Mysportwish 1st Gear September 16, 2013 Share September 16, 2013 same as Jem.... long queue but in fact not because carpark full. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged September 16, 2013 Share September 16, 2013 i was there too yesterday... i must say its a bloody stupid design...... why do they have to put the car park entrance/exit on a busy road??? before the car park, u got cars turning into the HDB MSCP, then u got buses on the left lane, and u also got cabs queuing on same left lane. As usual, our planners are showing lack of common sense Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenfarm Turbocharged September 16, 2013 Share September 16, 2013 Actually they have another exit which is at the Bus interhchange side, but the management closed it If you twirl around the loop towards the basement carpark or up to the exit, you'll notice somewhere in the middle section, they is a loading and unloading bay. There was once the road outside was heavily jammed and a security guard directed me towards this exit. Traffic is better on the bus interchange side. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear September 16, 2013 Share September 16, 2013 Bros, I don't know whether you guys encountered before. But I have been going in for the past few weeks during the afternoon. And always. Always the car park would be jammed up. I don't know why. Is it because of the renovation outside the exit? I think they might have to either A) Put a traffic light/warden in front of the CP exit to clear traffic B) bigger yellow box? Because the wait. No joke. 20-30 mins just to exit carpark... the exit is at a main road and it is one of the busiest road at central. it is a road that buses need to get pass in order to get into the interchange....it doesn't help to locate the taxi stand on the same road too......I will say it is a design failure because the entrance and exit shouldn't be located there in the first place... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
OmOm 5th Gear September 16, 2013 Share September 16, 2013 Just the other day I was at AMK Hub for a business lunch meeting. After lunch, my associates and I made our way to the carpark. We saw a long snaking queue of cars waiting to exit the carpark. Lots of horning and gesticulation. Looking at how traffic was not moving, we went for a coffee break to continue our discussion which lasted another hour. Surprisingly (or rather, unsurprisingly with the state of affairs nowadays), the long snaking queue was still there. I saw that there were three individuals at the exit barrier and walked over to find out what was wrong. Two of the three were security personnel and the third was dressed in long-sleeved shirt and pants who was from the mall management. They cited barrier problem and were struggling to get a trapped cashcard out of the machine. I suggested to the manager to leave the barrier arm up so that cars could get out in the meanwhile because the jam was not only preventing cars from exiting but cars from entering as well (gridlock). He mumbled something and then raised the barrier arm while they continued struggling with the trapped cashcard. After a short while, a queue of cars formed just after the barrier and I asked the manager what happened. He answered nonchalantly that cars were having difficulty getting out into the main road; apparently that happened regularly enough that he knew it was the cause. "Do you have any officers out there directing traffic so that the cars can get out to the main road?", I asked. I was taken aback when the security officer at his side interjected that it was none of their business. I asked them what was the bottleneck and they said it was the heavy traffic and there was nothing that could be done. The exchange then went on: "Is there another exit that traffic could be diverted to?" "Yes" "Can it be done?" The manager hesitated and he shot me a look; I could see that he was thinking why I was being such a kay-poh. To answer his unverbalised question, I said that there are many people trapped in the queue and with just a little bit of effort he could actually improve the situation for many others. He then spoke into his walkie-talkie and went off without even a reply, not before shooting me another look of irritation. By the time I walked back to my car, the queue had started moving and I realised as I drove up the ramp that they had opened up the exit at the loading/unloading bay and cars could get out to the main road more easily. A few points of observation: a. "not my problem" has become a mantra in Singapore. We are all so used to functioning purely for the sake of our KPIs that we are loathe to do anything that we are not measured by b. many problems today have no "owners" and therefore no solutions come about because no one is officially responsible for them c. people at the top do not see the problems and the operational layer think that these are not their problems so they do not even bother letting higher management know; nothing gets done until the s--t hits the fan and the problems eventually become theirs. What has this nation become? And what can we do to change this? the exit is at a main road and it is one of the busiest road at central. it is a road that buses need to get pass in order to get into the interchange....it doesn't help to locate the taxi stand on the same road too......I will say it is a design failure because the entrance and exit shouldn't be located there in the first place... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged September 16, 2013 Share September 16, 2013 I'll just park at the mscp just beside AMK hub. Plenty of lots and Sunday free. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic September 16, 2013 Share September 16, 2013 i was there too yesterday... i must say its a bloody stupid design...... why do they have to put the car park entrance/exit on a busy road??? before the car park, u got cars turning into the HDB MSCP, then u got buses on the left lane, and u also got cabs queuing on same left lane. As usual, our planners are showing lack of common sense 'They' are trying hard to make you give up your car and take public transport ..... If everything so convenient, who wants to take 'public' transport .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged September 16, 2013 Share September 16, 2013 actually i've seen before they had people out there directing traffic.. this one still okay with 2 gantries.. one down the other one still works. should try the kovan one.. 2 gantries going in, 1 gantry going out. if one kuku want to go out but cashcard problem, that's it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged September 16, 2013 Share September 16, 2013 Just the other day I was at AMK Hub for a business lunch meeting. After lunch, my associates and I made our way to the carpark. We saw a long snaking queue of cars waiting to exit the carpark. Lots of horning and gesticulation. Looking at how traffic was not moving, we went for a coffee break to continue our discussion which lasted another hour. Surprisingly (or rather, unsurprisingly with the state of affairs nowadays), the long snaking queue was still there. I saw that there were three individuals at the exit barrier and walked over to find out what was wrong. Two of the three were security personnel and the third was dressed in long-sleeved shirt and pants who was from the mall management. They cited barrier problem and were struggling to get a trapped cashcard out of the machine. I suggested to the manager to leave the barrier arm up so that cars could get out in the meanwhile because the jam was not only preventing cars from exiting but cars from entering as well (gridlock). He mumbled something and then raised the barrier arm while they continued struggling with the trapped cashcard. After a short while, a queue of cars formed just after the barrier and I asked the manager what happened. He answered nonchalantly that cars were having difficulty getting out into the main road; apparently that happened regularly enough that he knew it was the cause. "Do you have any officers out there directing traffic so that the cars can get out to the main road?", I asked. I was taken aback when the security officer at his side interjected that it was none of their business. I asked them what was the bottleneck and they said it was the heavy traffic and there was nothing that could be done. The exchange then went on: "Is there another exit that traffic could be diverted to?" "Yes" "Can it be done?" The manager hesitated and he shot me a look; I could see that he was thinking why I was being such a kay-poh. To answer his unverbalised question, I said that there are many people trapped in the queue and with just a little bit of effort he could actually improve the situation for many others. He then spoke into his walkie-talkie and went off without even a reply, not before shooting me another look of irritation. By the time I walked back to my car, the queue had started moving and I realised as I drove up the ramp that they had opened up the exit at the loading/unloading bay and cars could get out to the main road more easily. A few points of observation: a. "not my problem" has become a mantra in Singapore. We are all so used to functioning purely for the sake of our KPIs that we are loathe to do anything that we are not measured by b. many problems today have no "owners" and therefore no solutions come about because no one is officially responsible for them c. people at the top do not see the problems and the operational layer think that these are not their problems so they do not even bother letting higher management know; nothing gets done until the s--t hits the fan and the problems eventually become theirs. What has this nation become? And what can we do to change this? I respect u alot, bro. and agreed with what u said about our SG ppl The security guard's mentality is very typical. they only in charge of the building that they are supposed to watch. One inch outside of the parameters, they dont give a F. "not my problem" indeed become a mantra. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged September 16, 2013 Share September 16, 2013 Strange, I go to AMK HUB pretty often, but seldom encounter difficulty in exiting. I find more trouble entering because the queue is pretty long trying to get in. Anyway, if it is so much of a problem, why not see the MP? LHL is the MP there, sure things will get done. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged September 16, 2013 Share September 16, 2013 I'll just park at the mscp just beside AMK hub. Plenty of lots and Sunday free. Sure or not, Sunday free? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged September 16, 2013 Share September 16, 2013 (edited) Sure or not, Sunday free? Ya. There Sunday free. I go there almost every Sunday. The big mscp turn in from AMK Central 1. Even though free on Sundays still got plenty of lots. Dunno why no one want to go there. Always see people wasting time queuing to get into AMK hub. Or opposite also have mscp and sheltered all the way to the overhead bridge which is linked into amk hub. Edited September 16, 2013 by Nzy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Naimed 5th Gear September 16, 2013 Share September 16, 2013 Ya. There Sunday free. I go there almost every Sunday. The big mscp turn in from AMK Central 1. Even though free on Sundays still got plenty of lots. Dunno why no one want to go there. Always see people wasting time queuing to get into AMK hub. Or opposite also have mscp and sheltered all the way to the overhead bridge which is linked into amk hub. If getting a lot of grocery from NTUC, I would want to park at AMK hub itself so dont have to carry those heavy stuff. But I wont want a 2hr jam going up the ramp...my left calf muscle will be quite big by then! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged September 16, 2013 Share September 16, 2013 Ya. There Sunday free. I go there almost every Sunday. The big mscp turn in from AMK Central 1. Even though free on Sundays still got plenty of lots. Dunno why no one want to go there. Always see people wasting time queuing to get into AMK hub. Or opposite also have mscp and sheltered all the way to the overhead bridge which is linked into amk hub. On lah! Next time I go will park there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VellfireS 4th Gear September 16, 2013 Author Share September 16, 2013 same as Jem.... long queue but in fact not because carpark full. Jurong point also.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear September 16, 2013 Share September 16, 2013 Jurong point also.. For JP, it is advisable to use the "other" entrance or exit. Newer wing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2BDriver Hypersonic September 16, 2013 Share September 16, 2013 i was there too yesterday... i must say its a bloody stupid design...... why do they have to put the car park entrance/exit on a busy road??? before the car park, u got cars turning into the HDB MSCP, then u got buses on the left lane, and u also got cabs queuing on same left lane. As usual, our planners are showing lack of common sense Ang Mo Kio is our PM consituency and he shares these similar common sense, if not....TS wouldn't make noise here Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear September 16, 2013 Share September 16, 2013 Ya. There Sunday free. I go there almost every Sunday. The big mscp turn in from AMK Central 1. Even though free on Sundays still got plenty of lots. Dunno why no one want to go there. Always see people wasting time queuing to get into AMK hub. Or opposite also have mscp and sheltered all the way to the overhead bridge which is linked into amk hub. Actually it is quite "hidden" in some ways. I used to park there until I chose the open space car park near Courts side. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...