Military talk thread

Macrosszero

Not sure if this is posted before, but and someone said something about software and hardware...

I only remember I heard this comforting words during NS regarding our potential adversaries when we complained we are doomed to have an idiot sabo king in the platoon:

"For every clown you have in the army, the enemy has one too"

http://news.asiaone.com/news/malaysia/anti-tank-rocket-blast-malaysia-claims-fourth-victim-soldiers-wife-dies

Last heard the soldier was dismantling the bombs and selling them as scrapped metal. (How much are they paid again?)

You must have a very low IQ to bring a potentially deadly bomb into a home full of children and a pregnant wife!

Edited by Pocus

The "lao peng" among us may remember that there was a blind explosion in Pasir Laba Live Firing Area back in 1997, and how it happened.

Edited by Macrosszero

The "lao peng" among us may remember that there was a blind explosion in Pasir Laba Live Firing Area back in 1997, and how it happened.

There are many blind explosion in the older days. One of the famous ones is the one the cock officer took the blind from the butt area to the training shed. He fiddle with the blind when it exploded, blowing his own arm off and killing another nsf.

The worst thing that can happen to a soldier is to die even before a war started. And in this case, a Singaporean son is gone needlessly.

Edited by Pocus

Yesterday, Feb 10th, mark the anniversary of the exchanged of first U2 pilot been shot down by USSR with Soviet KGB Colonel Vilyam Fisher, known as "Rudolf Abel", who had been caught by the FBI and tried and jailed for espionage.

225px-RIAN_archive_35172_Powers_Wears_Sp

Francis Gary Powers was an American pilot whose Central Intelligence Agency U-2 spy plane was shot down while flying a reconnaissance mission over Soviet Union airspace, causing the 1960 U-2 incident.

300px-Sa-2camo.jpg

The missile that shot down the plane.

S-75 Dvina aka SA-2

If I am not wrong, SR-71 was developed because of this incident.

Anyway looks-wise, the old Lockheed sure beats its modern stealth counterpart hands down for yours truly [laugh]

Not a fan of the F35 from most angles.

The YF-23, that is the most beautiful, along with the XB-70.

Was hoping before the J-20 was unveiled that the PLAAF would have tried to clone the YF-23.

Edited by Ake109

This one, antique liao. Both father and son could have ridden the same kind of tonner during their NS days. What I do remember is that it has no power steering - you can really see the driver sweat during parking manuevers. No air-con also. But not bad lah, conti truck okay!

Wah memories of the mar see lee 3 tonner.. sleeping in it otw to range n training. Sliding from end of the bench.. to the other wen driver jam break... seeing soldiers injured wen dismount by jumping of the back.... after tis 3 tonner... SAF got the fiat tonner.. tat also alot memories...

This one, antique liao. Both father and son could have ridden the same kind of tonner during their NS days. What I do remember is that it has no power steering - you can really see the driver sweat during parking manuevers. No air-con also. But not bad lah, conti truck okay!

nobody wanted to be the vc, all keng rushed behind [furious]

besides bo ling kee, the roar of the engine could wake up the dead.

gosh it sure brought back memories...

Edited by Vulcann

nobody wanted to be the vc, all keng rushed behind [furious]

besides bo ling kee, the roar of the engine could wake up the dead.

gosh it sure brought back memories...

at least can boast we have been chauffeured in a conti vehicle before mah...

back then how many people have ridden in a Mercedes before? [laugh]

at least can boast we have been chauffeured in a conti vehicle before mah...

back then how many people have ridden in a Mercedes before? [laugh]

a dazed clown in his lala land mode jumped down from the tonner....& promptly landed spread-eagled face down.

heng he didn't injured himself but became a butt of a joke for us for the rest of the course.

superman, superman we would taunt him.

he went on to win best pt hor...

From CNA:

Airbus wins US$221 million US Army order for 41 helicopters

POSTED: 13 Feb 2015 06:35

The U.S. unit of Europe's Airbus Group was awarded a contract worth US$221 million to build 41 more UH-72A Lakota light utility helicopters for the U.S. Army, the Pentagon said in its daily digest of major contracts on Thursday.

people-are-silhouetted.jpg
People are silhouetted past a logo of the Airbus Group during the Airbus annual news conference in Colomiers, near Toulouse January 13, 2015. REUTERS/Regis Duvignau

WASHINGTON: The U.S. unit of Europe's Airbus Group was awarded a contract worth US$221 million to build 41 more UH-72A Lakota light utility helicopters for the U.S. Army, the Pentagon said in its daily digest of major contracts on Thursday.

The contract, which runs through July 31, 2017, marks a modification of Airbus's existing Army contract, and covers production of 41 more helicopters and associated radio communications systems.

(Reporting by Andrea Shalal, editing by G Crosse)

- Reuters

(source: http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/business/airbus-wins-us-221-millio/1655540.html )

Interesting that the US themselves don't have anything that fits the bill. I wonder what happened to Bell and Sikorsky?

it seemed airbus bought over the company and renamed it.

agree it is very rare they buy from outsiders.

a few cases I know:

(a) sea king for their marine 1 presidential chopper;

(b) m249 saw from Belgium;

(c ) beretta m9 from italy

Edited by Vulcann