Little india riot

Vega

This is an extract from a TIME article ........ treat it as food for thought. The actual reason for the riot is still unknown & still under investigation.

The last public discord of this scale was when Chinese and Malay residents clashed in 1969. But according to Bridget Welsh, an associate professor of political science at Singapore Management University, such an eruption had long been brewing, although the “scope was still shocking” considering the spark was a simple traffic accident. “The workers should be able to think that they can go to the police [after the bus crash] and get some sort of justice,” she tells TIME. “So the interesting question is, why didn’t they and why instead they reacted the way they did.”

Singapore, which boasts a population of just 5 million, saw its strongest outbreak of labor unrest last year when 170 bus drivers from mainland China went on strike illegally. “You have a very tense relationship — a difficult working environment and not enough protection from the government,” explains Welsh.

Little India is usually teeming with people on Sundays, when many construction workers from Bangladesh and India gather during their free day from work. But increasingly, the atmosphere in this vibrant district has been combustive. “A lot of foreign labor feels increasingly exploited,” adds Welsh, “and on the other side you have a population that is so angry about all these workers coming in.”

KNN still the same old jiaowei.

People kpkb for years about foreign PMETs they all still acting blur think people kpkb about the foreign labourers who do the construction/shipyard/sai kang jobs.

Meanwhile sacasm from East M.....

20131215_datuk_star.jpg

Datuk Richard Riot Jaem(notice the word riot in his name? [grin] ) says:

"KUCHING - Human Resources Minister Datuk Richard Riot Jaem believes that foreign workers in Malaysia are not only "happy", but that this country is "heaven on earth" for them."

http://news.asiaone.com/news/malaysia/malaysia-heaven-earth-foreign-workers-minister

today LI very quiet. restaurants lose big time. [sweatdrop]

Some HDBs in Little India have fences around the void deck area to prevent FW from congregating in void decks.

about the Riot Minister's article; 53% graded his comments Disgusted.

What do you feel about this story? Express it here.
AmusedAmused0%
Share this with:
mood_fb.jpgmood_tw.jpg
LikeLike0%
Share this with:
mood_fb.jpgmood_tw.jpg
ShockedShocked12%
Share this with:
mood_fb.jpgmood_tw.jpg
EnlightenedEnlightened18%
Share this with:
mood_fb.jpgmood_tw.jpg
AngryAngry0%
Share this with:
mood_fb.jpgmood_tw.jpg
IndifferentIndifferent18%
Share this with:
mood_fb.jpgmood_tw.jpg
DisgustedDisgusted53%
Share this with:
mood_fb.jpgmood_tw.jpg
SadSad0%

This is an extract from a TIME article ........ treat it as food for thought. The actual reason for the riot is still unknown & still under investigation.

The last public discord of this scale was when Chinese and Malay residents clashed in 1969. But according to Bridget Welsh, an associate professor of political science at Singapore Management University, such an eruption had long been brewing, although the “scope was still shocking” considering the spark was a simple traffic accident. “The workers should be able to think that they can go to the police [after the bus crash] and get some sort of justice,” she tells TIME. “So the interesting question is, why didn’t they and why instead they reacted the way they did.”

Singapore, which boasts a population of just 5 million, saw its strongest outbreak of labor unrest last year when 170 bus drivers from mainland China went on strike illegally. “You have a very tense relationship — a difficult working environment and not enough protection from the government,” explains Welsh.

Little India is usually teeming with people on Sundays, when many construction workers from Bangladesh and India gather during their free day from work. But increasingly, the atmosphere in this vibrant district has been combustive. “A lot of foreign labor feels increasingly exploited,” adds Welsh, “and on the other side you have a population that is so angry about all these workers coming in.”

Exploitation:

Can the employers of these FWs and the authorities / institutions involved with workers' welfare clarify if they are aware of, and making eough provisions to manage, these exploitations?

Angry:

What're the likely causes of the anger if it exists at all?

Edited by Maseratigood

Exploitation:

Can the employers of these FWs and the authorities / institutions involved with workers' welfare clarify if they are aware of, and making eough provisions to manage, these exploitations?

Angry:

The local newspapers have gone to great pains to point out again and again that the authorities are pretty sure that FW's dissatisfaction over working conditions, etc. have NOTHING to do with the recent riot. [rolleyes] Better still, there is no dissatisfaction, going by the info received in face-to-face talks with the workers themselves.

It was apparently due to having too much to drink so the solution implemented is to ban alcohol sales, as we are seeing now. [hur]

Sadly, many locals, especially the older and less educated generations, having stereotyped views of the FWs, are fully accepting the alcohol story...

Edited by Sosaria

The local newspapers have gone to great pains to point out again and again that the authorities are pretty sure that FW's dissatisfaction over working conditions, etc. have NOTHING to do with the recent riot. [rolleyes] Better still, there is no dissatisfaction, going by the info received in face-to-face talks with the workers themselves.

It was apparently due to having too much to drink so the solution implemented is to ban alcohol sales, as we are seeing now. [hur]

Sadly, many locals, especially the older and less educated generations, having stereotyped views of the FWs, are fully accepting the alcohol story...

agreed..alcohol is just a red herring to assure the elderly and lesser educated that everything is fine and under control..notice how fast they repair and pave the roads, paint the sidewalks to make it spanking new in order to "cover up" the scene of rioting..in due time everything will be swept under the carpet

Else the rich and famous riot.

Then only 2 pieces of Coe to police force and 1 piece to CD.

Bus these poor saps to rich people place like district 15 lor, see how fast the solutions come.

Rich north Indians no like those poor peons. Will call them high on drugs.

This riot should not have happened IMHO. Someone caulked it up.

:-)

Exploitation:

Angry:

http://www.straitstimes.com/the-big-story/little-india-riot/story/no-evidence-unhappiness-among-foreign-workers-led-little-india

Think the word "no evidence" is not so suitable.

Since COI hasn't even had meeting #1.

How about saying " It is extremely unlikely, but we have appointed a COI and they shall get to the bottom of things"

My worry is, foreigners may see it in different light.

Not me though ..... I am local.

My ftiend, a foreign nurse once commented that there is a lot of rage in singapore but it is just beneath the surface. When the right catalyst occurss, it wil explode.

Guess we are starting to see the rage exploding. By the way, he made this comment in 2003.

Has teo paid a visit to the fw dorms to forge better ties ( as HA min).

I am seeing alot of pictures of Shan & Indian union officials doing the visits.

post-114176-0-38195800-1387113523_thumb.jpg

post-114176-0-91958000-1387113537.jpg

What stereotyped view is that? That they're all like our former Pres, NAIR?

That NAIR = No Alcohol I Resign.

This lot of NAIR = No Alcohol I Riot!! [laugh]

Sorry, I figured I was due my one completely irresponsible post in this thread. Junk away! :D

Has teo paid a visit to the fw dorms to forge better ties ( as HA min).

I am seeing alot of pictures of Shan & Indian union officials doing the visits.

It doesn't look like wayang this time. but maybe it's a classic case of patching the leaks only when water starts gashing into the boat.............. or start digging a shiiit hole only when the shiit is shooting thru the asshol........... nonetheless I guess its better late than never [grin]

My ftiend, a foreign nurse once commented that there is a lot of rage in singapore but it is just beneath the surface. When the right catalyst occurss, it wil explode.

Guess we are starting to see the rage exploding. By the way, he made this comment in 2003.

A typical response from them will be "Please show us the statistics how many nurses actually say such a thing? Otherwise we DONT respond to rumours. Case closed"

On a lighter note, maybe the nurse was referring to the rage under the blankets of horny patients she happened to be looking after!!

My point about Teo/Shan:

Home Affairs minister should visit some of the fw commmunity involved in the riot.

This to mend ties, see their living conditions, give a ear, whatever....

We know his men & assets got whacked/wrecked but still a visit by him will show alot.

Sending Law & Foreign minister is just half right. Right only for Law part.

It may be seen as a wrong signal..... that this country solves problem on color of skin.

I only saw Tpt minister visit LI on TV last night.

If Teo has done some visits, I am not aware yet.

It doesn't look like wayang this time. but maybe it's a classic case of patching the leaks only when water starts gashing into the boat.............. or start digging a shiiit hole only when the shiit is shooting thru the asshol........... nonetheless I guess its better late than never [grin]

A typical response from them will be "Please show us the statistics how many nurses actually say such a thing? Otherwise we DONT respond to rumours. Case closed"

On a lighter note, maybe the nurse was referring to the rage under the blankets of horny patients she happened to be looking after!!

I get you .... there are only horny patients and "no evidence" of horny nurses.

1) I am not exactly sure about that, but after the FWs have tasted the thrills of overturning polis cars and ambulance, nothing will be impossible nowadays..... to play it safe, we need to put some tanks in front of the istana gate just in case... the temptations of being able to dance around the many well nourished trees in the garden inside Istana are too great to resist after a few can of beers [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

2) Oh, the name does ring a bell!!! did you also grow alfro hair style in those days, got pics of you?? I think another feature of Jimi Hendrix was his thick lips... he's a real geniues!!!

1) And ty can also urinate on the plants to make them grow faster n bear more juicy fruits.

2) No but I had shoulder length hair. Those were the days of the Hippie culture.

Meanwhile sacasm from East M.....

20131215_datuk_star.jpg

Datuk Richard Riot Jaem(notice the word riot in his name? [grin] ) says:

"KUCHING - Human Resources Minister Datuk Richard Riot Jaem believes that foreign workers in Malaysia are not only "happy", but that this country is "heaven on earth" for them."

http://news.asiaone.com/news/malaysia/malaysia-heaven-earth-foreign-workers-minister

Hahaha. What a joke.

Foreign workers r exploited even more in Msia. U just ask those oil palm workers how ty feel.

Even their maids r beaten n starved regularly.

This guy seems like he just smoked a joint then issued that statement.