Grab/Ryde issues and charges

Yamapi

pls hor $8k is just above poverty level...hor @throttle2

Seriously, $8k is 'comfortable' only

Wa, then $2k how ah?

Such accident can also happen on a taxi. 

Yes it can happen to anyone . . . . . . . .  who is not attentive when driving.

In the quiet of 3.40 am!!  a van driver and lorry driver decided to have a road quarrel.

The 22 y.o. pte hire driver rammed into the stationary vehicles. A teenager lost her life.

http://www.stomp.com.sg/singapore-seen/singapore/18-year-old-uber-passenger-dies-after-car-crashes-into-lorry-on-sle

A teenage girl has died after the private-hire car she was riding in ran into a lorry on the Seletar Expressway (SLE).

According to The Straits Times, police said that the accident happened along the SLE towards the Bukit Timah Expressway, and involved a car, a lorry and a van.

Chinese daily Lianhe Wanbao reported that the lorry and van drivers had apparently been in a dispute. The van overtook the lorry and stopped in front of it, forcing the other vehicle to brake as well. The Uber driver is believed to have rammed into them from the back.

They collided near the Woodlands Avenue 2 exit at about 3.40am on Sunday (Sep 25). None were trapped in the vehicles, said the Singapore Civil Defence Force.

Yes it can happen to anyone . . . . . . . .  who is not attentive when driving.

In the quiet of 3.40 am!!  a van driver and lorry driver decided to have a road quarrel.

The 22 y.o. pte hire driver rammed into the stationary vehicles. A teenager lost her life.

http://www.stomp.com.sg/singapore-seen/singapore/18-year-old-uber-passenger-dies-after-car-crashes-into-lorry-on-sle

A teenage girl has died after the private-hire car she was riding in ran into a lorry on the Seletar Expressway (SLE).

According to The Straits Times, police said that the accident happened along the SLE towards the Bukit Timah Expressway, and involved a car, a lorry and a van.

Chinese daily Lianhe Wanbao reported that the lorry and van drivers had apparently been in a dispute. The van overtook the lorry and stopped in front of it, forcing the other vehicle to brake as well. The Uber driver is believed to have rammed into them from the back.

They collided near the Woodlands Avenue 2 exit at about 3.40am on Sunday (Sep 25). None were trapped in the vehicles, said the Singapore Civil Defence Force.

Many times accident happened when other motorists are reckless and impatient and involved the innocent.

Uber driver decided to go AWOL?

http://www.stomp.com.sg/singapore-seen/singapore/38-year-old-uber-driver-and-rented-car-goes-missing

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2016

A man has disappeared with the Toyota Vios sedan he leased from a car rental firm, which he was supposed to use to ferry passengers in his service as a driver-partner of Uber, Shin Min Daily News reported.

Cases of hired cars not returned and not duly paid for are common in Singapore but one connected to the multinational transportation company which nets passengers through its smartphone app is apparently rare, noted the Chinese evening daily.

The car was leased eight weeks ago to the 38-year-old hirer with the understanding that he was working for Uber.

A hiring fee of $455 was to be deducted every week from his income paid into his account by Uber in the next three months.

However, in the ensuing weeks, the car rental firm had never been able to collect the full amount.

Three weeks ago, the man went missing with the car and has not been contactable since.

The amount of fees he owes has grown to $2,225 to date, Mr Ng, owner of the car rental firm, told Shin Min.

According to Mr Ng, his firm had taken a chance with the hirer from day one, as it had to waive the requirement that he pay at least $500 in advance for extended leasing.

"I kindly allowed him to pay only $100 as he claimed he did not have enough money," added Mr Ng.

However, in the first week, the man apparently did not generate enough income to cover the fee and fell short by $187 in payment.

"Although he seemed to have been working, the fees he owes just kept piling up," said Mr Ng.

"The last time we communicated with him was on Sept 24, when he promised to pay up," said the owner.

After his disappearance, the firm's staff visited his home in Sengkang but did not find him there.

His neighbours told Shin Min the door of the rented HDB unit was always closed.

The firm has reported the case to the police. On Sunday, it stuck pages of the report, with the man's photo affixed, onto the door of his home, in hopes of forcing him out of hiding.

But lawyer Tan Hee Joek told Shin Min the move might constitute harassment and is chargeable under the law.

"We are not loan shark," said Mr Ng, pointing out that he has to pay for the car's installment and insurance fees.

"If you really are not able to pay up, we can arrange for a monthly repayment.

"But please at least return us the car," pleaded Mr Ng.

Uber driver decided to go AWOL?

http://www.stomp.com.sg/singapore-seen/singapore/38-year-old-uber-driver-and-rented-car-goes-missing

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2016

A man has disappeared with the Toyota Vios sedan he leased from a car rental firm, which he was supposed to use to ferry passengers in his service as a driver-partner of Uber, Shin Min Daily News reported.

Cases of hired cars not returned and not duly paid for are common in Singapore but one connected to the multinational transportation company which nets passengers through its smartphone app is apparently rare, noted the Chinese evening daily.

The car was leased eight weeks ago to the 38-year-old hirer with the understanding that he was working for Uber.

A hiring fee of $455 was to be deducted every week from his income paid into his account by Uber in the next three months.

However, in the ensuing weeks, the car rental firm had never been able to collect the full amount.

Three weeks ago, the man went missing with the car and has not been contactable since.

The amount of fees he owes has grown to $2,225 to date, Mr Ng, owner of the car rental firm, told Shin Min.

According to Mr Ng, his firm had taken a chance with the hirer from day one, as it had to waive the requirement that he pay at least $500 in advance for extended leasing.

"I kindly allowed him to pay only $100 as he claimed he did not have enough money," added Mr Ng.

However, in the first week, the man apparently did not generate enough income to cover the fee and fell short by $187 in payment.

"Although he seemed to have been working, the fees he owes just kept piling up," said Mr Ng.

"The last time we communicated with him was on Sept 24, when he promised to pay up," said the owner.

After his disappearance, the firm's staff visited his home in Sengkang but did not find him there.

His neighbours told Shin Min the door of the rented HDB unit was always closed.

The firm has reported the case to the police. On Sunday, it stuck pages of the report, with the man's photo affixed, onto the door of his home, in hopes of forcing him out of hiding.

But lawyer Tan Hee Joek told Shin Min the move might constitute harassment and is chargeable under the law.

"We are not loan shark," said Mr Ng, pointing out that he has to pay for the car's installment and insurance fees.

"If you really are not able to pay up, we can arrange for a monthly repayment.

"But please at least return us the car," pleaded Mr Ng.

Lol this is definitely not a long term strategy

LOL.... No need to plea, beg or harass...

黄先生,新加坡是讲法律的。找个好律师。。。

rather get some people to locate and take back the car, find lawyer spend more money but get back nothing.

Hahaha....

True, but my response to his actions was meant to be sacarstic.

There are many people who buy motorcycles from MTDs under hire purchase. Some run away and hide their motorcycles in forested areas or MY.... The MTDs have the means to recover them back. 

What is cars at least four times the size m/cycle and can't locate!?!

If there's a will, there's a way. If you want to run such business, must be prepared lah....

rather get some people to locate and take back the car, find lawyer spend more money but get back nothing.

Can  I ask is the payment by Uber prompt?

If yes, how does it works..

Thank you

My own experience uber is never prompt in payment and especially reply to enquiries,it took ages or even never reply at all.It is the worst operating platform which I had encountered all my life.

With your reply, it is suffice to say the both are having the same problem...

I actually have a friend who is driving a taxi now and challenge me to take up Grab or Uber and from his passenger's feedback, many gave up after 2 to 3 months driving with them.

But if you look at the way they advertise, many will fall into the hole with their marketing strategy.

With your reply, it is suffice to say the both are having the same problem...

I actually have a friend who is driving a taxi now and challenge me to take up Grab or Uber and from his passenger's feedback, many gave up after 2 to 3 months driving with them.

But if you look at the way they advertise, many will fall into the hole with their marketing strategy.

Although many gave up after 2-3 months driving with them, and yet there is another new group join them. If not we would not see so many uber cars on the road liao.

Can I uber go JB and come back?

Actually many people take uber to jb and back.

Uber drivers say they are covered by insurance up to batu pahat.