Getting the young to understand why we serve NS

Little_prince

Bro,

He's Lim Wee Kiak, eye surgeon.

With SNEC long time ago but now in private practice - Eagle eye centre.

and yes Minister need high pay to be able to talk to CEOs.

If there is anyone that needs to get his brain examined, its definitely him.

my son will be enlisting within these few months and he wants to serve in the army but i prefer him to serve in the police force....but we actually know its not a choice we can make. So i just told him ehatever it is treat it like its just ns....dont be a rambo and a hero. Just serve his 2 yrs and be done with it. Hope that he follows my advice.

What I learn from NS is that to do my part and stay out of trouble. Can't help it lah coz I saw too many ppl do silly things to land themselves into unnecessary trouble.

Who's that idiot in the news screencap?

He doesn't seem to know the difference between a "privilege" and an "obligation". Someone get him a dictionary, quick. [rolleyes]

the same MP who says minister's high salar equated to higher dignity, so they can talk to CEO confidently. Base on his logic, Obama also not as dignified as our minister.

my son will be enlisting within these few months and he wants to serve in the army but i prefer him to serve in the police force....but we actually know its not a choice we can make. So i just told him ehatever it is treat it like its just ns....dont be a rambo and a hero. Just serve his 2 yrs and be done with it. Hope that he follows my advice.

Same thoughts here bro. Wishing your son all the best for his NS stint [thumbsup]

Don't worry lah! [:)]

the same MP who says minister's high salar equated to higher dignity, so they can talk to CEO confidently. Base on his logic, Obama also not as dignified as our minister.

like this?

PwlzhQq.jpg

LoL... Ppl dun know exactly what to comment on NS.

The honest truth....NS is done out of necessity. We can't rely on others to help defend our land. Good eg. chao British ang mohs fail to defend Sgp & Malay in WWII. And we know exactly why they fail, complacency, lack of intel, arrogance etc. If you have foreigners like chao ang moh laugh at us coz we have to do what is necessary cite this example and point out their failure boldly. It's becoz of their failure that the great BS empire had been defeated by the Japanese(an Asian country) that we have to rethink on depending on others to defend our land. (just kidding, but it doesn't harm to use it on chao ang moh if they got too arrogant).

One thing for sure it's not a privilege. No one likes regimental lifestyle and the lack of freedom for that fact. Why do you think most say it's a "waste of time"?

IMO tell the young this truth rather dan tell them what BS privilege. It never is, it never was and it never will be. I will tell my sons the same thing I type here today when they are ready to go serve NS.

I agree very much that we need military support from our own people and we cannot rely on others to do that for you.

2yrs of NS, I touch my heart and ask myself, may not be sufficient even to train a boy to become a warrior when the need arises.

However, it is totally unfair that new citizens can siam such responsibilities and enjoy our benefits which turn most younger generations frustrated about NS and blinded by such "equality".

my take, 1st, 2nd, 3rd or what ever generation.. they have to fufil a certain benchmark of service that benefits the nation as well. not necessary in military form. could be firefighters, pararmedics or even community service where such positions are being held only by Singaporean sons at the moment..

then only, you can say that being able to serve in the military is indeed a priviledge.

Bro,

He's Lim Wee Kiak, eye surgeon.

With SNEC long time ago but now in private practice - Eagle eye centre.

Got it, thanks.

Here's the youtube video with this idiot making these remarks:

http://youtu.be/OsMmd4NQIow

That he's an eye surgeon is beside the point. It's just that when people don white, their IQ drops by 50%, their EQ plummets by 90% and their foot gets anatomically translocated into their buccal cavity (mouth). Seems to be a rule.

What I learn from NS is that to do my part and stay out of trouble. Can't help it lah coz I saw too many ppl do silly things to land themselves into unnecessary trouble.

sometime trouble cannot siam wan.....just dont get inti big trouble enuff already. Just give them the 2 yrs....and dont be a hero! But sometime i hero wan....young and stupid time....hahaha!

Got it, thanks.

That he's an eye surgeon is beside the point. It's just that when people don white, their IQ drops by 50%, their EQ plummets by 90% and their foot gets anatomically translocated into their buccal cavity (mouth). Seems to be a rule.

lala81 also wears white in his course of work lei! and i doubt his eq and iq dropped...for him it should increaee right?

Got it, thanks.

http://youtu.be/OsMmd4NQIow

when_listening_to_stupid_people_ramble_o

Same thoughts here bro. Wishing your son all the best for his NS stint [thumbsup]

Don't worry lah! [:)]

hope so too. After he got his o level he was dissappointed and he changed a lot and always tries his best ineverything he was involved.....thats why i remind him ns is just to serve and be done with. I even told him off for trying to get and army scholarship for his pily....told him i can affird his poly....why neewant to sign on for something he may dislike in the future! Some of his course mate and hid peers regretted taking up a scholarship.....he was thankful for my advicr!

I think better not. The veterans may changed their stories on the spot after seeing so many FT moved here. [laugh]

hope so too. After he got his o level he was dissappointed and he changed a lot and always tries his best ineverything he was involved.....thats why i remind him ns is just to serve and be done with. I even told him off for trying to get and army scholarship for his pily....told him i can affird his poly....why neewant to sign on for something he may dislike in the future! Some of his course mate and hid peers regretted taking up a scholarship.....he was thankful for my advicr!

Unless can climb all the way to the top with SAF scholarship or president scholarship, don't waste time trying the army. It's for people who can't survive outside.

Don't think polis always have a better life than army boys. Don't forget they have to face potential riots........................... grisly corposes, etc...

Not easy life to chase illegal chickens in the streets hor though they are in high heels and you are in proper shoes/boots. [laugh]

Most have longer NS reservist period than army.

Edited by Kangadrool

Unless can climb all the way to the top with SAF scholarship or president scholarship, don't waste time trying the army. It's for people who can't survive outside.

i like your thinking! Just hope with his cert he can get a cia chuak vocation!

Don't think polis always have a better life than army boys. Don't forget they have to face potential riots........................... grisly corposes, etc...

Not easy life to chase illegal chickens in the streets hor though they are in high heels and you are in proper shoes/boots. [laugh]

Most have longer NS reservist period than army.

no worries....i think he has gotten use to corpse and cadavers......he is also numbed to people dying in front of him during his stint in the hospitals! He said if he had not gotten used to it he wouldnt be enjoying his course liao!

The biggest question is what our NSmen and NS boys are protecting.

Our way of life? 15-20 years ago, maybe...

Our home? The over-priced pigeon holes with an environment quite similar to any other Asian city (maybe worse) now?

Our future? What future at the rate the country is being sold out.....

Our reserves/CPF? That we can't touch....

Singapore needs seriously to press the "Reset" button and a 5-year moratorium on immigration.