turtle, have to start and warm up first. My best friend last time family drove the Bluebird, I envy coz tot the car very big and nice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarenn 2nd Gear July 16, 2013 Share July 16, 2013 Yes! The Bluebird and Laurel were the "big" cars. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...