13177 Hypersonic October 22, 2015 Share October 22, 2015 per sec charge. So the timing travelled on the ride also contribute to the charges. But guess the charges still cheaper than taxi, right?! I think if traffic jam while on taxi, the cab fare would be very expensive. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jayy25 6th Gear October 22, 2015 Share October 22, 2015 (edited) I haven't tried uber yet but according to my friend who done a trip with uber from Yishun to Marina sq., he said that commuter only need to pay what is quoted on the "Fare estimated" regardless how long the trip takes... for example: if Fare Estimated is $15-$20, the maximum you will be charged is $20 even though the trip last an hour. this is to discourage driver to take a longer route and their sweet own time to ferry the commuters. is that right? if yes, then I saw a post stating "Uber charges are based on base + distance + time components. " So how does this time component kick in and when? Edited October 22, 2015 by Jayy25 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic October 22, 2015 Share October 22, 2015 I haven't tried uber yet but according to my friend who done a trip with uber from Yishun to Marina sq., he said that commuter only need to pay what is quoted on the "Fare estimated" regardless how long the trip takes... for example: if Fare Estimated is $15-$20, the maximum you will be charged is $20 even though the trip last an hour. this is to discourage driver to take a longer route and their sweet own time to ferry the commuters. is that right? if yes, then I saw a post stating "Uber charges are based on base + distance + time components. " So how does this time component kick in and when? Sometimes i find uber charges a bit complicated how they deprive on the charges?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator October 22, 2015 Share October 22, 2015 seem like they have tie up with Google map liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic October 22, 2015 Share October 22, 2015 I think the one that has fixed fare is Grabcar, not Uber seem like they have tie up with Google map liao i also encounter this in some food app Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged October 22, 2015 Share October 22, 2015 I was at Changi Airport t2 yesterday. Trying to make my 1st trip on uber. Too bad, couldn't get any signal in the building (baggage collection area) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic October 22, 2015 Share October 22, 2015 Sometimes i find uber charges a bit complicated how they deprive on the charges?! Maybe you like to email them and ask ? What is your concern ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic October 22, 2015 Share October 22, 2015 Sometimes i find uber charges a bit complicated how they deprive on the charges?! How can it be more complicated than Taxi in CBD? My ride yesterday: Base Fare: 3.50 Distance (6.59km): 3.28 Time (0:14:44): 3.68 Total 10.46 I juz took it from Uber webby. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic October 22, 2015 Share October 22, 2015 (edited) Sometimes i find uber charges a bit complicated how they deprive on the charges?!More complicated than taxi? How can that be? Haha https://www.cdgtaxi.com.sg/commuters_services_rates.mvn No peak hour surcharge, no booking surcharge, no city area surcharge. If you stay at some small road where you have to walk out to get a taxi or call for one and pay the booking surcharge, don't forget uber goes right to your doorstep at no charge. Edited October 22, 2015 by Fcw75 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic October 22, 2015 Share October 22, 2015 I was at Changi Airport t2 yesterday. Trying to make my 1st trip on uber. Too bad, couldn't get any signal in the building (baggage collection area) Just walk out of the terminal. There's always uber nearby. The surcharge for uber is $1.50 whereas for taxi is $3 - 5. U haven't try before? Have you enter any code? Can get $20 off first ride so basically your ride home will be free. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator October 22, 2015 Share October 22, 2015 Just walk out of the terminal. There's always uber nearby. The surcharge for uber is $1.50 whereas for taxi is $3 - 5. U haven't try before? Have you enter any code? Can get $20 off first ride so basically your ride home will be free. got after midnight surcharge? can PM me the code leh i try when i return after midnight at airport next month Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic October 22, 2015 Share October 22, 2015 (edited) I haven't tried uber yet but according to my friend who done a trip with uber from Yishun to Marina sq., he said that commuter only need to pay what is quoted on the "Fare estimated" regardless how long the trip takes... for example: if Fare Estimated is $15-$20, the maximum you will be charged is $20 even though the trip last an hour. this is to discourage driver to take a longer route and their sweet own time to ferry the commuters. is that right? if yes, then I saw a post stating "Uber charges are based on base + distance + time components. " So how does this time component kick in and when? Bro, think about it. If suay suay kenna massive jam for 1 hr, you as a uber driver still get paid only fare ESTIMATE of $20 u want do? I am not saying you but sometimes ignorance can be a scary thing. got after midnight surcharge? can PM me the code leh i try when i return after midnight at airport next month No midnight surcharge bro. If you don't mind, use my code MFQGEUE. You get $20 off first ride, I get $5...haha. Have you use before? It's only for first time rider bro. The charge is $3.50 base + $0.50 per km + $0.25 per min. You can always tell the driver which route you prefer before he drive off. Once I fetch a airport staff to tampines and the total fare was $12.52. She told me she take taxi always $15+. That was 10-11pm only, imagine if it's after midnight. Edited October 22, 2015 by Fcw75 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator October 22, 2015 Share October 22, 2015 No midnight surcharge bro. If you don't mind, use my code MFQGEUE. You get $20 off first ride, I get $5...haha. Have you use before? It's only for first time rider bro. The charge is $3.50 base + $0.50 per km + $0.25 per min. You can always tell the driver which route you prefer before he drive off. Once I fetch a airport staff to tampines and the total fare was $12.52. She told me she take taxi always $15+. will be taking it for first time, thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic October 22, 2015 Share October 22, 2015 (edited) will be taking it for first time, thanks Thanks to you too..haha. Hope your first ride is a pleasant one. Must enter the code into the app first and make sure your first ride is at least $20. Oh, and to make things easier, after a driver have accepted yr request, you can drop him a SMS telling him where you are. 'T1 arrival pickup door 3' 'T2 arrival pickup door 2' 'T3 arrival pickup door 1' And just keep a lookout for his car. Edited October 22, 2015 by Fcw75 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic October 22, 2015 Share October 22, 2015 Bro, think about it. If suay suay kenna massive jam for 1 hr, you as a uber driver still get paid only fare ESTIMATE of $20 u want do? I am not saying you but sometimes ignorance can be a scary thing. No midnight surcharge bro. If you don't mind, use my code MFQGEUE. You get $20 off first ride, I get $5...haha. Have you use before? It's only for first time rider bro. The charge is $3.50 base + $0.50 per km + $0.25 per min. You can always tell the driver which route you prefer before he drive off. Once I fetch a airport staff to tampines and the total fare was $12.52. She told me she take taxi always $15+. That was 10-11pm only, imagine if it's after midnight. Yesterday, uber driver told me he kenna stuck in 2 hrs jam from Tractor road to ION. Passenger pays $40. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic October 22, 2015 Share October 22, 2015 Yesterday, uber driver told me he kenna stuck in 2 hrs jam from Tractor road to ION. Passenger pays $40. Bo pian ma. The 2 hrs that he was stucked he could have fetched a few more riders. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic October 22, 2015 Share October 22, 2015 Yesterday, uber driver told me he kenna stuck in 2 hrs jam from Tractor road to ION. Passenger pays $40. If the person take taxi, maybe the fare would be even higher? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic October 22, 2015 Share October 22, 2015 If the person take taxi, maybe the fare would be even higher? Not sure. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...