Is It Right To Handcuff Children?

Vid

In the USA, they would have been tasered....

arrestmain_0.jpg

Photo shows police handcuffing a boy. Probably around 8 or 9.

Should children that young be handcuffed? Police clarified that it was a case of theft and he was trying to run away. Still, was that necessary? Will he be traumatized at such a young age?

What do you think?

If a 5 year old steal a toy and may run away also have to handcuff? [sweatdrop]

Yes to create fear for the child or else he will repeat his action in the future

Wonder in this case the child got cry anot ah

Yes to create fear for the child or else he will repeat his action in the future

Not sure whether cry or not. Only saw one picture on facebook

This kid ain't the usual Singapore kid with kiasu parents attend tution, attend swimming classes, music classes, etc. This is the kind of kid that grew up in a very different environment (high divorce rate, low-income, low-education, drugs, smoking). If the parents don't have the time to educate or discipline their kids, the police will, and rightful so.

I say a job well done by the SPF!!

u should have seen how many cars responded when i reported that a group of young men had rode dangerously pass the badminton court i was playing badminton on and had parked in the multi purpose hall. Eventhough they were a bit later in responding 3 to 4 patrol cars were sent as i had reported there were a group of 3 to 4 young man!

Yours is small case. Once there is a drunk woman laying naked at the void deck of HDB near my house.

I saw at least 3 to 4 patrols car, 1 police van, few police bike and bicycles came down. Think almost whole police station

was there attending to the case.

http://news.asiaone.com/news/singapore/kids-seen-getting-handcuffed-police-east-coast

3 kids handcuffed after trying to escape police for theft

SINGAPORE - Three juveniles aged between 9 and 12 years old have been arrested by the police for theft on Saturday morning.

A police spokesman told AsiaOne that they received a call requesting assistance along East Coast Road at 8.09am. The police later established that a case of theft had occurred.

The suspects were later handcuffed by the police for their safety and the public's, as "they had attempted to escape before the police arrival", the spokesman added.

Earlier, a contributor alerted citizen journalism website Stomp about a picture of the incident, which was circulating on Facebook.

The original post said that the incident occurred at near the traffic junction next to 112 Katong shopping mall at East Coast Road.

The eyewitness who posted the photo also said that the boys were later brought to a police station.

Investigations are ongoing, the police said.

Handcuff the only choice,

All indented cable ties utilised by mrt, no more stock.

while you guys are debating about the cuff, I was wondering if it is necessary to have 4 police going after 2 kids (based on photo)

I once saw 4cops screening 2 kids playing football at void deck. So not surprised there.

I would have thought its those cable tie type.

arrestmain_0.jpg

Photo shows police handcuffing a boy. Probably around 8 or 9.

Should children that young be handcuffed? Police clarified that it was a case of theft and he was trying to run away. Still, was that necessary? Will he be traumatized at such a young age?

What do you think?

😂😂😂

Yours is small case. Once there is a drunk woman laying naked at the void deck of HDB near my house.

I saw at least 3 to 4 patrols car, 1 police van, few police bike and bicycles came down. Think almost whole police station

This type you post Internet, the whole neighborhood turn up [laugh]

one question.......Chio or not?.......hahaha! If i am duty i also would volunteered to attend the case.

The kid in dark shirt I can understand the cuff... But 9yr old? Seriously? Police training for so long and need cuffs to restrain a 9yr old?

I don't pity the kid.. Don't get me wrong.. Deserves to be punished full extent of law... But our "trained" police need cuffs to restrain a 9yr old kid.. Now that's suprising..maybe I'm jus being too harsh..

Let the mata do their job.... those farker do something wrong, they should face the consequences....

We also don't have the full story.... the mata could have been told that robbery in progress, no details of how many and how old and whether they got weapon.... so 4 mata arrived at scence... and the farker could have struggle and scold vulgarities at the mata.... thus handcuff.... we wont know just by looking at the photo.... and it could be the protocol..... who know,... they dont cuff.... some a**hole will take photo send to Stomp say why never cuff.....

The mata did their job by apprehending the farker.... that is more important then asking why handcuff the faker.....

I once saw 4cops screening 2 kids playing football at void deck. So not surprised there.

Good for your neighbourhood..... means your area very safe.... mata there very free..... just need to go screen at kids.... [laugh]

Edited by Nlatio

The kid in dark shirt I can understand the cuff... But 9yr old? Seriously? Police training for so long and need cuffs to restrain a 9yr old?

I don't pity the kid.. Don't get me wrong.. Deserves to be punished full extent of law... But our "trained" police need cuffs to restrain a 9yr old kid.. Now that's suprising..maybe I'm jus being too harsh..

I would let the policemen do their job.

Many things could happen, and either way they will be blamed.

Handcuffed - blame

No hancuffed and then escaped plus maybe knocked down by cars - blame

End of the day, let the the police do their job.

Traumatised? No, the juveniles derserved the treatment. Else they will grow up to cause bigger problems.

Arm chair warriors like us only know how to complain and direct, in front of computers.😄😄😄😄😄😄

Edited by Latio2005A

No lar.... they are there to see free show lar.... got naked women.... if say got chio Jap AV..... think the whole SPF will be there.... [laugh]

Think the faker will lao sai then cry..... esp when they are brought to the jail.....