Expecting kid arrival in 2014

Patrickyan

Go mummysg forum to see who got used item to sell or giveaway, like sarong, baby cot, etc. No need to buy everything one shot. Buy the ones you are going to use first.

Like breast pump if your wife is going to breast feed the baby. For home will be baby cot or playpen or sarong, diaper change station(depends, some ppl just do it on the playpen that comes with it or do it on your bed, I prefer to have a changing station with the powder and what's not all within reach).

Baby shower neccessities, like safety netting for the baby bath tub that the baby can lie on while you bathe him/her. Baby shampoo, towel, moisturiser cream etc. For clothes, baby rompers, cap, mittens. I went to kiddy palace and ask the staff to help me. One stop shop. Haha...

I think these are the basic things you will need first. Others can slowly buy.

A lot of ppl do not breast feed, afraid of this & that. If mother not enough milk can ask gynae for prescription meds for milk supply which my wife did. The mum have to eat a lot of carbo to produce milk, maybe that's why many mums do not breats feed coz they are afraid of becoming fat. But it's not so. Breastfeed mums slim down faster dan mums who don't.

Oh as for you:

- If you got any big project, movies, hobby or task you have been procastinating, do it NOW or you won't have time to do it for the next 5 years after delivery

- Sleep is golden, catch as many as you can, saviour that deep slumber under your pillow as much as you can, once the child is out, you won't sleep through more than 3 hours for the next 3 years

- groom and pamper yourself(and your wife) as much as you can, once the child is out, you'll both look like train wrecks for the next 1 year...

Now THIS one is good advise [thumbsup]

btw, you should start thinking what type of primary schol you want your childre, you also need to buy a house [:p]

Edited by Joseph22

My inputs and experience as a father of a 3.5mths old daughter.

Before arrival of baby : $$$ planning, logistics at home (caretaker, confinement lady, furniture arrangement), give 1000% support to wife's needs, be extra sensitive. Discuss with wife who is going to look after baby after materal leave and also back up plan. Bring wife to parks for strolls and massage her back.

After arrival of baby : Extreme patience and understanding towards wife since losing sleep will turbo charged your temper, $$$ planning, insurance, Cordlife, having a car will be very helpful.

My inputs and experience as a father of a 3.5mths old daughter.

Before arrival of baby : $$$ planning, logistics at home (caretaker, confinement lady, furniture arrangement), give 1000% support to wife's needs, be extra sensitive. Discuss with wife who is going to look after baby after materal leave and also back up plan. Bring wife to parks for strolls and massage her back.

After arrival of baby : Extreme patience and understanding towards wife since losing sleep will turbo charged your temper, $$$ planning, insurance, Cordlife, having a car will be very helpful.

Controlling temper will be very difficult, especially with the numerous mood swings my wife had :wacko: Anyway, all is well and good now.

Reading up this and that is good but I don't think anyone can be mentally and physically prepared for what's to come. Only going through the whole thing can one truly understands the hardship and joy of parenting.

For me, other than not being able to breastfeed, I did everything a man could possibly do ... change diapers, bath the baby, cook for my wife during confinement, wake up tons of times in the night so that my wife can have plenty of rests. :D

Expecting my 1st kid in Jan 2014.

Do i need to purchase anything to prepare for the arrival of the new kid now?

from now till then....if got time to sleep....do cherish it... [laugh] ..

still early lah ...i only start buying 3 months before DS arrival :D

DS?..sound like you are one of the member in kiasu parent forum.. [laugh]

Edited by LoverofCar

buy a tok kong (steady poon pee pee) camera and hip xiong (take picture) like a pro [:p]

source: http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1284287

if you got kang tao (lobang) go jit poon (japan), then mai tu liao

source: http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1294531

Frankly...allowing the elder kid to sleep with the newborn baby is the last thing I will do...it is dangerous...there are cases where the elder kid accidently ''crushed'' the newborn baby to death while sleeping....

my wife now in 2nd tri mester liao hahaa.... baby smell nice to smell meh? haha

nice or no nice

after 1 year, you wanna smell also don have liao

sight and sound can be documented to a certain extent by gadgets but smell still don have lar [laugh][laugh]

Controlling temper will be very difficult, especially with the numerous mood swings my wife had :wacko: Anyway, all is well and good now.

Reading up this and that is good but I don't think anyone can be mentally and physically prepared for what's to come. Only going through the whole thing can one truly understands the hardship and joy of parenting.

For me, other than not being able to breastfeed, I did everything a man could possibly do ... change diapers, bath the baby, cook for my wife during confinement, wake up tons of times in the night so that my wife can have plenty of rests. :D

Hands-on daddy spotted [thumbsup]

Expecting my 1st kid in Jan 2014.

Do i need to purchase anything to prepare for the arrival of the new kid now?

congrats. im expecting mine in Sept next month. I can give you a list. pm me your email account