General Election 2015 - 11 Sep 2015

Steve Chia was an NCMP before which gave him some limelight in parliament n things were looking up for him till the maid photo scandal n he slowly dropped out of sight. Now he's trying to make a comeback at Macpherson where WP already stated they will contest. Don't know how he managed to convince NSP central committee to back him which led to the resignation of Hazel Poa.

He shld hv sticked to the Western side like Pioneer as he had almost 40% vote in CCK that got him his NCMP seat previously. Now he has done NSP irreparable damage I feel n Parliament not even dissolved yet! Another case of Opposition parties shooting themselves in the foot!!

Machiam he got them to join him in pulling down their pants...

Funny, why are so many people so sure Steve Chia will lost his deposit?

If history is anything to tell, his result wasn't that bad before, NSP is also not a deposit losing party so far, tho they have not won any battle. It is also not a new party, they did manage to get on board some promising people last election. Maybe there are aggressive people who prefers NSP over WP? Maybe the younger generation feel that the naked incident has passed so long and we should give him a second chance? Maybe the LGBT feel that if elected he may fight for a more open minded society?.

I may disagree of them turning around their words, but logically I don't think he is going to lost his deposit...LOL

The results were before the maid saga right? That's a lot of 'may' you are referring too. 'May not' may be more likely.

If it was tpl during last election, he stands a chance. But it's against tpl this election who has been heavily involved in grassroots and using her allowances to fund grassroots functions, now he stands a chance to lose his deposit.

Edited by Invigorated

If SC is voted in, we can confirm two myths

1. Singaporeans are indeed very forgetful and forgiving

2. Values have changed and we are now very open minded and less stringent on what we think should be the 'proper' image or representation of a MP

On the doc part, what does ntfh means?

Ng ting Feng...

Btw what he does in private why we need to forgive???

If history is anything to tell, his result wasn't that bad before, NSP is also not a deposit losing party so far, tho they have not won any battle. It is also not a new party, they did manage to get on board some promising people last election. Maybe there are aggressive people who prefers NSP over WP? Maybe the younger generation feel that the naked incident has passed so long and we should give him a second chance? Maybe the LGBT feel that if elected he may fight for a more open minded society?.

I may disagree of them turning around their words, but logically I don't think he is going to lost his deposit...LOL

Because everyone is assuming that every body either support pap or Wp. As Wp is deemed to have more chance to topple pap candidate.

For me what's interesting is the different viewpoints people have on the GE/politics/various political parties/the world in general. I think it might serve as some sort of reflection on the character of the person or at least their mindset and concerns.

Some look at local issues like town councils and neighbourhood cleanliness/upgrading.

Some look at national issues like transport, housing, education and immigration.

Some look at economic issues like future growth, financial/economic stability, productivity and asset enhancement.

Some look at issues of ethics like bullying, uneven playing fields and media bias.

I think what we all need to realise is that each of us has a different value system and priorities. I know it's easy to feel frustrated when you come across another person who does not see things the same way you do, it's like how can they be so obtuse, don't they see!??

Somehow politics seems to do this to people.

This is a good post. Quoted so more people will see again.

Anyway, someone else mentioned that should change the system so that MP don't need be so involved in Town Council, and be more active in actual legislature. I agree with this, but don't think the system will change for obvious reasons. Just see what trouble one GRC brought to WP.

I do want our MPs to be doing more than just making sure the area around my place is clean.

This is a good post. Quoted so more people will see again.

Anyway, someone else mentioned that should change the system so that MP don't need be so involved in Town Council, and be more active in actual legislature. I agree with this, but don't think the system will change for obvious reasons. Just see what trouble one GRC brought to WP.

I do want our MPs to be doing more than just making sure the area around my place is clean.

Managing grc is not really a bad things. When they take over we can be sure they can manage the Singapore budget well.

The results were before the maid saga right? That's a lot of 'may' you are referring too. 'May not' may be more likely.

If it was tpl during last election, he stands a chance. But it's against tpl this election who has been heavily involved in grassroots and using her allowances to fund grassroots functions, now he stands a chance to lose his deposit.

in 2001, Chia won 34.66% and became NCMP of CCK SMC.

in 2003, the naked maid incident happened, but he was cleared of any illegal law breaking.

in 2006, he contested in CCK again and better his result to 39.63%, but lost the NCMP position to WP.

in 2011, he contested in Pioneer smc and left with 39.27% votes...

if it is because TPL has been active, then all opposition should not even think of contesting many of those wards already, WP should also not go to Macpherson?...LOL

Edited by Nicfoo

in 2001, Chia won 34.66% and became NCMP of CCK SMC.

in 2003, the naked maid incident happened, but he was cleared of any illegal law breaking.

in 2006, he contested in CCK again and better his result to 39.63%, but lost the NCMP position to WP.

in 2011, he contested in Pioneer smc and left with 39.27% votes...

if it is because TPL has been active, then all opposition should not even think of contesting many of those wards already, WP should also not go to Macpherson?...LOL

Thanks for the update on steve chia, didn't know so much about him but now i do.

Ng ting Feng...

Because everyone is assuming that every body either support pap or Wp. As Wp is deemed to have more chance to topple pap candidate.

I don't see this as a battle between PAP and WP, WP is far far away from being able to take on PAP alone, they are just ahead of the rest that's about it. But bare in mind that SDP was once the big brother in the opposition camp, anything can happen in politics...LOL

I understand why NSP wanted to contest in Macpherson, it is not so much a contest to win, but a battle against WP, they are sending a message to WP. Telling WP not to face their nose to the sky when dealing with other parties, is a battle to recollect the face value of NSP...

There are some losing battles we have to fight sometimes, even when it means a heavy lost, to protect a brand name from being look down on in future.

Ng ting Feng...

U have a point

I agree that we are not in the position to judge or forgive him on his private acts

But being a public figure means the private acts can come under public scrutiny

I am referring more to forgiving more towards the position/profile of candidate in a sense that we have lower our expectations of a MP (like clean image etc)

Thanks for the update on steve chia, didn't know so much about him but now i do.

You are most welcome.

Btw, I am no supporter of NSP, neither am I a supporter of WP or PAP, I am a swing voter...LOL

I believe in fact base discussions...LOL

Remember d presidential election, d hot favorites are TT & TCB n IMO not becos of last minute entrant TJS, TT could have won. Similarly, SC will still some votes from WP. Probably, tis time he will loose d deposit but TPL likely win with slim margin.

I don't see this as a battle between PAP and WP, WP is far far away from being able to take on PAP alone, they are just ahead of the rest that's about it. But bare in mind that SDP was once the big brother in the opposition camp, anything can happen in politics...LOL

I understand why NSP wanted to contest in Macpherson, it is not so much a contest to win, but a battle against WP, they are sending a message to WP. Telling WP not to face their nose to the sky when dealing with other parties, is a battle to recollect the face value of NSP...

There are some losing battles we have to fight sometimes, even when it means a heavy lost, to protect a brand name from being look down on in future.

You are right. But we are assuming mah.. Lol.

Remember d presidential election, d hot favorites are TT & TCB n IMO not becos of last minute entrant TJS, TT could have won. Similarly, SC will still some votes from WP. Probably, tis time he will loose d deposit but TPL likely win with slim margin.

TT won wor.. Or u mean TCB??

NUSS pre election dialogue full video. Warning: 3 hours long.

What they talk about??

If SC is voted in, we can confirm two myths

1. Singaporeans are indeed very forgetful and forgiving

2. Values have changed and we are now very open minded and less stringent on what we think should be the 'proper' image or representation of a MP

On the doc part, what does ntfh means?

NTFH = Ng Teng Fong Hospital

i think after the last opposition meeting, WP must have being the talk of the town among the other parties...LOL

And the subject title would most properly be, " why so cocky"...LOL

I think there is no need to be too upset over MacPherson, even without a 3 corner fight, I suppose WP unlikely to win also. If i see it from another angle, WP will be very uneasy now. With NSP in the picture, it is almost 100% confirm the winner will be PAP in Macpherson, so the battle is lost before the war starts.

I think the other parties are also not too please with the way WP handles the incident and the lack of communications from WP, but all choose to remain silent. WP looked down on all the other parties, that's the impression I get, and by NSP giving Macpherson a run, it may just tune WP down a little, before they get carry away...LOL

Before a party can think of serving the people, the party need to stand on their feet and survive first, at least able to raise its head up towards any competition, and not just run away like a mouse being bullied by a big cat. For that reason, I think losing $16,000 to uphold the NSP branding from being call a push over is worth it...LOL

And I still think Steve Chia may not lost his deposit, even if he does lost it, it would be by a very slim margin...

You are right. But we are assuming mah.. Lol.

TT won wor.. Or u mean TCB??

What they talk about??

At this point in time, who is not assuming?...LOL

What ever discussion here now, is all base on assumption and personal believe, No?...LOL

Both sides has selective hearing issue.

WP said they explained the account and AGO report many time liao but PAP still want answers and harping on it.

PAP has talked about many times on what measures are in place for transport (building more mrt lah, more buses lah, etc), housing (cooling measures lah, build faster lah), cost of living (health care with subsidy lah, medishield life lah, etc), 6.9 mil population (already said used only for planning mah) but oppo will continue raise the issues.

Same lah, they are all political parties.

Not same lah.

WP explained many times but PAP still KPKB about it.

PAP talk many times about Transport, Cost of living etc etc only the CITIZENs KPKB only.

If history tells us anything...... Steve Chia just saved TPL's butt.

If he is gonna take any votes, it won't be off PAP supporters.

I can walk around Punggol all day and ask people to support me, some will say sure. Then when I go contest, sure enough, at least 100 will vote for me. Ask Desmond Lim from SDA. Some say about 3% of the general populace is listed as mentally unstable.

😁