Marina Coastal Expressway (MCE)

Porker

It looks funny cutting across the old expressway outside MBS. Are they going to scrap Sheares bridge? Or keep it for Sheaes bridge run?

Don't scrap the bridge lah...can built a hotel or shopping mall on it. With its height and location, it will give customers an excellent view of the waterfront, Gardens by the Bay, and Marina Barage.

Just a suggestion lah.

Don't scrap the bridge lah...can built a hotel or shopping mall on it. With its height and location, it will give customers an excellent view of the waterfront, Gardens by the Bay, and Marina Barage.

Just a suggestion lah.

They got say the bridge will still be there. Just that it's not an expressway anymore.

Just a suggestion lah.

Maybe they will charge $25 for ppl to go up there to take pictures or when the time comes watch F1.

I believe LTA had conducted a traffic impact assessment but it's really mind boggling why this happened.

That junction just beside Tower 3 is the bottleneck. It has nothing to do with gawkers and spectators. Come take a look from above and you will instantly realize the problem LOL

I tried out the route yesterday as i needed to travel there daily.

The MCE is not the issue. The issue is actually the connecting roads to and from MCE within the MBFC area. They are

1. too few lanes (underestimation by planner) and exacerbated by bus stops blocking traffic along the way

2. too many twists and turns causing traffic to slow down with a carry on impact all the way to the MCE exit earlier on, causing massive jams

3. poorly paved roads (very undulating and very bumpy) in MBFC leading to the MCE

I also suspect part of the MCE was not opened yesterday. I wanted to get into the MCE via Maxwell Road (as indicated by LTA in their website) but was unable to as there seemed to be no roads!!!! I was led into CBD then MBFC aread again, bypassing an ERP gantry on the way. I know that gantry is in operations in the evening. So the big question is if I work in the CBD and am driving back East, should I be "penalised" because I am "forced" to re-enter CBD to get onto MCE. Previously, that was not the case.

I am not sure if this is permanent but if you are on Keppel Rd, you cannot get onto MCE directly although the road signs (2 in fact) say you can. The Keppel Rd entrance to the old ECP has been closed but brand new road signs (the usual green ones) say you can. So what is going on?

On 29 Dec, LTA actually shut down some of the traffic lights in the MBFC area and I suspect it is because the MBFC roads could not handle even the typical Sunday traffic volume. Good luck to all who are working in CBD and using the MCE tonight.

I expect a lot more road works in the MBFC area because of the bottleneck there. Can you imagine next Mon when the full work force starts 2014?

Yes. It is still open. However if you are travelling from the west via AYE, you will need travel via MCE to exit at Marina Boulevard to bayfront ave to suntec.

And I thought that from west to east, we can drive from AYE direct connect to the MCE then ECP. If we have to exit the expressway, it will create an instant bottleneck.

i think once everyone get used to mce, would not be so bad liao

I was stucked there from 8.40am to 9.15am this morning man.... argh.....

i think once everyone get used to mce, would not be so bad liao

MCE sure no jam.

It is actually the roads out of MCE into Shenton area which are jammed and thus the displeasure shown here.

2 words. Poor planning.

Another 2 words. No foresight.

Bottomline: Don't open if it is not ready. If cannot keep to 29 Dec deadline, then so be it. What do they say in the Army? Something like rush to wait, then wait to rush?

I was stucked there from 8.40am to 9.15am this morning man.... argh.....

bo pian one lah

today is the only sub-real operational date,because 50% of the people working

next week when everyone go to work, then can expect more jialat

but i think when everyone knows the route liao, should be not so bad liao

i think they will widen those mfc roads

MCE sure no jam.

It is actually the roads out of MCE into Shenton area which are jammed and thus the displeasure shown here.

2 words. Poor planning.

Bottomline: Don't open if it is not ready. If cannot keep to 29 Dec deadline, then so be it. What do they say in the Army? Something like rush to wait, then wait to rush?

i think they now surfing mcf [grin] balls shrink liao

consperm widen those roads out of mce [laugh]

MCE sure no jam.

2 words. Poor planning.

i dun think the road to city is fully completed, many road are still in a mess and rushing to complete as can see from the blocks of concrete.

but the only thing i know for sure is it won't be free now <_<

I clicked the link but nothing interesting there. Maybe the earlier content has been removed because I know some of the maps were changed within 5 minutes of me clicking the same link.

Scroll down & see this section "

Key Travelling routes when mce opens

"

As of 10am, MCE (AYE => ECP/KPE) lane 5 (last lane) is jammed up.

i dun think the road to city is fully completed, many road are still in a mess and rushing to complete as can see from the blocks of concrete.

but the only thing i know for sure is it won't be free now <_<

maybe like kpe, build but wont swtich on (cross fingers) [sweatdrop]

MCE sure no jam.

2 words. Poor planning.

they only have foresight to put ERP....