- illegal

Countries desperate to win medals.

- they buy foreigners by giving them instant citizenship, to win unfairly

- legal

How come ?

athletes get money (endorsements, advertising, bonus) when they win

country get what?

50 step laugh at 100 step?

maybe next time they put a cap on how many foreign players you can bring to the table [sly]

the country name in the medal tally

just look at olympic ... msia and spore work so hard just to get 1 medal to be on the medal tally

to have national flag up and anthem play ... it cost a lot of money

http://london2012.olympics.com.au/medal-tally

msia rank = 63 (1 silver, 1 bronze)

spore rank = 75 (2 bronze)

athletes get money (endorsements, advertising, bonus) when they win

country get what?

maybe next time they put a cap on how many foreign players you can bring to the table [sly]

the country name in the medal tally

just look at olympic ... msia and spore work so hard just to get 1 medal to be on the medal tally

to have national flag up and anthem play ... it cost a lot of money

worth paying so much meh

aberthen ... look at world cup ...

how many countries spent tens-to-hundreds of millions of their country money to send their team to brazil to be knockout in group stage

but FIFA pays well la ... Ghana player waiting in hotel show me the $$$ before going down to field ... LOL

one thing is for sure ... sport is not cheap

every sport has its price and sport is run like business ... no $$ no talk

worth paying so much meh

50 step laugh at 100 step?

waliew.....they tok maciam their team all ex-convicts liddat.

sport is like a big market ... anyone can buy and sell ... everyone has a price ... [:(]

english very tok kong [thumbsup]

Honestly, although I agreed that we have overdo it but I felt they are slapping themselves at these comments..

Fang lay has been playing for australia for more than 20 years. Miao miao left china as a child. Dederenko looks like an import. The rest cant find much info

quote: But Henzell said Singapore had brought a "professional team" to Glasgow that was largely made up of Chinese-born players.

"I don't think what Singapore does is in the spirit of the Games," Henzell said.

"It's disappointing to see."

I am not a keen supporter of importing but this is useless talk. It is within the rules and CWG should change it.

Edited by Camrysfa

quote: But Henzell said Singapore had brought a "professional team" to Glasgow that was largely made up of Chinese-born players.

"I don't think what Singapore does is in the spirit of the Games," Henzell said.

I am not a keen supporter of importing but this is useless talk. It is within the rules and CWG should change it.

Yep, thats the sentence that stood out at me. Sounds fair also. Even an ex-colleague whom is a local born Malay bro said to me about last round's games that he felt more connected watching Malaysia's Lee Chong Wei.

Fang lay has been playing for australia for more than 20 years. Miao miao left china as a child. Dederenko looks like an import. The rest cant find much info

Well, neither is our team fresh fresh on the top spot from china also wat. It's also a risk taken by gahmen and the investment of providing years of training to them. Does the local have the guts to send their children for such path? I'm not saying that the worry of exams pile PSLE, O-level is not valid but the undenial fact that there is a sacrifice and risk taken here, regardless of which country they are from.

How many can feel proud if these medals are won by chinese-born players, table-tennis, badminton, whatever ?

To me, it's just hollow victory. Sorry to say, I can't identify with them.

On the same note, if we can import foreign sportsmen, should not we import mercenaries and replace NS ?

After all, everything is about money. If you got money, you can buy anything.

Edited by Kb27