Soya Supersonic July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 Juz curious, if you're looking for a used, affordable 2-door for some occasional flings and dirty weekends, which would u choose? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 Juz curious, if you're looking for a used, affordable 2-door for some occasional flings and dirty weekends, which would u choose? Without a doubt, the GT86/BRZ twins. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StefanK Supercharged July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 The BRZ for it's raw feel. If you get what I mean. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic July 29, 2014 Author Share July 29, 2014 Without a doubt, the GT86/BRZ twins. why lei? some say it's underpowered while the 2.0 'Roc is a GTi in a dress. but one is more pure while the other is a parts bin special. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
F355 Turbocharged July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 Without a doubt, the GT86/BRZ twins. Dont tell your wife hor. 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 GT86 / BRZ, whichever is cheaper. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic July 29, 2014 Author Share July 29, 2014 Dont tell your wife hor. wahaha.......those charbo sibei fierce sia. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 why lei? some say it's underpowered while the 2.0 'Roc is a GTi in a dress. but one is more pure while the other is a parts bin special. Sublime steering and handling, you don't have that in a 'Roc. Back to basics motoring. I dont understand how someone would call 147kw underpowered, perhaps spoilt by turbos nowadays Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
F355 Turbocharged July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 Juz curious, if you're looking for a used, affordable 2-door for some occasional flings and dirty weekends, which would u choose? I dont know how to drift ; plus I like doing b roads up north so a tail happy car is not my choice. Roc 2.0 for me . But if want to pick up chicks , I think 86 is a better choice. Roc too common on the roads . The flat torque from 2500 to 6500 rpm is very impressive for a NA 86 ; but I find it strange for it to dip between 3500 to 4500 rpm . This will affect my city driving as I like to change gears at this rpm. The torque curve can be found at 3:06 of this video. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 Sublime steering and handling, you don't have that in a 'Roc. Back to basics motoring. I dont understand how someone would call 147kw underpowered, perhaps spoilt by turbos nowadays It is underpowered by modern standards for sports cars. That's why there is a demand for a more powerful version. Check out the Cosworth mod: http://www.topgear.com/uk/car-news/cosworth-toyota-gt86-subaru-brz-modified-2014-06-02 Of course, increasing the power necessitates the loss of something else in the character of the car. The "underpowered" stock version is nicely (and quite safely) tail-happy with crappy rear tyres that are designed to break traction easily. But try that in a 300+hp version and you're looking at a widow-maker. Which is why the Cosworth spec car has uprated tyres all around. But with the increased power, I think it's still capable of breaking the rears loose if driven correctly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 Poverty-spec FTW!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 Poverty-spec FTW!! So ironic to call any car in Singapore "poverty spec". Unless you mean that the poverty comes after the purchase. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 Juz curious, if you're looking for a used, affordable 2-door for some occasional flings and dirty weekends, which would u choose? Manual vs DSG, which one you want Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
F355 Turbocharged July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 Manual vs DSG, which one you want Manual vs DSG RWD vs FWD NA vs Turbo But most prefer to argue over Jap vs Conti . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic July 29, 2014 Author Share July 29, 2014 It is underpowered by modern standards for sports cars. That's why there is a demand for a more powerful version. Check out the Cosworth mod: http://www.topgear.com/uk/car-news/cosworth-toyota-gt86-subaru-brz-modified-2014-06-02 Of course, increasing the power necessitates the loss of something else in the character of the car. The "underpowered" stock version is nicely (and quite safely) tail-happy with crappy rear tyres that are designed to break traction easily. But try that in a 300+hp version and you're looking at a widow-maker. Which is why the Cosworth spec car has uprated tyres all around. But with the increased power, I think it's still capable of breaking the rears loose if driven correctly. hmmmmm......does that mean if one shods the bog standard 86 wif grippy tyres instead, it'll drive like a 'rolla? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ryu 5th Gear July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 Manual vs DSG RWD vs FWD NA vs Turbo But most prefer to argue over Jap vs Conti . I choose Manual + RWD + NA. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 I choose Manual + RWD + NA. Beacreful BRZ is the first RWD car among all Subaru ADW family, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ryu 5th Gear July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 Beacreful BRZ is the first RWD car among all Subaru ADW family, Then get the GT86 lor. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...