Defensive Driving Course

StreetFight3r

Go to PML's BMW Advanced Driving Course, most of them covered. around 1000$!

not sure if this topic has been posted before... tried searching, found none...anyone went for this course before? or interested to go?

http://www.defensivedriving.sg/index.html

Friend of mine roped me in to join but it's $249 per pax (not say very cheap)... On their website it says Car Club Members at $199. MCF considered Car Club Members?? [laugh]

Syllabus:

• Proper Seating Position (for Normal and Racing Seats)
  • Steering Techniques (for Low and High Speed Driving)
  • Braking Techniques (for ABS and Non-ABS Equipped Cars)
  • Skid Recovery Techniques (for Understeer and Oversteer)
  • Collision Avoidance Techniques (Brake and Steer)
  • Wet Weather Driving Techniques (for Aquaplaning Prevention)
  • Evasive Driving Techniques (Forward 180 and Reverse 180)

hope to hear from the bros who went before.. whether it's useful or essential. gam xia! [drivingcar]

I had attended the course before... it's very engaging using the driving centre car, they will ask you to "drift" in the circuit and then let you jam brake from a distance on dry and wet floor.

But not worth to pay for $249... my course was sponsored... hahaaa

my handbrake on the foot le!

how to tarik?

This is why Mercs are widely known as unker cars. They are simply not designed to be driven like a hooligan. [laugh]

True enough, those unkers only use handbrake For parking only haha

Used to be the best $500 ever spent. :P

yah man, our time! 330 E46! Shioooooooook

I had attended the course before... it's very engaging using the driving centre car, they will ask you to "drift" in the circuit and then let you jam brake from a distance on dry and wet floor.

But not worth to pay for $249... my course was sponsored... hahaaa

Does this really helps in your normal driving?

Frankly, if you're already halfway competent at driving, this course is a waste of $$$.

The dedicated race driving courses are much better. Not many of those organised locally, but there are a few run by competent racers from time to time.

Pay $200 to have this course legal.

Pay $200 to risk our own cars being damage.

Y not go to track directly?

Going to the track and a pushing a little harder is fine, but unless you have the whole track to yourself, you should not be looking to purposely destabilise the car just to see if you can recover it. 99% of the time, you can't recover it the first couple of times at least. And if there's another car behind you, or even if there's no run-off area like in a badly designed track, that's how major track day accidents happen. So don't "play around" too much on an open track day.

Thanks. Makes a lot of sense.

Does this really helps in your normal driving?

Not your normal driving, juz makes you aware the condition of your car e.g. tyre skidding...

Finally have time to login.. Wifey didn't allow me to use for sometime at home as she say I always stare at the comp at home.. which guy wouldnt rite.. was interested in defensive driving becuz last time klear karbon organized one for their customers but i cudnt make it.. saw a bro from mcf talking abt defensive driving den suddenly the feeling came bk.. haha.. i dun mind paying $200 plus for the course if its useful or just to meet more car drivers enthusiastic as well.. saw videos of the couse seems quite fun.. but the wife confirm kpkb waste $... and after the course will my tyres be all bald anot.. haha... [nod]

Serious lah, last time is tarik handbrake to kick the tail out when I did my DDC courses with Harvey Yap at PG.

You use their beat up old proton saga on a wet "skidpad" behind the main pit building to experience under and oversteer and how to correct. Since space was limited and speeds weren't high, you do what you can to upset the car lor and then try to recover.

Those courses were awesome cos they utilised the whole track for the various stations and at the end of the day the track was opened for you to do laps and the instructors would tag along to give advice. Good times.

Use own car?

Front wheel drive how to push it to oversteer? Lift off throttle?

use own car ;

disadvantage - put unnecessary strain on joints, bushes, shocks & tyres.

advantage - will know how you car perform in extreme situations. [:)]

Whether front or rearwheel drive, conditions can be created by introducing water & dishwashers soap on road surface.

I would recommend attending this courses to make you more aware the dangers of over and understeers & how to correct them in a controlled enviorement.

Hoping to learn this techniques thru you normal driving routines maybe fatal if not costly repairs :D

cheers

Hi Bros

Sorry to bring up an old thread.

I am getting my car really soon and i was reading about defensive driving and i am really inclined to sign up for it to be a better driver and to prevent any major mishaps to myself or others.

i came across this link

http://www.defensivedriving.sg

https://www.ssdcl.com.sg/Courses/Other?course=OtherCourses

Have you bros attended any of these courses lately?

hope you can share with me your experience please.

Ideally use our own car for easier orientation. Tire with less than 4mm tread depth for better road ahersion, and properly inflated. check and replace any worn shock absorbers (usually more expensive than the Defensive Driving Course fee). Check for proper securing of components like battery.

BMW used to conduct such training for our TP years back.

Thank you for your response Bro.

I've decided to sign up with ssdcl for a one day course as I don't think I want to exert so much pressure on the new car.