Acemundo Supercharged October 31, 2013 Share October 31, 2013 but the funny thing is in BKK and JKT or even KL nowadays, they dun really care when stuck in the jam or they have given up and it is just their daily life to be stuck in the jam for 3 hours. haha yeah. the thing about humans is, they can be conditioned to accept things once it becomes daily occurrence or status quo. that's why you bring singaporeans to KL, they keep lamenting the slow traffic....me is one such culprit haha ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamomatt 2nd Gear October 31, 2013 Share October 31, 2013 (edited) I think the most outrageous part is the police's reply. The first bump might be accidental but what comes after is intentional... Edited October 31, 2013 by Jamomatt Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged October 31, 2013 Share October 31, 2013 buy the way, this kind of road behaviour is not uncommon here. I heard in other places eg NZ, drivers seldom behave this way, are there any particular reasons for the absence of such road behaviour? I'm not qualified to answer such a question, and anything I say is just talking through a hole in my hat....but that's never stopped me before I think part of it is the education and the leadership we get here in Singapore - where "right" is all that counts, and everyone else is told to fly kite. I see the attitude of "my road" quite a lot, where somebody just wants to prove they are in the right rather than getting to where they want to go safely - just compare parking Singapore style to Boleh style. Over there, anything goes so long as you don't block others. Here - even if you don't disturb or hurt anyone, people will still KPKB for you being "wrong" I think there's also a certain amount of arrogance related to car ownership because of the cost. But also, don't believe you don't see arsehole driving in NZ - because you do! I think also, Singaporeans tend to be more "sensitive" about perceived slights, and take offense easier than I experienced back home. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wrathchild156 2nd Gear October 31, 2013 Share October 31, 2013 1st contact :- Toyota DID brake ( brake lights lighted ( continously ) during their tango ) - SUV kept on dragging Toyota. Why Toyota dun swerve to left ?... Why Lexus dun brake ?.... 2nd contact :- Toyota continue braking & was dragged again for another round of tango..... 01 axxhole + 01 axxhole = 02 super axxholes Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear October 31, 2013 Share October 31, 2013 Always have this type of clown driver on the road which we already signal n enough space to change lane. I got this last week and I already changed into the lane and the BMW 5 series speed up n honk me. My middle finger up all the way till he stop honking. Try this in future, let him overtake you, and do a peace sign to him with a big smile, you will anger him more =))) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear October 31, 2013 Share October 31, 2013 5) At the 16 sec mark, it's also obvious that lexi was up to no good when it started accelerating from about 5-6 car lengths back behind the camry. It's not an expressway, why the sudden need for speed? Yep, why is there a sudden need of speed when it's clearly a red light infront for right turning cars..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Penknife 5th Gear October 31, 2013 Share October 31, 2013 drivers, protected by metal, usually doesn't care about banging another car. try riding on 2 wheels and see whether they dare to bang or not. confirm all guai guai on the road. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear October 31, 2013 Share October 31, 2013 I'm not qualified to answer such a question, and anything I say is just talking through a hole in my hat....but that's never stopped me before I think part of it is the education and the leadership we get here in Singapore - where "right" is all that counts, and everyone else is told to fly kite. I see the attitude of "my road" quite a lot, where somebody just wants to prove they are in the right rather than getting to where they want to go safely - just compare parking Singapore style to Boleh style. Over there, anything goes so long as you don't block others. Here - even if you don't disturb or hurt anyone, people will still KPKB for you being "wrong" I think there's also a certain amount of arrogance related to car ownership because of the cost. But also, don't believe you don't see a------e driving in NZ - because you do! I think also, Singaporeans tend to be more "sensitive" about perceived slights, and take offense easier than I experienced back home. Thanks for sharing these views. Maybe the pace of life, presence of nice natural scenery, more space for everyone on the roads also make a difference. I am purely guessing as I have not been to NZ yet. haha yeah. the thing about humans is, they can be conditioned to accept things once it becomes daily occurrence or status quo. that's why you bring singaporeans to KL, they keep lamenting the slow traffic....me is one such culprit haha besides nice music CDs, I am looking for some comedy CDs to keep in my car and listen to them when there's a jam I think it is the culture of the country and people as well as due to the socio-economic environment. not just kiwis, Australians were also generally ok. even the americans were ok. singaporeans are generally very stressed up and live each day in hurry and like constantly fighting for themselves. that's why this has manifested even in our driving and of course, Chinese generally are more competitive. but having said that, generally there is such less petty manoeuvres in such countries when driving in the urban area rather than city area. which brings me to the second point. generally, the more crowded the roads are, people tend to drop one notch their graciousness in driving. and Singapore roads are mostly city like in density so that kinds of partially explain the phenomenon. Road rage is more likely to happen when drivers fight for space in crowded places. Or when drivers are constantly fighting for time. When drivers are on the roads for holidays, the jams seem to have less negative effects on their behaviour. Kiwis are generally more socially aware, unlike some inhabitants of this island watching sheeps too often!!? that's why the people's tempers are milder no point fining this lexus driver he's probably too rich for that best punishment is to ban him from driving any cars more than 1000cc (let him drive a cherry QQ for 5 years) by the same token, repeated speeding offenders will be restricted to cars having less than 50hp?!! not a bad idea Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic October 31, 2013 Share October 31, 2013 People lament why both drivers still so gungho even in the presence of polis. My question is.....whats the diff? Are they expecting polis to do something about it? Wait long long.....I say. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged October 31, 2013 Share October 31, 2013 check this out: http://wanbao.omy.sg/multimedia/vodcast/story20131030-15187#photo the black SUV really outrageous... should be banned from the roads! [:|] [shakehead] Now that this has made it to the papers, will TP investigate or pretend never see and condone such wild wild west lexus-style driving? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahseng 5th Gear October 31, 2013 Share October 31, 2013 Interesting to see if MATA will do anything or not. and how the insurer gonna chut patterns. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged October 31, 2013 Share October 31, 2013 Thanks for sharing these views. Maybe the pace of life, presence of nice natural scenery, more space for everyone on the roads also make a difference. I am purely guessing as I have not been to NZ yet. One thing that you have to be very aware of driving in New Zealand - you never know what's around the next corner. The roads are a bit different to here - for city streets to have a raised median with a fence is very rare. We don't have many highways (proportionally speaking) And when you get out of the city, it is mostly one lane in each direction with just a white line separating. that makes you drive very different to how you can here. You never know when you might meet someone cutting the corner a little in the opposite direction, someone stopped to take a photo or change a tyre or some other hazard. Things that I don't worry about as much here - on surface / city streets I see the speed of cars here as MUCH higher than I ever did back home - eg: Tamines Road from KPE towards Hougang Avenue 3 - even if I'm doing 80, a lot of people will still overtake me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brobear 2nd Gear October 31, 2013 Share October 31, 2013 Black SUV have $$$, that's why think the road is his. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cruise 1st Gear October 31, 2013 Share October 31, 2013 In some other countries, the rich can 'legally' kill the poor. I hope Singapore will not become like this in the near future. Lesson learnt from this episode, do not signal and expect others to let you into their lane. Even if the SUV accelerate to close up the gap, technically he is not wrong. Morally he is very wrong, probably not fit to exist on the planet at all. When I signal, I make sure I definitely will get into the lane I wanted. Even if the vehicle wanted to close up the gap, I will make sure 100% of my car in into the lane. However, if he cannot brake in time, he will surely bang into my boot. Just make things simple, claim his insurance and wait for insurance company verdict. When I was a new driver, when I signal right, all the cars on the right become faster. When I signal left, all the cars on my left close up the gap too. Soon I realized I need to depend on myself rather than waiting for some rare kind soul to give way to me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carnoob Supercharged October 31, 2013 Share October 31, 2013 I see many comments about the polis but I'm wondering what are we expecting from the polis? When the first hit happens, the polis alr "queuing" up to turn right. Are we expecting the polis to have eyes behind them? When the second hit happens, that's when the polis saw the accident and on their blinkers. Rush or Negligence act / Public Nuisance Act is seizable (arrest) only if the polis see the person doing it. If polis arrived and they stopped, what am I expecting them to do? If we are all so civic-minded (same as the spatting case in Woodlands), the one with the video clips should show it to the polis and hve those egotistic sick-minded people to be arrested. If we are defending the altis driver saying that he will not be able to anticipate the Lexus accelerating, yet we are saying polis will be able to see the first and subsequent "bumping" when polis are "queuing" up WITH a car behind them... to me 2 WORDS - NO LOGIC. Back to the accident, both drivers' attitude is already wrong. Both should be punished and taken off the road. Insurance should void their coverage and increase their premium. These are the kind of drivers which cost the insurance premium to rocket sky high for normal, innocent drivers 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cruise 1st Gear October 31, 2013 Share October 31, 2013 Stupid ignorant (expect people to give way) toyota driver V.S. Arrogant lexus driver. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carnoob Supercharged October 31, 2013 Share October 31, 2013 Stupid ignorant (expect people to give way) toyota driver V.S. Arrogant lexus driver. Well summarized!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fastnfaster 3rd Gear October 31, 2013 Share October 31, 2013 (edited) Don't worries, TP will call up the SUV for questioning soon.... Now they armed with the youtube video, they will take action... WTF, tot there was a mata chia on d scene? do u mean no injury, bo dai ji? do u wait for a live lost before taking action? Edited October 31, 2013 by Fastnfaster ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...