Little india riot

Vega

If after a simple proceeding, where the accused are read out the charges and they plead guilty to it, then yes, by all means punish them accordingly.

Lol can't believe you are muddling your work issue with a legal issue.

so you would rather them been jailed and deported?

if they are identified, investigate, and put on trial, chances that they will be jailed, cane and send home after that, that i am sure they will end up as.

maybe you are one of the social activist which i respect. But i also respect those that was put in danger, got injured and the culprit were caught and identified.

and if you still think my comments were ridiculous, at least i am not those who ask the police to shoot on the spot <_<

Edited by Jman888

if all 400 send home, who going to build the hdb flat? those applied have to wait for another year?

dont worry, there are millions of spurs in hide chaps willing to replace the 400 at half the price [laugh]

i actually agree with that. I wonder for those deported if being kicked out might be even worse off than going to jail. Considering many take huge loans from loan-sharks there just to step foot here.

jail + deport consperm more jia lat than deport only

there are two actions in the riot, the active and taking leading roles are charged, a few were release after investigation (not fair ?), while the other group are in supporting role and not obeying order from police, those are misconduct, under the employment law, misconduct is not a crime but can be dismissed under the contract.

i thot participation in a riot, even though passive, is a crime?

i remember got one ns boy knows that another ns boy take out gun, but never inform his bosses, kena jail?

I totally disagree with your statement. Do you know what is human rights? Who gives them the right to say that those who were caught were guilty??? Importantly, where is the fairness of a trial?

So we have really turned into North Korean now huh? Just like how they executed their no.2 man recently.

I am quite shocked by yours statement to be honest.

I dont think you have followed the full details of this.

Police have clearly made the effort to identify specific miscreants after going through all the video/cctv footage, interviewing workers from different dormitories. Evidence is then presented to a judge who has to confirm if the proof is enough to prove them guilty. The process was expedited but doesnt mean it wasnt folowed. Some people were even let go because evidence was not sufficient against them.

Its not like they picked few random people and giving them punishment to set an example. So comparison with North Korea is really irrelevant.

Think Marvelicious' point is that there is punishment without trial. I would suppose those deported admitted guilt and waived the right to challenge ba.. personally think for the less serious deportation is fair. If they deny being involved, our laws would provide them the avenue to contest those charges

The purpose of a trial in the true legal system is to give both sides the opportunity to prove their case so that the decision by the judge can be made looking at both sides of the story so to speak.

The removal of an opportunity for a fair trial amounts to taking side and denying the other side a chance to show proof he is innocent. If the accused cant produce evidence to convince the judge to support his innocence, he will then have to face the full force of the law.

Edited by Maseratigood

Personally, it's better that they seek human rights in their own country when they return from their adventure here. Perhaps, their government will assist with their human rights before their loan sharks and families for what they have done in a host country.

They have their embassy to address their rights before our government. Due diligence would have been carried out in their investigations. If they had only interviewed 10 witnesses instead of 4000 +, I would be inclined to think there might be a mistake.

Hence, I disagree about these not getting human rights via a trial. I believe in the work of our police and the findings of their investigations. But, it is just my personal opinion and view and er..... human rights to express it thus. Of course, everyone have and are free to exercise their human rights to disagree.

Safe ride

i have come to realise why a number of these FWs are deported and not sent to jail

sending these chaps to jail first may give the mistaken understadning that these jokers need to go jail first then can kena deport

i think this will give a huge warning to these FWs: dont think you need to go to jail first then you can be deported. want to riot? deport lor [laugh]

Personally, it's better that they seek human rights in their own country when they return from their adventure here. Perhaps, their government will assist with their human rights before their loan sharks and families for what they have done in a host country.

They have their embassy to address their rights before our government. Due diligence would have been carried out in their investigations. If they had only interviewed 10 witnesses instead of 4000 +, I would be inclined to think there might be a mistake.

Hence, I disagree about these not getting human rights via a trial. I believe in the work of our police and the findings of their investigations. But, it is just my personal opinion and view and er..... human rights to express it thus. Of course, everyone have and are free to exercise their human rights to disagree.

Safe ride

I totally disagree with your statement. Do you know what is human rights? Who gives them the right to say that those who were caught were guilty??? Importantly, where is the fairness of a trial?

So we have really turned into North Korean now huh? Just like how they executed their no.2 man recently.

I am quite shocked by yours statement to be honest.

Perhaps they have already pleaded guilty, hence no trial?

Even in the US, the practice that IF the person pleads guilty and there is sufficient evidence by prosecution to bring about the guilt.

And to add to the fairness of a trial statement, even in the US, trials are sometimes said to be unfair because of biasness (OJ Simpson and Rodney King trials come to mind) so even if there was a trial, who is to stop anyone from saying the trials are fair and so on.....

Edited by Philipkee

Perhaps they have already pleaded guilty, hence no trial?

Even in the US, the practice that IF the person pleads guilty and there is sufficient evidence by prosecution to bring about the guilt.

And to add to the fairness of a trial statement, even in the US, trials are sometimes said to be unfair because of biasness (OJ Simpson and Rodney King trials come to mind) so even if there was a trial, who is to stop anyone from saying the trials are fair and so on.....

In Sg, there is no legal representation during police interogation. Fair or not?

Here is guilty unless proven innocent.

Other countries is innocent unless proven guilty.

Edited by Fcw75

In Sg, there is no legal representation during police interogation. Fair or not?

I throw back the question to you. Would the presence of a lawyer during interrogation make things fairer? Please note that the people charged are not simpletons with no way of getting help. At the very worse, they can get assistance or complain to the Indian Ambassador.

While we know and hear of cases of abuse taking place, in an event of such a scale, I do no think the police will risk charges of being unfair and having the whole thing blow up on their faces.

Yes, they might be hard up for our cash and jobs in Singapore and hence the abuse here but if they have been threatened of their very livelihood, I do not think that they do not know how to use all the avenues open to them.

Again, just my thoughts.

I throw back the question to you. Would the presence of a lawyer during interrogation make things fairer? Please note that the people charged are not simpletons with no way of getting help. At the very worse, they can get assistance or complain to the Indian Ambassador.

While we know and hear of cases of abuse taking place, in an event of such a scale, I do no think the police will risk charges of being unfair and having the whole thing blow up on their faces.

Yes, they might be hard up for our cash and jobs in Singapore and hence the abuse here but if they have been threatened of their very livelihood, I do not think that they do not know how to use all the avenues open to them.

Again, just my thoughts.

I also throw back the question to you. Do you know your rights under Sg legal framework? W/o knowing one's right, how could an interrogation be fair without legal representation?

Here is guilty unless proven innocent.

Other countries is innocent unless proven guilty.

Very zhoon.

W/o knowing one's right, how could an interrogation be fair without legal representation?

Agree on this. But heard that sometime back they said doing so could impede investigations. In our case, the obvious reason is that an ignorant suspect is very much easier to squeeze.

Later when know his rights, too late liao. Doubt this practice would ever change.

Simply put, peasants like us better don't get into trouble since we don't fully know our legal rights. Don't even talk abt those FWs who have no access to a lawyer then or know nuts about engaging a lawyer.

The rich, on the other hand, can easily engage a lawyer to fight for them.

I also throw back the question to you. Do you know your rights under Sg legal framework? W/o knowing one's right, how could an interrogation be fair without legal representation?

http://www.lawsociety.org.sg/forPublic/YoutheLaw/ArrestBail.aspx

I think the main thing is we have the right to request for a call to the lawyer. Now, I know that if the police is louder, we can be denied this right but unless for us Singaporeans, it is all dragon talking, I believe we are capable of raising a hoo haa (Unless ISD is involved ) but that is another issue.

For the foreigners, I believe they should have been informed of their rights. If they have not, I believe now is the time to read up more. I like to believe that they are not as stupid and naive as sometimes we make them out to be.

For those who do not know, you can read the links and if mods allow, we can post more links for info purposes.

Edited by Philipkee

http://www.lawsociety.org.sg/forPublic/YoutheLaw/ArrestBail.aspx

I think the main thing is we have the right to request for a call to the lawyer. Now, I know that if the police is louder, we can be denied this right but unless for us Singaporeans, it is all dragon talking, I believe we are capable of raising a hoo haa (Unless ISD is involved ) but that is another issue.

For the foreigners, I believe they should have been informed of their rights. If they have not, I believe now is the time to read up more. I like to believe that they are not as stupid and naive as sometimes we make them out to be.

Read your link properly. There is no mention of legal representation during interrogation.

It is not a matter of stupid or clever.

It is a matter of know or don't know.

Safe ride

I think the ah long in India would get to them 1st before their formal admin can help. India No.1 for corruption?

That's 1 of the reasons why Bangala worker who get conned her end up on MRT tracks.

Quick death over slow death via tok cui cui.

Read your link properly. There is no mention of legal representation during interrogation.

It is not a matter of stupid or clever.

It is a matter of know or don't know.

think the main thing is we have the right to request for a call to the lawyer.

Please note that I started the post with this sentence.

True but you can call a lawyer who should advise you properly.

Well, if they do not know, perhaps I am mistaken because I always thought that there would have been an emergency number for all foreigners to call when they come to work in Singapore (or their embassies) where they can get the advise.

If they do not know, and perhaps many of us do not also, perhaps we can have a thread on this because I think I am digressing from the main topic.

Edited by Philipkee