Zxcvb Turbocharged April 6, 2014 Share April 6, 2014 Thinking today is Sunday, so went in after my night shift work around 5am. Makan first, pump petrol 2nd, wash car last, made the return trip slightly past 6am. All was smooth sailing no jam until I hit the half way mark into Singapore. So thinking today is Sunday, aiyah very fast one, jam half-way only. Then 1/4 way before chop passport, kenna stuck for almost an hour at 1 spot (10m length the most). knnbccb!!!! So bo bian, decide to switch lane, the lane beside was slow also, but at least it's moving man. Then took me another 45 minutes clear all stations. The check boot was per normal, 3 cars at a time. What I realised is the bottleneck or stoppage is at the check passport booth. You can have 10 booths open, but 1 single lane out of there. The 9 booths will be stuck forever. 2 hrs just to clear a half-way jam on a Sunday morning is ridiculous. Almost blew my head. Even weekday mornings jam start all the way from JB custom side usually 45mins will clear. Furthermore more lanes allocated to motorbikes on weekdays. So how can the Sunday morning be so bad??? knnbccb. My advise. Just move to the most outer right lane or outer left lane. There are 6 cars lane in total. Weekday morning will have less lanes as bikes take extra booths. 7 years driving in and out, this has got to be worst experience, or maybe I was lucky previously. ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2BDriver Hypersonic April 6, 2014 Share April 6, 2014 Thinking today is Sunday, so went in after my night shift work around 5am. Makan first, pump petrol 2nd, wash car last, made the return trip slightly past 6am. All was smooth sailing no jam until I hit the half way mark into Singapore. So thinking today is Sunday, aiyah very fast one, jam half-way only. Then 1/4 way before chop passport, kenna stuck for almost an hour at 1 spot (10m length the most). knnbccb!!!! So bo bian, decide to switch lane, the lane beside was slow also, but at least it's moving man. Then took me another 45 minutes clear all stations. The check boot was per normal, 3 cars at a time. What I realised is the bottleneck or stoppage is at the check passport booth. You can have 10 booths open, but 1 single lane out of there. The 9 booths will be stuck forever. 2 hrs just to clear a half-way jam on a Sunday morning is ridiculous. Almost blew my head. Even weekday mornings jam start all the way from JB custom side usually 45mins will clear. Furthermore more lanes allocated to motorbikes on weekdays. So how can the Sunday morning be so bad??? knnbccb. My advise. Just move to the most outer right lane or outer left lane. There are 6 cars lane in total. Weekday morning will have less lanes as bikes take extra booths. 7 years driving in and out, this has got to be worst experience, or maybe I was lucky previously. Thanks for sharing, I'm driving out to sg around 9am. Hope they already have more officers on duty by then. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meanmachine Supercharged April 6, 2014 Share April 6, 2014 Understand yur frustration, I never ever go in on weekends anymore, certainly not worth it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meanmachine Supercharged April 6, 2014 Share April 6, 2014 just crazy idea, use ERP system for a selected "no jam lane and kiosk". Hahaha fast lane, pay much more; jammed lane pay as per current rate... :) It may work for supermarkets and fast food rest, pls do not encourage the troll, no body win here only the Govt, so why give in ? ( Those who go in knows the pain or satisfaction of getting something out. ) Tis Govt is well known to hand out something them immediately suck our blood off. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meanmachine Supercharged April 6, 2014 Share April 6, 2014 was checking the cameras this morning to see a good time to cross over. the outgoing seems ok. unfortunately, causeway incoming is consistently packed. 1pm now and just as bad as 8am. why ah?? My opinion why is only one-way jam; Weekdays v Weekends/ P Holi Once out of Sp custom, the outgoing is smooth due to sufficient Custom opicer/s scheduled on duties. In-coming fm Johore custom to Sp causeway is horrendous as most JB customs opicer do not conduct search or mandatory check on Sp or Malaysian cars, 2nd their custom check-pt set-up s totally not ideal for primary / secondary checks, hence the lanes is not conforming to vehicular / security thorough-check. Lastly, JB customs do not have a ' Drive-in ' check point unlike Sp, with shutter and dog-sniffer K9, I can't speak much on their lackadaisical attempt like us. Thy do not deploy more manpower on weekends as Sunday is considered a ( normal ) working day. Hope it clarifies ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2BDriver Hypersonic April 6, 2014 Share April 6, 2014 How long did it take for you to clear both ends? I so scared, I haven't been to JB for a while but will have to brave the jam pretty soon, hope all these due to qing ming. FYI, I arrived at JB immigration at 9:35am. clocking my time driving over the woodlands causeway with 12 minutes clearance to the Singapore final custom checking station. My opposite direction of traffic towards JB was at half bridge congestions, looks good at the time of my border crossing. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic April 6, 2014 Share April 6, 2014 FYI, I arrived at JB immigration at 9:35am. clocking my time driving over the woodlands causeway with 12 minutes clearance to the Singapore final custom checking station. My opposite direction of traffic towards JB was at half bridge congestions, looks good at the time of my border crossing. Thanks for update, I am probably going in 2 weeks from this weekend, hasn't been very diligent in pumping Petronas petrol recently. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2BDriver Hypersonic April 6, 2014 Share April 6, 2014 How long did it take for you to clear both ends? I so scared, I haven't been to JB for a while but will have to brave the jam pretty soon, hope all these due to qing ming. My regular entry into JB for job errants is always between 8~9am. 7 days / 52 weeks. It seems this is light traffic amber time gap after the morning rush hours for commuters through and flow with lesser private and commercial vehicles. Thanks for update, I am probably going in 2 weeks from this weekend, hasn't been very diligent in pumping Petronas petrol recently. If you do need my helps for plenty RON95 filling into your tank, please pm me for arrangements. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged April 6, 2014 Share April 6, 2014 (edited) Understand yur frustration, I never ever go in on weekends anymore, certainly not worth it. Weekend on Sunday should be ok because it's their working day Edited April 6, 2014 by Dafansu Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nightkids 6th Gear April 6, 2014 Share April 6, 2014 KSL in jb got polishing service in their car park.... can try? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic April 6, 2014 Share April 6, 2014 My regular entry into JB for job errants is always between 8~9am. 7 days / 52 weeks. It seems this is light traffic amber time gap after the morning rush hours for commuters through and flow with lesser private and commercial vehicles. If you do need my helps for plenty RON95 filling into your tank, please pm me for arrangements. Thanks Fongmy, I go in mostly to run some errands, once or twice a month, can't save much with 95 as I very law abiding one (too troublesome) but I love Petronas petrol and the good and cheap food. LOL.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear April 6, 2014 Share April 6, 2014 Ok guys, continue from here... Date: 29/8/2013 Thursday Time: 11.30am Venue: Blk 727 Amk Central (coffeeshop beside courts) Guys, Swee Bo? Location based on previous MCF MU. Since we got SK, Aljunied, Jurong, woodlands... And sentosa cove ALL ARE WELCOME!!! (Undertaker included) Kindly confirm... 1)Ronleo 2)Spt27 andrew 3) 4) 5) 6) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged April 6, 2014 Share April 6, 2014 Ok guys, continue from here... You organising another kopi session huh ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jansonchua 2nd Gear April 6, 2014 Share April 6, 2014 Just come back from boleh land... Check customs at 9pm Sunday and it was a breeze... The fastest clearing customs ever... Took less than 2mins...Maybe because sinkies all scared to go liao but coming back time wah lau... 11.20pm check out MY customs already start to jam until into Lion city at 12.40am... Everything as per normal... No special checks but still super jam... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged April 6, 2014 Share April 6, 2014 Cannot open all kiosks lah....cos border security would be compromised. Add more kisoks? How to? No more space to expand liao..... At airport departure immigration point, nowadays we can self-scan our passipok, why not build many drive-thru self-scan turnstile so that all sgp cars leaving woodland or tuas can chop chop curry pok and clear it fast? No need employ extra xmm to manually man the check points, cheaper + faster!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jajoba123 3rd Gear April 7, 2014 Share April 7, 2014 just came back 3.40am this morning both JB, S'pore sides all very clear lorries long queue till jb side. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged April 7, 2014 Share April 7, 2014 At airport departure immigration point, nowadays we can self-scan our passipok, why not build many drive-thru self-scan turnstile so that all sgp cars leaving woodland or tuas can chop chop curry pok and clear it fast? No need employ extra xmm to manually man the check points, cheaper + faster!! The self check-in, more drive-thru counters, etc ideas are good as it will fasten the processing.....due to more resources! The employment of xmm to man the checkpoints booth are not good cost it may slower the processing...due to "distractions"! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged April 7, 2014 Share April 7, 2014 The self check-in, more drive-thru counters, etc ideas are good as it will fasten the processing.....due to more resources! The employment of xmm to man the checkpoints booth are not good cost it may slower the processing...due to "distractions"! LOL..... now you know what will distract, attract tiko drivers, right? Why not use plain looking xmm at the booths, but stand a few chio ones further down near the petrol-tank-checks station? this way, drivers cant wait to get away from the passport checks and chiong to the petrol check points!!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...