320i engine potential

slickshifters

Whoever junk me for this post anonymously got no balls.

Sorry bro, everyday awarded 5 power points. Don't know what to do with it.

So need to find victim to junk.... [rifle] .... (Just kidding) haha.

Whoever junk me for this post anonymously got no balls.

Not me hor...but I know got many people buy 116i then ask how to get more power than 118i.

I dont see why I need to pay almost 30 grand for a pretty similar mechanically speeced car. I am just hoping some owner really managed to do more than what the 328i did. I doubt cooling will be a problem. Gearbox might not be too as i mentioned they should be all similar.

Ignore the naysayers. A lot of comments seem driven by jealousy and just plain ol' negativity. 320i is a terrific ride with good upside potential. Modding cars is both fun and challenging technically. Enjoy!

Not me hor...but I know got many people buy 116i then ask how to get more power than 118i.

Tell them it is too low. They should aim for 200hp. It is the same block as Mini Cooper S JCW.

Are you really sure it is mechanically similar?

Similar debate for 323/325. But ECU & intake manifold is different. What's the pt of up the pwr if the brake/suspension cannot handle it? It would rather spent my $$$ to make it cup corner faster.

Lastly, this is a luxury car. Not some tiong car le.

Ignore the naysayers. A lot of comments seem driven by jealousy and just plain ol' negativity. 320i is a terrific ride with good upside potential. Modding cars is both fun and challenging technically. Enjoy!

Please back up what u said with really mod. Otherwise, it is juz another NATO.

Similar debate for 323/325. But ECU & intake manifold is different. What's the pt of up the pwr if the brake/suspension cannot handle it? It would rather spent my $$$ to make it cup corner faster.

From http://www.bimmerfest.com/news/670647/f30-320i-vs-328i-engines--part-number-comparison/

With the roll out of the new entry level F30 320i BMW has kicked off a wave of discussion. Most interestingly the 320i and 328i both use the award winning N20; TwinPower single turbo, twin scroll, 2.0 liter inline 4 cylinder engine as the 328i. However the 320i is factory rated at 180 hp at 5,000 RPMs and 200 lb-ft of torque from 1,250 RPMs. On the other hand the 328i comes with 240hp at 5000 RPMs and 255 lb-ft of torque from 1250 RPMs. What happened to the missing 60 horses and 50 lf-ft of power if both cars are N20 powered?

The first obvious answer is something in BMW's DME control software that limits the power, most likely by limiting boost pressure, on the 320i. That appears to be true as both the 320 and the 328 use the same DME hardware (PN - 12148604210) and the same engine control system MEVD 17.2.9. With confirmation their is a software tweak to limit power on the 320i we go in search of other changes that might limit the 320is ability to make the same power the 328i N20 puts down.

The next easy target is the intake, exhaust manifold and turbo. Surprisingly they turned out to be the same part number. In fact the 320i and the 328i share almost the exact same part numbers for all the major engine components.

Shared engine components between F30 320i and 328i

• Cylinder head - PN 11127624778
  • Connecting rods - PN 11247624616
  • Crankshaft - PN 11212212762
  • Intake manifold - PN 11617588126
  • Air box - PN 13717597589
  • Air filter - PN 13718507320
  • Intercooler - PN 17517618809
  • Radiator - PN 17117600520
  • Throttle body - PN 13547588625
  • HPFP - PN 13517584461
  • MAF - PN 13627602038
  • DME/ECU - PN 12148604210
  • Exhaust manifold/turbo - PN 11657642469

See what is missing in the above list? The difference in the 320i and the 328i is the pistons. While both have a 10:1 compression ratio the 320i has a different part numbers for the pistons then the 328i. What that exactly means in terms of the ability to boost the turbo pressure and get 328 power from your 320 is not yet known.

Stay tuned as we continue to sift through BMW's technical documents searching for an answer.

Of course this is US spec cars being compared. But my point is alot of parts are pretty similar. Gear ratios might be different though.

I beg to differ. This is a pretty sport car. Driving comes before comfort.

From http://www.bimmerfest.com/news/670647/f30-320i-vs-328i-engines--part-number-comparison/

With the roll out of the new entry level F30 320i BMW has kicked off a wave of discussion. Most interestingly the 320i and 328i both use the award winning N20; TwinPower single turbo, twin scroll, 2.0 liter inline 4 cylinder engine as the 328i. However the 320i is factory rated at 180 hp at 5,000 RPMs and 200 lb-ft of torque from 1,250 RPMs. On the other hand the 328i comes with 240hp at 5000 RPMs and 255 lb-ft of torque from 1250 RPMs. What happened to the missing 60 horses and 50 lf-ft of power if both cars are N20 powered?

The first obvious answer is something in BMW's DME control software that limits the power, most likely by limiting boost pressure, on the 320i. That appears to be true as both the 320 and the 328 use the same DME hardware (PN - 12148604210) and the same engine control system MEVD 17.2.9. With confirmation their is a software tweak to limit power on the 320i we go in search of other changes that might limit the 320is ability to make the same power the 328i N20 puts down.

The next easy target is the intake, exhaust manifold and turbo. Surprisingly they turned out to be the same part number. In fact the 320i and the 328i share almost the exact same part numbers for all the major engine components.

Shared engine components between F30 320i and 328i

• Cylinder head - PN 11127624778
  • Connecting rods - PN 11247624616
  • Crankshaft - PN 11212212762
  • Intake manifold - PN 11617588126
  • Air box - PN 13717597589
  • Air filter - PN 13718507320
  • Intercooler - PN 17517618809
  • Radiator - PN 17117600520
  • Throttle body - PN 13547588625
  • HPFP - PN 13517584461
  • MAF - PN 13627602038
  • DME/ECU - PN 12148604210
  • Exhaust manifold/turbo - PN 11657642469

See what is missing in the above list? The difference in the 320i and the 328i is the pistons. While both have a 10:1 compression ratio the 320i has a different part numbers for the pistons then the 328i. What that exactly means in terms of the ability to boost the turbo pressure and get 328 power from your 320 is not yet known.

Stay tuned as we continue to sift through BMW's technical documents searching for an answer.

Of course this is US spec cars being compared. But my point is alot of parts are pretty similar. Gear ratios might be different though.

I beg to differ. This is a pretty sport car. Driving comes before comfort.

Good luck!

• Dislike 1

The difference is 30 grand now? Same options?

Difference was less than 20k when f30 was first launched, I was quoted.

It is not cooling that is the problem. It is heat soak causing IAT to rise...then your ecu will pull back. Whether you feel it or not is another thing.

Anyway, intercooler is cheap mod.

Seriously, just go google the keywords I gave a while back. Don't need to hope, it will happen if you throw in some money.

You will also see why it is hard to push the power too much on the 320i by just changing the boost. Hint: Lean

Not naysayer, it is been there, done that. Actually I still have a tmc tuning box in my car.

Modding a cheap old civic or wrx is fun.

Your 300k bmw throwing out a drivetrain malfunction while you are on the nshw will only make you sweat.

Not to mention that the 328i will offer a lot more potential if you really want to mod...

Edited by Zyklon

NATO? There is significant literature online regarding F30 320i performance mods. I suggest you partake in some Google action yourself before making adversarial statements that don't add any value to the dialogue.

Tell them it is too low. They should aim for 200hp. It is the same block as Mini Cooper S JCW.

Please back up what u said with really mod. Otherwise, it is juz another NATO.

NATO? There is significant literature online regarding F30 320i performance mods. I suggest you partake in some Google action yourself before making adversarial statements that don't add any value to the dialogue.

So, have you mod your F30 320 to 328 power?

To each his own lah..

My neighbour mod his 320i to 328i and he is very happy with his "work". He can obviously afford the additional $$$ for the 328i but he choose to spend his money differently.

IMHO, to deduce that someone modding a 320i to 328i cannot afford a 328i is shallow.

To each his own lah..

My neighbour mod his 320i to 328i and he is very happy with his "work". He can obviously afford the additional $$$ for the 328i but he choose to spend his money differently.

IMHO, to deduce that someone modding a 320i to 328i cannot afford a 328i is shallow.

some people can afford, but does not want to pay for the 328

Some ballless ppl junk me anonymously again.

It is nvr about whether can afford 328 or not. What's the pt of wasting time to mod when ur car has a life of 10 yrs only.

• Dislike 1

if you buy a car specially mod it to high performance, should get those with higher mod potential, such as Rex, GTRs blah blah....

trying to push more HP on stock internals, other than warranty void also risk a blown engine faster, if you get a 328 still wanna mod might as well get a M3 so onz.

anyway Singapore do not have much road to display the performance of your tuned up car too, a high BHP car is difficult to be road legal.

yes to each his own.

i'm neutral for the idea of buying 320 and mod to 328 and even matching stock 335 power

but one should also responsible for his own act

dont cry papa cry mama if kena stomp .... "a bmw caught fire in expressway"

To each his own lah..

a stock 320 with 184bhp/270Nm is more than enough

in spore ... you can pick up "reasonably" fast and go

in msia nsh ... you can whack till 200+ kmph (also must check you got balls to go faster)

don't expect the 320 even with mods churn out the vroom vroom sound like 335 or m3

the exotic exhaust and engine sound cannot be re-produced no matter with what mod (been there done that)

don't expect the 320 even with mods churn out the vroom vroom sound like 335 or m3

the exotic exhaust and engine sound cannot be re-produced no matter with what mod (been there done that)

Even Akra is from 335 onwards. I think ppl still don't understand there is no replacement for displacement.

• Dislike 2

Even Akra is from 335 onwards. I think ppl still don't understand there is no replacement for displacement.

KNS. This thread also kenna junk by ballless person.

• Dislike 4

Heh heh true statement about the displacement.

Loved the Akra I owned (for a week). Beautiful craftsmanship with attention to the fine details. Unfortunately the low rev drone is too much to bear.

• Dislike 1