Kb27 Supersonic September 30, 2014 Share September 30, 2014 He hasn't share about the trials and tribulations of a taxi driver. Sometimes business is so good, he has no time to empty bladder. And there's always bad customers stories. For those who are PMET now and getting on in years, don't be surprised if you have to join the queue. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icebrush79 4th Gear September 30, 2014 Share September 30, 2014 Yes, i do not understand why people tend to look down on TD. Hardly surprising, because from young, TDs has been one of the negative example occupations parents use to instill the value of education into kids. Boils down to the potential income level a TD has, a mere 3K-4K on average with an unverified ceiling of just 7K thereabouts? Its easy to look down on others when life is a bed of roses. When someone is caught in that situation, its a matter of survival and pride goes out of the window. We live in a harsh and judgmental world, while TDs make an honest living and one shouldn't look down on them, it is definitely not an occupation anyone would aspire to achieve hence the taboo with relation to one's pride. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator September 30, 2014 Share September 30, 2014 Hardly surprising, because from young, TDs has been one of the negative example occupations parents use to instill the value of education into kids. Boils down to the potential income level a TD has, a mere 3K-4K on average with an unverified ceiling of just 7K thereabouts? Its easy to look down on others when life is a bed of roses. When someone is caught in that situation, its a matter of survival and pride goes out of the window. We live in a harsh and judgmental world, while TDs make an honest living and one shouldn't look down on them, it is definitely not an occupation anyone would aspire to achieve hence the taboo with relation to one's pride. well said. It is still a job after all. Granted that there cud be angst cos a number of them have been retrenched, etc, and thus, their hatred for the ruling gahmen. In fact, they have lots to say abt politics, but we shd see it as a way they are expressing themselves. i for one, wun mind doing it in my leisurely time. Then have my tennis as well. Good retirement plan and best of all, i hv my NEW CAR SMELL to keep car smell new, @solar hor hahahahah 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myxilplix Turbocharged September 30, 2014 Share September 30, 2014 My father never look down on taxi driver, only trishaw rider. "Put your legs down! You want to be trishaw rider issit?!?!?!" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged September 30, 2014 Share September 30, 2014 well said. It is still a job after all. Granted that there cud be angst cos a number of them have been retrenched, etc, and thus, their hatred for the ruling gahmen. In fact, they have lots to say abt politics, but we shd see it as a way they are expressing themselves. i for one, wun mind doing it in my leisurely time. Then have my tennis as well. Good retirement plan and best of all, i hv my NEW CAR SMELL to keep car smell new, @solar hor hahahahah lol yah.. yours would probably be the only one somehow always have the brand new..... smell one thing for leisure driving and fetching kids and wife for groceries... gahmen (as usual... kns) has clamped down with minimum mileage requirement. maybe there are getarounds.. when the time comes then find out from the TD folks there. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator September 30, 2014 Share September 30, 2014 lol yah.. yours would probably be the only one somehow always have the brand new..... smell one thing for leisure driving and fetching kids and wife for groceries... gahmen (as usual... kns) has clamped down with minimum mileage requirement. maybe there are getarounds.. when the time comes then find out from the TD folks there. ok man....we can build our base here. In fact, even relief one another, from MCF then. That would be gd, and thus we have the insides of why taxi drivers do such and educate the members here. Bridges the understanding gap Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged September 30, 2014 Share September 30, 2014 How can that be possible? Drive Mer & Chrysler passenger see no up?? Everyone knows these are premium cars as compared to the Hyundai and Chevrolet.... Ah, the general taxi usuers can recognise the logo of the merc --- atas taxi, take!! But the chrysler300 looks like dont know what to them --- dont take! They see the car no up, not the driver Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icebrush79 4th Gear September 30, 2014 Share September 30, 2014 well said. It is still a job after all. Granted that there cud be angst cos a number of them have been retrenched, etc, and thus, their hatred for the ruling gahmen. In fact, they have lots to say abt politics, but we shd see it as a way they are expressing themselves. i for one, wun mind doing it in my leisurely time. Then have my tennis as well. Good retirement plan and best of all, i hv my NEW CAR SMELL to keep car smell new, @solar hor hahahahah Hahahaha.... New car smell got lots of potential hazardous chemical composition one.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged September 30, 2014 Share September 30, 2014 He hasn't share about the trials and tribulations of a taxi driver. Sometimes business is so good, he has no time to empty bladder. And there's always bad customers stories. For those who are PMET now and getting on in years, don't be surprised if you have to join the queue. Its an honourable way of earning an honest living Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
New_Atlantis 3rd Gear September 30, 2014 Share September 30, 2014 Thanks for your view. :-) Any chance you could share some insights you have as a taxi driver? What insights? Driving a cab is not that hard. Just have to get over your initial fear of picking up passengers. And most importantly don't forget the bloody meter! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latio2005A Turbocharged September 30, 2014 Share September 30, 2014 Hardly surprising, because from young, TDs has been one of the negative example occupations parents use to instill the value of education into kids. Boils down to the potential income level a TD has, a mere 3K-4K on average with an unverified ceiling of just 7K thereabouts? Its easy to look down on others when life is a bed of roses. When someone is caught in that situation, its a matter of survival and pride goes out of the window. We live in a harsh and judgmental world, while TDs make an honest living and one shouldn't look down on them, it is definitely not an occupation anyone would aspire to achieve hence the taboo with relation to one's pride. I will like to become a TD when I semi-retire to while away my time and keep in touch with the world. But I will never able to become one, because wifey thinks I am too hum sum and will attract unnecessay bees and butterflies. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic September 30, 2014 Share September 30, 2014 I will like to become a TD when I semi-retire to while away my time and keep in touch with the world. But I will never able to become one, because wifey thinks I am too hum sum and will attract unnecessay bees and butterflies. I think your wife think too highly of you bro. Just kidding. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyrios Turbocharged September 30, 2014 Share September 30, 2014 (edited) Hard to imagine when gahmen is pushing for retirement age is to be pushed up to 67 and there are shitloads of middle aged folks like me laid off everyday including from pro gahmen organisations like SMRT... Can the gahmen teach us how to survive? Edited September 30, 2014 by Kyrios Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged September 30, 2014 Share September 30, 2014 Its an honourable way of earning an honest living Would you be a TD, if given a chance to earn your honest living in such an honourable way ?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karu 6th Gear September 30, 2014 Share September 30, 2014 How to apply for a Taxi license? Is there any part time course? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged September 30, 2014 Share September 30, 2014 How to apply for a Taxi license? Is there any part time course? Got part time....here is the link: http://www.taxi.org.sg/tdvl.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karu 6th Gear September 30, 2014 Share September 30, 2014 Got part time....here is the link: http://www.taxi.org.sg/tdvl.html Interesting... Maybe should take one up as back up or be a relief driver every now & then... Anybody with experience?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hydrocarbon Turbocharged September 30, 2014 Share September 30, 2014 Yes, i do not understand why people tend to look down on TD. One has to decide for himself, and being a TD is not entirely a bad idea at all. Chiong, and one can get at least $3k a month. Not too scrappy, I would say. TD, CEO, or prostitute, all also do honest living, no problem. Don't cheat other people or harm other people just to get money, and they can live life however they want (without hurting others). We're on earth for a short time frame (in relation to the universe), no point looking down on others for the job that they're doing. Maybe it's just Singaporean's mentality ba. U must understand now New Citizen can be TD, an old lady tell NC TD, xi bei lor or lak kor cheok... u think TD knows. Only a local can understand old street name. Yes, not many mcfer can make it as TD. Young Singaporeans also don't know.. =P ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...