inlinesix Hypersonic October 14, 2015 Share October 14, 2015 I have a concern that since uber drivers may be young drivers in their twenties, they may drive too fast , or not have enough rest if they try to meet the quota for incentives. This means they are more accident prone. Is this a valid scenario ? Well, you can ask the driver to drive slowly. If that young driver is of concern, you can always feed back to Uber. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged October 14, 2015 Share October 14, 2015 I have a concern that since uber drivers may be young drivers in their twenties, they may drive too fast , or not have enough rest if they try to meet the quota for incentives. This means they are more accident prone. Is this a valid scenario ? IMO not much of a concern since uber has a system that allows the passengers to rate the drivers. Just don't take drivers below a certain rating lo. Infact, I feel with this rating thing, easier to get a better driver from uber than from a taxi company. Taxi company you also won't know how the driver drives and he won't lose his taxi till he loses his license or too many people complain. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic October 14, 2015 Share October 14, 2015 (edited) I have a concern that since uber drivers may be young drivers in their twenties, they may drive too fast , or not have enough rest if they try to meet the quota for incentives. This means they are more accident prone. Is this a valid scenario ? the driver i had today was kinda rev-happy& changing lane often, making the ride a tad jerky. And I had my 2 yr old boy with me. so yeah, i share your concern Edited October 14, 2015 by Othello Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged October 14, 2015 Share October 14, 2015 Just to share, Commercial insurance isn't that expensive. My brother in law, converted his ride to uber and been doing for months. He pays 1.5k for the commercial insurance and NCD can be used but only certain insurer. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic October 15, 2015 Share October 15, 2015 Just to share, Commercial insurance isn't that expensive. My brother in law, converted his ride to uber and been doing for months. He pays 1.5k for the commercial insurance and NCD can be used but only certain insurer. 1 2 3 3 2 1 Uber uber number one I think I bo Liao until kee siao Liao 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic October 15, 2015 Share October 15, 2015 what make/model? Just to share,Commercial insurance isn't that expensive.My brother in law, converted his ride to uber and been doing for months.He pays 1.5k for the commercial insurance and NCD can be used but only certain insurer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged October 15, 2015 Share October 15, 2015 what make/model? Nissan selphy if I got the model correctly Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic October 15, 2015 Share October 15, 2015 the driver i had today was kinda rev-happy& changing lane often, making the ride a tad jerky. And I had my 2 yr old boy with me. so yeah, i share your concern Believe you can find this type of driver on both taxi and uber la. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic October 15, 2015 Share October 15, 2015 (edited) the driver i had today was kinda rev-happy& changing lane often, making the ride a tad jerky. And I had my 2 yr old boy with me. so yeah, i share your concern I will feedback about this type of driving behaviour. Edited October 15, 2015 by Davidtch Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lethalstrike Turbocharged October 15, 2015 Share October 15, 2015 Believe you can find this type of driver on both taxi and uber la. Actually last time when those manual-gear Toyota Crowns are still around, a lot of taxi-lau like to drag gears and on-off-on-off step on the accelerator. Sit liao don't have to go Universal Studios for roller-coaster ride... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic October 15, 2015 Share October 15, 2015 Actually last time when those manual-gear Toyota Crowns are still around, a lot of taxi-lau like to drag gears and on-off-on-off step on the accelerator. Sit liao don't have to go Universal Studios for roller-coaster ride... But now even all taxi default auto gear, but these taxi-lau still drive like roller-coaster ride, as they love to jam the brake hard! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
oleandero 5th Gear October 15, 2015 Share October 15, 2015 just a quick question: is u*ber the only app with surge? or does other such private car apps have surges too? with reference to previous bro's entry about long taxi Q at harbourfront taxi stand without any available taxi, i think the real situation is taxi drivers are simply waiting for passengers to book them through apps where they can earn more through the surges. its just like the situation where passengers used to complain that they couldnt get taxis just before midnight. then charges were amended to start gradually from 11:30pm onwards, to avoid taxi uncles from la-kopi-ing before 50% midnight surcharge starts. ultimately became 6pm - midnight 25% surcharge today. i foresee more changes coming! lets hope its for the best. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator October 15, 2015 Share October 15, 2015 just a quick question: is u*ber the only app with surge? or does other such private car apps have surges too? with reference to previous bro's entry about long taxi Q at harbourfront taxi stand without any available taxi, i think the real situation is taxi drivers are simply waiting for passengers to book them through apps where they can earn more through the surges. its just like the situation where passengers used to complain that they couldnt get taxis just before midnight. then charges were amended to start gradually from 11:30pm onwards, to avoid taxi uncles from la-kopi-ing before 50% midnight surcharge starts. ultimately became 6pm - midnight 25% surcharge today. i foresee more changes coming! lets hope its for the best. Does Uber surges depends on the number of uber car on the streets? will the same problem arise with uber driver start to think like old taxi where they off the app (relax in coffee shop) until demand is high then turn it on? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic October 15, 2015 Share October 15, 2015 just a quick question: is u*ber the only app with surge? or does other such private car apps have surges too? with reference to previous bro's entry about long taxi Q at harbourfront taxi stand without any available taxi, i think the real situation is taxi drivers are simply waiting for passengers to book them through apps where they can earn more through the surges. its just like the situation where passengers used to complain that they couldnt get taxis just before midnight. then charges were amended to start gradually from 11:30pm onwards, to avoid taxi uncles from la-kopi-ing before 50% midnight surcharge starts. ultimately became 6pm - midnight 25% surcharge today. i foresee more changes coming! lets hope its for the best. Uber surge does not apply to taxi. Harbourfront and Vivo is perpetually long taxi q on wkend day & night. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carnoob Supercharged October 15, 2015 Share October 15, 2015 just a quick question: is u*ber the only app with surge? or does other such private car apps have surges too? with reference to previous bro's entry about long taxi Q at harbourfront taxi stand without any available taxi, i think the real situation is taxi drivers are simply waiting for passengers to book them through apps where they can earn more through the surges. its just like the situation where passengers used to complain that they couldnt get taxis just before midnight. then charges were amended to start gradually from 11:30pm onwards, to avoid taxi uncles from la-kopi-ing before 50% midnight surcharge starts. ultimately became 6pm - midnight 25% surcharge today. i foresee more changes coming! lets hope its for the best. That's why uber and grabcar is there to fill the gaps. Uber and Grabcar don't go on the surcharge mode. It goes by demand and supply. If no cars in the vicinity e.g. Harbourfront, passengers can choose to pay 1.2x, 1.3x, 1.5x, or even 5x the usual fare to attract drivers to the area however once there is more drivers than passengers the fare goes back to normal rate. So for uber or grabcar drivers, they HAVE to anticipate the surge and be in the area FIRST unlike the taxi surcharge. Even if you are not in the area, you can wait for the "golden" time and start to "appear" once the surcharge applies. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
oleandero 5th Gear October 15, 2015 Share October 15, 2015 That's why uber and grabcar is there to fill the gaps. Uber and Grabcar don't go on the surcharge mode. It goes by demand and supply. If no cars in the vicinity e.g. Harbourfront, passengers can choose to pay 1.2x, 1.3x, 1.5x, or even 5x the usual fare to attract drivers to the area however once there is more drivers than passengers the fare goes back to normal rate. So for uber or grabcar drivers, they HAVE to anticipate the surge and be in the area FIRST unlike the taxi surcharge. Even if you are not in the area, you can wait for the "golden" time and start to "appear" once the surcharge applies. oooo.. u mean passengers can choose to input the surge themselves? so the ride goes to the highest bidder is it? like that means drivers just camp at vivo or harbourfront from Fri nights and weekend will do and wait for the surge to appear. Uber surge does not apply to taxi. Harbourfront and Vivo is perpetually long taxi q on wkend day & night. icic.. cos i thought i saw some mentioned that taxi drivers used u*ber app too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carnoob Supercharged October 15, 2015 Share October 15, 2015 (edited) oooo.. u mean passengers can choose to input the surge themselves? so the ride goes to the highest bidder is it? like that means drivers just camp at vivo or harbourfront from Fri nights and weekend will do and wait for the surge to appear. icic.. cos i thought i saw some mentioned that taxi drivers used u*ber app too. Yes to the surge and no to the highest bidder. Try the apps to understand. The passenger can see the vehicles available in the area, e.g. Harbourfront, if he sees a lot of vehicles he can simply book the ride without the surge. The surge comes in when the passenger DOES NOT see any uber cars around the area. Taxi drivers can use Ubertaxi (a separate apps from Uber), and they don't have the surge in the Ubertaxi apps. Grey cars are uber drivers around the area. So it is like tikam for uber drivers, be at the right place at the right time. Edited October 15, 2015 by Carnoob 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged October 15, 2015 Share October 15, 2015 (edited) Anyone knows GS300 is under which category in UBER? (There is no contact number at Uber Singapore website to enquirel) Is it classified under UberExec? One of my friend trading his 8.5yrs GS300. Mileage about 110K. Depreciation : S$12K Road tax : S$2.3K Maybe Commercial Insurance : S$2.2K Total amount per year : S$16500 ( / 365days = S$45 per day) Cheap ka lao sai compare to taxi rental. Some more easy to maintain Edited October 15, 2015 by Mcf777 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...