Zxcvb Turbocharged March 8, 2014 Share March 8, 2014 Actually, can't really blame those ppl on the ground lah. All are too used to the usual routine for way too long and become complacent. And also the typical Singaporean mindset of uniformed groups "follow law", "follow instructions", "follow rules", "follow order". Added to that, the kiasu thoughts of "will I get punished if I do this??". All these come into play. Last time in army whenever I was the guard commander, my mind was full of rules n regulation to follow. Count the keys, count the rounds, ensure this, ensure that, area cleaning, steps to turn out, remember officer cars, blah blah. Ultimately is to do the "routine" right so I don't kenna extra from RSM. But the main mission of a guard commd is the security of the camp - which was never in my mind. So yeh although I empathize these officers on the ground, it's still a big failure. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kobey 1st Gear March 8, 2014 Share March 8, 2014 My concern is that this is one car n the officers can't do anything to stop. What if it's a organised grp or terrorist grp? And the officers at the video really hesitate a whole lot. I can't say for sure I would have reacted better but they should be more well trained than how they reacted. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kobey 1st Gear March 8, 2014 Share March 8, 2014 Someone pls remind me what the custom is for ... collect chops on passport? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alheych 6th Gear March 8, 2014 Share March 8, 2014 Someone pls remind me what the custom is for ... collect chops on passport? ICA (Immigrations and Checkpoint Auhority) is in charge of border security and stamping passport. Customs is to make sure you don't bring in things which you ought to pay tax for but didn't pay. Police is to make sure you don't have dangerous stuff in your car. Cisco is there to help everyone with a little bit of everything. As I type all these, I start to understand why things go wrong. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged March 8, 2014 Share March 8, 2014 Actually, can't really blame those ppl on the ground lah. All are too used to the usual routine for way too long and become complacent. And also the typical Singaporean mindset of uniformed groups "follow law", "follow instructions", "follow rules", "follow order". Added to that, the kiasu thoughts of "will I get punished if I do this??". All these come into play. Last time in army whenever I was the guard commander, my mind was full of rules n regulation to follow. Count the keys, count the rounds, ensure this, ensure that, area cleaning, steps to turn out, remember officer cars, blah blah. Ultimately is to do the "routine" right so I don't kenna extra from RSM. But the main mission of a guard commd is the security of the camp - which was never in my mind. So yeh although I empathize these officers on the ground, it's still a big failure. maybe your unit different... last time we were guarding some xxx and we were given the gpmg and live rounds to shoot if some unauthorized xxx crossed our line. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fastfive1 5th Gear March 8, 2014 Share March 8, 2014 (edited) Very anti-climax. I thought the officer was going to smash the driver side window, switch of the ignition and pull out the car key. Actually did they test out the barrier? So easily can get across. Larger vehicles should have no problems too. Sebei lousy. Haha. What is likely to interest you is that they won't be able to do shit even if they smash the window. I'll explain. The ignition key in this old W124 is on the left side. Unless the officer has super long hands, maybe. It would be funny to see the officer attempt to pull the ignition key out but instead grab hold of thin air. This kind of situation, can't do much. Edited March 8, 2014 by Fastfive1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Caravan 5th Gear March 8, 2014 Share March 8, 2014 The spikes didn't seem to be up leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Datsun366 Turbocharged March 9, 2014 Share March 9, 2014 What they need is the ejecting bollards (jack in the box) to be built in, as well as a cattle pen a little way in front Think the baton officer read the situation wrong, his body language seems to be say he expects the driver to come out and challenge him or to obey him to off engine and get out of the vehicle. In the US, all firearms out Liao le. Baton Kee tui. Hire foreigners good, can immediate sack. No union to protect, hence more on at work. Dun tok about MC. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged March 9, 2014 Share March 9, 2014 (edited) The spikes didn't seem to be up leh. Lousy famzy metal looking blockage .. they should change that to more solid barrier or some retractable bollard.. Something like this is so much more effective... https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&cd=1&ved=0CC8QFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.youtube.com.sg%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DmRPEW2OMIU8&ei=frgbU5TXEsHSrQew-4GIBA&usg=AFQjCNED6MLGhuuWRkGxaRmYZWDw6e_U-w Edited March 9, 2014 by Yewheng Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kobey 1st Gear March 9, 2014 Share March 9, 2014 What they need is the ejecting bollards (jack in the box) to be built in, as well as a cattle pen a little way in front Think the baton officer read the situation wrong, his body language seems to be say he expects the driver to come out and challenge him or to obey him to off engine and get out of the vehicle. In the US, all firearms out Liao le. Baton Kee tui. Hire foreigners good, can immediate sack. No union to protect, hence more on at work. Dun tok about MC. Maybe he wanted to whack the guy. Then he saw its a 65 year old man and he got a shock. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JaguarXF 4th Gear March 9, 2014 Share March 9, 2014 The Spikes need some Viagra or Tongkat Ali to prop itself up. It seem to have problems erecting. This incident reminded me of two stupid incident in Woodlands checkpoint last week. Twice at 3am I crossed over to JB and twice after chopping my passport the spikes came up and barriers down. No reason was given. Wasted 20 minutes in the car looking straight. No amount of training will work if the equipments cannot use. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic March 9, 2014 Share March 9, 2014 What they need is the ejecting bollards (jack in the box) to be built in, as well as a cattle pen a little way in front Think the baton officer read the situation wrong, his body language seems to be say he expects the driver to come out and challenge him or to obey him to off engine and get out of the vehicle. In the US, all firearms out Liao le. Baton Kee tui. Hire foreigners good, can immediate sack. No union to protect, hence more on at work. Dun tok about MC. everybody can be a lao hero on hindsight.....every country has its own protocol to follow. US is a country where every one is treated like having a weapon (firearms) in most instance even for a simple traffic violation. Down here everyone is likely to follow the law and in this instance an old man ...what would you do? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolfy3769 2nd Gear March 9, 2014 Share March 9, 2014 will the driver uncle said, he saw many ppl running towards him, so he run loh... like the gutter oil uncle... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Datsun366 Turbocharged March 9, 2014 Share March 9, 2014 Maybe he wanted to whack the guy. Then he saw its a 65 year old man and he got a shock. He expect the driver to come out and be beaten by him? That is why he read the situation wrongly, some more he positioned at the 4 oclock position then move to two o clock. These guys are those that get killed in the line of duty. Those in the back with hands on holsters are the friendly fire experts. Just goes to show that level of expertise we pay for is not quite there, commitment yes, the grouping, but lousy manner. If driver drop window and shoot, even more shock right? Senior guys must go for confession. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Christan Turbocharged March 9, 2014 Share March 9, 2014 (edited) I'm now guessing what excuses A teo will give when asked. 1. The officers didn't shoot becacuse looking at the situation, their live were not at stake 2. The officiers thought that by knocking on the doors & showing their baton, with barrier raised, the car cannot proceed 3. The officers wanted to draw out their gun but after seeing old man, thought can easily overcome him. Also don't want to do anything that might cause a heart attack. 4. The officers scared there are explosives in the car so didn't shoot. 5. (Bringing up statistics) We had 75 millions cars passing thorugh our customs & 1 car ecaped our checks previously. We though it will take another 75 million cars to pass through before this occurs again. On hindsight we made an error of judgement. This was an honest mistake Hope no terrorist take note of all these incidents that happen. They would probably be thinking "KNN all their security controls for show. A limping man, a charbor & grandfather can escape though customs so easily." Edited March 9, 2014 by Christan 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xfiles 1st Gear March 9, 2014 Share March 9, 2014 ONLY thing I can say.. the whole system is a failure ,.. The training , the protocol, the people and the scholars who sit in their nice offices with big fat paycheck Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic March 9, 2014 Share March 9, 2014 Very anti-climax. I thought the officer was going to smash the driver side window, switch of the ignition and pull out the car key. Actually did they test out the barrier? So easily can get across. Larger vehicles should have no problems too. Sebei lousy. Maybe the barrier has 2 buttons. One lift up the cover only. Second up lift up the spikes. Maybe they kiasi, only lift up the cover. But seriously, mata training or any training appears to have failed. They don't seemed to know how to react to this situation. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rustyz 5th Gear March 9, 2014 Share March 9, 2014 I'm now guessing what excuses A teo will give when asked. 1. The officers didn't shoot becacuse looking at the situation, their live were not at stake 2. The officiers thought that by knocking on the doors & showing their baton, with barrier raised, the car cannot proceed 3. The officers wanted to draw out their gun but after seeing old man, thought can easily overcome him. Also don't want to do anything that might cause a heart attack. 4. The officers scared there are explosives in the car so didn't shoot. 5. (Bringing up statistics) We had 75 millions cars passing thorugh our customs & 1 car ecaped our checks previously. We though it will take another 75 million cars to pass through before this occurs again. On hindsight we made an error of judgement. This was an honest mistake Hope no terrorist take note of all these incidents that happen. They would probably be thinking "KNN all their security controls for show. A limping man, a charbor & grandfather can escape though customs so easily." He and ica top officer must bath flower water. Those who frequent jb will have to bear with the longer time to clear custom. All thanks to 65 yr old hero who has little legal punishment but create a big inconvenience to all ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...