Achtung 6th Gear December 21, 2014 Share December 21, 2014 I down for a 2nd hand car :) Bro, when car is confirm in singapore and ready to take delivery, and u downpay 40%... Is different from the car is not in singapore at all and waiting to be ordered in.. Which AD or PI requires a DP of 40% for booking of car before they are in Singapore??I think no one does that for financially strong AD.. And some more now paying to a new setup PI...hahahahhahahahah... Sorry I really think it's too ultimately stupid.your colleague main aim is to massage lah... And u can bet his car is not serviced.. Haha ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator December 21, 2014 Share December 21, 2014 Actually, the workshop checklist for some ADs is really for show in a lot of cases... depending on which mechanic you get. You always get the checklist all ticked but there have been instances where the part was obviously still spoilt when I collected my car! That's partly true as well as u do get lousy mechanics everywhere unfortunately. That said with AD, they are ultimately responsible for our cars n I feel they have a reputation to uphold as well esp the established ones so won't be using non original parts n also hv the equipment like diagnostics to do a better job I feel. My 2 cents only😀 14 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic December 21, 2014 Share December 21, 2014 Interesting hypothesis. On the basis that its a fairly new PI, a Bently there sure helpd to lend credibility... I think this Bentley owner is an accomplice of Alvin Loo. Friend friend put his car there for Alvin Loo to con people. Or else why won't he come for his car personally. Everything I think only la. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic December 21, 2014 Share December 21, 2014 Thats true for spares. My ws ever show me for a spare part.......Jap brand Genuine parts. Jap brand Original parts. The real 1 made in boleh. The chiong 1 made in China. He showed me the box, the actual part, while I sat there to scrutinize the packaging.....after 5-7 mins, really cant tell. So I asked....does this apply to other critical parts..... he shrugged his shoulders and smiled... That's partly true as well as u do get lousy mechanics everywhere unfortunately. That said with AD, they are ultimately responsible for our cars n I feel they have a reputation to uphold as well esp the established ones so won't be using non original parts n also hv the equipment like diagnostics to do a better job I feel. My 2 cents only😀 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ictruall 5th Gear December 21, 2014 Share December 21, 2014 Uh. Why can't the Bentley owner get the car back since it is still legally registered to him? Just call the police and say the guy is illegally holding his property in the shop. https://www.linkedin.com/pub/seng-choon-seah/33/7a3/22 not can't la,........there are protocols to follow to ensure claim is legitimate before release mah ..........quite surprised you actually posted this 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator December 21, 2014 Share December 21, 2014 not can't la,........there are protocols to follow to ensure claim is legitimate before release mah ..........quite surprised you actually posted this But no one proceed with any legal claim on the owner yet, the Bentley owner of course can take away the car first since on consignment. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angcheek Hypersonic December 21, 2014 Share December 21, 2014 ban dealer to bid coe is the answer ... buyer bidded coe ... then walk into showroom ... see the car they like ... buy ... as simple as that isn't that's the SOP to buy things? why must pay dealer $10k (min) and wait 4 months? I agreed with you , there is no nee for dealer to bid the COE for buyer. But need to stop speculators .... Even if dealer dont ask for coe DP , they will still ask for car DP .... Unfortunately not many dealer want to take the risk of bringing the car in first. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ictruall 5th Gear December 21, 2014 Share December 21, 2014 But no one proceed with any legal claim on the owner yet, the Bentley owner of course can take away the car first since on consignment. many issues need to be looked into la,.....maybe Bent owner received some advance $$, books needs to be checked, a number of investigations to ensure complete legitimacy before release to owner. ......hapchap checks, release car than later find out otherwise ...... garhmen kena blame again,...never check properly, scholars sotong la, blah3. anyway, the fact that the Bent is with this new PI on consignment irrespective of the MB deal ahead does suggest putting in a little more effort. in situations like this, no 'of course' la......if it's clean and all is clear, owner will get it back la, only matter of time............hopeully sooner than later lor, who knows sekali twist of story ..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ictruall 5th Gear December 21, 2014 Share December 21, 2014 I agreed with you , there is no nee for dealer to bid the COE for buyer. But need to stop speculators .... Even if dealer dont ask for coe DP , they will still ask for car DP .... Unfortunately not many dealer want to take the risk of bringing the car in first. can agree with you and WT although personnaly for now I would rather prefer to leave it to the ADs / dealers... .........as still some unsettled concerns lor if COE not a part of finance and loan on car still at 40/50%, ....affordability likely narrowed to only buyers with more cash on hand. ..........COE successful but stocks not available for registration during validity, will need to settle for second, third...car or colour choices,......if booking the car first and timing the COE bid to match may push bids to even higher levels...due to the need for a COE otherwise, car arrived but cannot collect..and perhaps just a few more lower concerns. anyway.....ADs and dealers will also increase their car prices in tandem to maintain their margins. my pesonal view,...unless parameters of the playing field change, the idea of possibly more finance, work, hassle, may not even get my first choice car, colour and so on are enough to have me playing on the other side of the fence......... for now that is. happy holidays guys & gals !! .. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic December 22, 2014 Share December 22, 2014 That's partly true as well as u do get lousy mechanics everywhere unfortunately. That said with AD, they are ultimately responsible for our cars n I feel they have a reputation to uphold as well esp the established ones so won't be using non original parts n also hv the equipment like diagnostics to do a better job I feel. My 2 cents only😀 BMW told owner that ATF is for lifetime. No need to change. What BMW did not tell owner is that lifetime of AT, which could be 100k km. Do BMW have a reputation to uphold?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dgeralds 1st Gear December 22, 2014 Share December 22, 2014 I think it is time for buyers to unite and boycott all PIs. It seems like Zion Auto is also involved. People / buyers must unite and boycott all PIs. For a start no more PIs for me though I recently visited a few PIs. ################################## Volks Auto case: 2 cars now with another dealer It says vehicles on consignment to Volks, but it failed to pay service fees PUBLISHED ON DEC 22, 2014 2:05 AM TWO cars that were in the showroom of a dealer which allegedly cheated car buyers of more than $3 million have surfaced at another dealership in Sin Ming Road. Mr Lawrence Tan, director of Zion Auto Gallery, said his firm had taken back the two cars - a Bentley and a Mercedes-Benz - from Volks Auto shortly before it made the headlines last week. As of yesterday, there were 107 people claiming to have paid a total of $3.5 million to Volks. None has received his car from the shuttered dealer. Mr Tan told The Straits Times the two cars were on consignment to Volks - a common practice in the industry, he added. This means Volks had paid a deposit for them, and was supposed to pay monthly service fees. The cars should be paid for in full if and when they are sold, but there is also the option of returning unsold cars to get the deposit back. Mr Tan said Volks had failed to pay its monthly service fees, therefore the cars were taken back right before news broke that Volks' doors had been shuttered. He said he was unable to provide details on how much the deposits and service fees were, as the agreement was between his sister company and Volks. Mr Tan said he had called many times to ask for the service fees and to make an inspection at Volks' showroom to check if the cars were still there, but either his calls went unanswered or he was told the boss, Mr Alvin Loo, was not in. He added that the consignment was done through a middleman, and he does not know Mr Loo. Title documents for the cars do not belong to Volks but to Zion Auto Gallery's sister company, which he declined to name. While each of Volks' victims had paid an average of $20,000 to $30,000 in deposit - with at least one buyer paying for a car in full - Mr Tan said it was not common to pay that much upfront in the parallel import industry. He said he collects only $15,000 in total when he gets a car order - $5,000 for the car and $10,000 for the certificate of entitlement bidding. A check on the chassis number of the Mercedes C200 at Zion Auto Gallery showed that it was the same car promised to businessman Richard Lee, 61, in a sales agreement issued by Volks. But Volks never went about paying Zion Auto Gallery in full for the consigned car, despite having collected $37,000 from Mr Lee on Oct 25 and promising to deliver it at the end of last month. Mr Lee made a police report regarding this latest development yesterday morning and said he had earlier sent e-mail messages to MPs to ask for help. [email protected] - See more at: http://www.straitstimes.com/premium/singapore/story/volks-auto-case-2-cars-now-another-dealer-20141222#sthash.OUSofmIx.dpuf 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic December 22, 2014 Share December 22, 2014 I think it is time for buyers to unite and boycott all PIs. It seems like Zion Auto is also involved. People / buyers must unite and boycott all PIs. For a start no more PIs for me though I recently visited a few PIs. ################################## Volks Auto case: 2 cars now with another dealer It says vehicles on consignment to Volks, but it failed to pay service fees PUBLISHED ON DEC 22, 2014 2:05 AM TWO cars that were in the showroom of a dealer which allegedly cheated car buyers of more than $3 million have surfaced at another dealership in Sin Ming Road. Mr Lawrence Tan, director of Zion Auto Gallery, said his firm had taken back the two cars - a Bentley and a Mercedes-Benz - from Volks Auto shortly before it made the headlines last week. As of yesterday, there were 107 people claiming to have paid a total of $3.5 million to Volks. None has received his car from the shuttered dealer. Mr Tan told The Straits Times the two cars were on consignment to Volks - a common practice in the industry, he added. This means Volks had paid a deposit for them, and was supposed to pay monthly service fees. The cars should be paid for in full if and when they are sold, but there is also the option of returning unsold cars to get the deposit back. Mr Tan said Volks had failed to pay its monthly service fees, therefore the cars were taken back right before news broke that Volks' doors had been shuttered. He said he was unable to provide details on how much the deposits and service fees were, as the agreement was between his sister company and Volks. Mr Tan said he had called many times to ask for the service fees and to make an inspection at Volks' showroom to check if the cars were still there, but either his calls went unanswered or he was told the boss, Mr Alvin Loo, was not in. He added that the consignment was done through a middleman, and he does not know Mr Loo. Title documents for the cars do not belong to Volks but to Zion Auto Gallery's sister company, which he declined to name. While each of Volks' victims had paid an average of $20,000 to $30,000 in deposit - with at least one buyer paying for a car in full - Mr Tan said it was not common to pay that much upfront in the parallel import industry. He said he collects only $15,000 in total when he gets a car order - $5,000 for the car and $10,000 for the certificate of entitlement bidding. A check on the chassis number of the Mercedes C200 at Zion Auto Gallery showed that it was the same car promised to businessman Richard Lee, 61, in a sales agreement issued by Volks. But Volks never went about paying Zion Auto Gallery in full for the consigned car, despite having collected $37,000 from Mr Lee on Oct 25 and promising to deliver it at the end of last month. Mr Lee made a police report regarding this latest development yesterday morning and said he had earlier sent e-mail messages to MPs to ask for help. [email protected] - See more at: http://www.straitstimes.com/premium/singapore/story/volks-auto-case-2-cars-now-another-dealer-20141222#sthash.OUSofmIx.dpuf Um. The article you quoted suggests Zion Auto is a victim... Do you have more information to suggest they are not? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic December 22, 2014 Share December 22, 2014 What was the experience for Wish owners who required model specific parts prior to BM bringing it in. Was there extensive down time? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged December 22, 2014 Share December 22, 2014 Seems like more sh1t is coming out from this saga.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic December 22, 2014 Share December 22, 2014 I remember not too long ago, someone in MCF posted and asked whether its safe to buy MB from PI. I urged caution as some PIs modus operandi is: i) advertise low price ii) quickly collect $$ iii) WLL for delivery iv) even if heng delivered, warranty may not be honoured v) if kena too many CASE complaints, PI will juz pack up and siam vi) next day they go register another $2 company and back to step (i) But that same someone said the above is an outdated view. Well, hope it wasn't the same person that asked that question and got scammed in the end....... 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angcheek Hypersonic December 22, 2014 Share December 22, 2014 (edited) Will anyone consign a Bent to a unknown dealer ? To me its bullsht another point : A check on the chassis number of the Mercedes C200 at Zion Auto Gallery showed that it was the same car promised to businessman Richard Lee, 61, in a sales agreement issued by Volks. Does this means even if the car is ready stock , its still Not Safe ? Edited December 22, 2014 by Angcheek 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whatupz 1st Gear December 22, 2014 Share December 22, 2014 If you do a check on ZXXN Auto in ACRA, they are also quite a new company. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged December 22, 2014 Share December 22, 2014 Some customers did collect their rides from Zion. At least they did deliver the cars. But this also cannot guarantee they are 100% safe. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...